Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

    Hide Wikipost
Old Apr 8, 19, 5:57 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: serfty
Wiki Link
Welcome to the ITA-Matrix-PowerTools
*** About ***
The ITA-Matrix-PowerTools are a user script maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Features added to the itinerary details page:
  • convert times into 24h format
  • translation support
  • open fare rules in new window by default
  • price breakdown (base fare, taxes & carrier imposed surcharges)
  • editor mode (adjust cabin prior extraction)
  • multiple handy links (Seatguru, Planefinder, WhereToCredit)
  • new on page features like detailed mileage breakdown*, GCM-Map* and earned frequent flyer miles*
  • create links to various providers (OTAs / airlines / other tools) to try direct booking of your itinerary

Originally Posted by Error: Unable to find class IR6M2QD-k-i for itinRow.
If you see this error, currently you'll need to manually edit your installed script.

See posts from October 1st, 2018 for more information.
*requires background requests

The script may have lots of bugs and comes without warranty of any kind! Not all fares will be bookable or will price correctly in the booking engines. You are responsible for the money you spend - so double check your flights before purchasing AND use your sanity! Read this and the next two posts as an example: click

*** How it works ***
Using pure JavaScript we are "creating" some sort of hook that is periodically checking for page changes while working with the Matrix. As soon as you reload or leave the page the script stops (leaving the page or using the console-version) or starts from the beginning (using the userscript and perfoming a reload). Also this script is only running in these tabs/windows in which you are looking at the Matrix.
As soon as the script detects the itinerary page it reads its content - unless you activated the editor mode. It's parsing all the information found and creates - based on this information - several links to OTAs, airlines and other tools. Since we are able to remove, replace and add content to the page - we make them visible and clickable in a way you choose. By default there are no background requests.

*** How to get it running ***
There are two versions of this script:

Method 1: Console/Debug mode
You need to access the command line of your browser to execute the script. You can use either the regular version or the minified version. Just copy the entire text.

Firefox:
  1. Open the web console: developer.mozilla.org
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.mozilla.org
  4. Run it
Internet Explorer:
  1. Open the web console by pressing F12
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line - at the very bottom
  4. Run it by pressing the green triangle
Chrome:
  1. Open Chrome DevTools: developer.chrome.com
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.chrome.com
  4. Run it

Method 2: As a UserScript
It takes a moment to get it running but after that it will start automatically everytime you visit the Matrix and we will be able to store your settings. You will need to install a script manager.

Warning: Using a script manager and installing user scripts is a potential security risk - We need to mention it here.

Step 1: Install a script manager
Firefox Only: Greasemonkey also see Greasemonkey FAQ or tampermonkey.net also see Tampermonkey FAQ
Internet Explorer: Not supported
Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Safari, Opera Next, Firefox: tampermonkey.net also see Tampermonkey FAQ
Step 2: Install the script
See the FAQ of your script manager how to install the script.
It should be enough to visit the script HERE - you should be asked whether you want to install it - make sure your script manager is running.
*** How to use it ***
Once the script is running you should see a new line above the ITA logo:
Code:
Passengers (1a)                                 Settings (v0.18) (Cabin: Auto)
As long as you see this line, there is no need to reexecute the script. Make sure to get used to the "Settings"-feature -> just click on Settings. Within the settings menu you can configure the script towards your needs/preferences. Enabling/disabling features and/or setting standard editions of providers on the fly. When using a script manager these settings should be stored and automatically load as soon as you visit matrix.itasoftware.com - but the passengers as well as the cabin detection will not be stored!
Your settings are "reloaded" everytime the itinerary details show up! If you want to use