Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

Old Nov 11, 14, 11:54 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: IAkH
Welcome to the ITA-Matrix-PowerTools
*** About ***
The ITA-Matrix-PowerTools are a user script maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Features added to the itinerary details page:
  • convert times into 24h format
  • translation support
  • open fare rules in new window by default
  • price breakdown (base fare, taxes & carrier imposed surcharges)
  • editor mode (adjust cabin prior extraction)
  • multiple handy links (Seatguru, Planefinder, WhereToCredit)
  • new on page features like detailed mileage breakdown*, GCM-Map* and earned frequent flyer miles*
  • create links to various providers (OTAs / airlines / other tools) to try direct booking of your itinerary

Originally Posted by Error: Unable to find class IR6M2QD-k-i for itinRow.
If you see this error, currently you'll need to manually edit your installed script.

See posts from October 1st, 2018 for more information.
*requires background requests

The script may have lots of bugs and comes without warranty of any kind! Not all fares will be bookable or will price correctly in the booking engines. You are responsible for the money you spend - so double check your flights before purchasing AND use your sanity! Read this and the next two posts as an example: click

*** How it works ***
Using pure JavaScript we are "creating" some sort of hook that is periodically checking for page changes while working with the Matrix. As soon as you reload or leave the page the script stops (leaving the page or using the console-version) or starts from the beginning (using the userscript and perfoming a reload). Also this script is only running in these tabs/windows in which you are looking at the Matrix.
As soon as the script detects the itinerary page it reads its content - unless you activated the editor mode. It's parsing all the information found and creates - based on this information - several links to OTAs, airlines and other tools. Since we are able to remove, replace and add content to the page - we make them visible and clickable in a way you choose. By default there are no background requests.

*** How to get it running ***
There are three methods to install the script. All three below run exactly the same underlying script but are listed in order of installation complexity:

Method 1: Browser Extensions
Method 2: As a UserScript
It takes a moment to get it running but after that it will start automatically everytime you visit the Matrix and we will be able to store your settings. You will need to install a script manager.

Warning: Using a script manager and installing user scripts is a potential security risk - We need to mention it here.
Step 1: Install a script manager Step 2: Install the script
See the FAQ of your script manager how to install the script.
  • Through GreasyFork
  • Through OpenUserJS
  • Through GitHub: you should be asked whether you want to install it - make sure your script manager is running.
Method 3: iOS Safari Shortcut

Get the "Add ITA Matrix Powertools" Shortcut

Instructions much be run each time
  • Open ITA Matrix in Safari on your iPhone or iPad
  • Tap on the Share button in the bottom navigation
  • Scroll down through all the actions
  • Select Add ITA Matrix Powertools

Method 4: Console/Debug mode
You need to access the command line of your browser to execute the script. You can use either the regular version or the minified version. Just copy the entire text.

Chrome:
  1. Open Chrome DevTools: developer.chrome.com
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.chrome.com
  4. Run it
Firefox:
  1. Open the web console: developer.mozilla.org
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.mozilla.org
  4. Run it
Internet Explorer:
  1. Open the web console by pressing F12
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line - at the very bottom
  4. Run it by pressing the green triangle

*** How to use it ***
Once the script is running you should see a new line above the ITA logo:
Code:
Passengers (1a) Settings (v0.18) (Cabin: Auto)
As long as you see this line, there is no need to reexecute the script. Make sure to get used to the "Settings"-feature -> just click on Settings. Within the settings menu you can configure the script towards your needs/preferences. Enabling/disabling features and/or setting standard editions of providers on the fly. When using a script manager these settings should be stored and automatically load as soon as you visit matrix.itasoftware.com - but the passengers as well as the cabin detection will not be stored!
Your settings are "reloaded" everytime the itinerary details show up! If you want to use other settings, just get back to the flight selection and reselect your flights - the new settings will be used. This belongs to the passengers and cabin detection as well

Passengers:
The passenger count will not be taken from your search results! Use the passenger config on the upper left and make sure they are set before you get to the itinerary details. We had to do it this way because some providers require the age of children. But always make sure to search for the equivalent passenger count. There might be seat availability for one passenger but not for two!

Cabin detection:
You should set the cabin on the upper right to the appropriate main cabin you are looking for. Sometimes you will have economy/business class segments in mainly business/first class itineraries. These mixed itineraries make it hard to autodetect the main cabin - so you can set it manually.

*** Background requests - Privacy issues ***
Some features require to contact other servers. As long as you do not activate any of the autoload features within the settings there won't be any automatic background requests. You will have to initiate them manually. The following list will tell which features are contacting what server and what information will be transferred. All websites will know you are using this script und you are currently using the Matrix - what by the way applies to the link targets you click as well.
  • GCM-Map in inline mode - contacting gcmap.com (non SSL) providing full route data
  • WhereToCredit.com mileage accrual breakdown - contacting wheretocredit.com (non SSL or SSL - depending on whether you use the Matrix with or without SSL) providing full itinerary
  • Skimlinks affiliate links - loads a js script to adds affiliate ids to some links if and only if the "Support this tool" setting is enabled. If it is disabled, no external scripts are loaded
*** FT-Posts you should read ***
General statement regarding this script: click
How to fix class names yourself: click
Problems and limitations regarding pricing itins: click

*** Contributors ***
paul21, Steppo, IAkH, 18sas, Benchmarc and others!

I'd like to give special thanks to paul21 for starting this idea.

*** Latest Version ***
GitHub Repo

OR install directly: Executable Version minified

FYI
Steppo & IAkH (Adam Hwang) have full access to this repository.

Discussion - written by paul21:
The original posting can be found here, related to building links on delta's booking engine. The script scrapes the flight info from the itinerary (flight numbers, dates, class of service, price) and builds a link string to two booking engines (Orbitz/Delta). These links are the same links used by Google Flights (owns ITA) , Kayak, et. al. to drive purchases. I used the Google referrer codes in the scripts, so they should get the commission. It's beyond me why ITA doesn't have some form of purchase link. This a userscript, and like an ad-blocker, it modifies the way a page is viewed by editing DOM objects in the browser. Keep in mind that this tool is meant to do something you already do yourself, but to save time in the process. Any tickets issued by Orbitz/DL via these links could be issued via phone or web search. If the links work, you are avoiding a phone booking fee potentially.







Print Wikipost

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

Old Oct 3, 21, 8:12 am
  #946  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: London, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,545
Originally Posted by SK View Post
Does the Google Flights link work?
I haven't been able to make it work: even though the address bar shows the fully detailed link from ITA, the page that loads is simply the Google Flights starting page (see example in attached pic).
Google doesn't publish a URL API for Google Flights as far as I know; I imagine they change the spec for it as and when they please, without documentation, so it's no surprise that the PowerTools links have broken over time.
LCSinTexas likes this.
armouredant is offline  
Old Oct 8, 21, 11:48 pm
  #947  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: AA (current EXP, occasional PLT, 0MM); UA; DL
Posts: 6,159
Broken on current Safari (v 15.0)?
aktchi is offline  
Old Nov 11, 21, 6:20 pm
  #948  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, UA, GE
Posts: 4,825
I don't know if anyone ese has seen this, but ITA Hacker has announced the Beta of ITA Matrix v5 (link). Hre is a link to the beta site.

https://partnerdash.google.com/apps/matrix/search
cheltzel is offline  
Old Nov 15, 21, 3:21 am
  #949  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: BCN
Programs: BA GGL, IB, LH, IHG Gold
Posts: 562
Originally Posted by aktchi View Post
Broken on current Safari (v 15.0)?
Also can't get it to work on Safari 15.0
ubiest is offline  
Old Jan 24, 22, 9:29 am
  #950  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 553
obsolete

Last edited by fuyao; Jan 26, 22 at 2:42 am
fuyao is offline  
Old Jan 26, 22, 1:12 am
  #951  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: IAH ↔ PAR
Posts: 766
Originally Posted by fuyao View Post
If you want to have the script working for https://oldmatrix.itasoftware.com/
open tampermonkey, either edit the current script or copy all, paste as new script and change the line(s) "matrix.itasoftware.com" to "oldmatrix.itasoftware.com", thats it.

[0.54.1] - 2022-01-26

Edited by IAkH
  • added support for oldmatrix.itasoftware.com
View change log

Latest installation links:
alex67500 and andydd like this.
IAkH is offline  
Old Jan 26, 22, 4:47 pm
  #952  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,510
Originally Posted by IAkH View Post
Broken links are usually from the airline side when they move to a new website and not really in our control. If you can find an example where links work (Skyscanner, etc) I'm happy to take a look and implement it. But they don't always have a replacement and as such are not always easy to find
KLM and AF booking links still dead.
BigFlyer is online now  
Old Feb 1, 22, 11:47 am
  #953  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin TX
Programs: AA EXEP 2MM, Delta Diamond, Hilton Diamond, Avis President Club, Marriot gold,Emerald Exec,
Posts: 388
Originally Posted by IAkH View Post

[0.54.1] - 2022-01-26

Edited by IAkH
  • added support for oldmatrix.itasoftware.com
View change log

Latest installation links:
So should I just the remove the old extension and reinstall with the new link here or something else.
rajhyd99 is offline  
Old Feb 1, 22, 3:11 pm
  #954  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 553
Originally Posted by rajhyd99 View Post
So should I just the remove the old extension and reinstall with the new link here or something else.
Depends on what plugin you use, if you use tampermonkey you can just open the dashboard and force an update
MasterPengs likes this.
fuyao is offline  
Old Feb 1, 22, 9:58 pm
  #955  
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Programs: DL Diamond, Hertz PC, Bonvoy Gold Elite
Posts: 556
IAkH and gang....

A couple of thoughts here on ITA Tools with Delta.com

Most DL/AF/KL/VS Joint Venture partner fares can be booked on the ticket stock of any of the partners. You can easily see if this is allowed in the ticket rules. The multicity itinerary linking format for Delta used to allow this easily but for some reason has gotten more challenging in the last year. I find if locate an AF fare with pure AF flight numbers and its in Business class, I can generally choose the ITA Tool link for Delta and it works. But if I do the same thing with the exact same itinerary in Y, DL.com errors out. This past weekend I was playing around with the code when I stumbled on a suprising twist. If I took the DL export link and paste into notepad and changed the AF flight segment booking codes from say R to Y and pasted into a browser, DL.com would work! And it would reprice to lowest fare and return the original R class segments. This allows me to book the AF itinerary on DL.com and use DL eCredits without having to call Delta to manually do this for me. Its a huge time saver. Is there any way we can program an optional option for the Delta export link to change the ITA itinerary economy codes to Y? It would be great to not have to manually do this everytime.
IAkH likes this.
Utskicat is offline  
Old Feb 2, 22, 1:25 pm
  #956  
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Programs: DL DM; Marriott Titanium; *A Gold
Posts: 30
Forcing the update in the tampermonkey dashboard worked great - thank you!

Last edited by MasterPengs; Feb 2, 22 at 1:28 pm Reason: quote didn't come through
MasterPengs is offline  
Old Feb 3, 22, 7:04 am
  #957  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,386
Looking for a little guidance here. I pulled up a flight on the matrix that it is not bookable on the Airline sites.. I'm looking at a one way departing CAI > DOH > YYZ all on QR then YYZ > YWG on AC.

Can I call either airlines to see if I can book this or is it only QR that can book this as the originating airline? Is that usually always the case then with multiple airlines?

Thank You.
Bravada04 is offline  
Old Feb 3, 22, 7:42 am
  #958  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: BER
Programs: BAEC, M&M
Posts: 642
Originally Posted by Bravada04 View Post
Looking for a little guidance here. I pulled up a flight on the matrix that it is not bookable on the Airline sites.. I'm looking at a one way departing CAI > DOH > YYZ all on QR then YYZ > YWG on AC.

Can I call either airlines to see if I can book this or is it only QR that can book this as the originating airline? Is that usually always the case then with multiple airlines?

Thank You.
QR doesnt fly to YYZ, so the DOH-YYZ segment is on AC. That route can be booked easily on AC website.
Deckter is offline  
Old Feb 3, 22, 8:55 am
  #959  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,386
Oh my goodness!! I was looking at so many flights and had YYZ in my damn head! All along it was YUL which should be easily booked on their website! Sorry, thanks.
Bravada04 is offline  
Old Feb 3, 22, 12:50 pm
  #960  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SAN
Programs: Lots of faux metal
Posts: 5,920
Looks like matrix is now defaulting to the new version. Anyway to get powertools to work with the new site?
skunker is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread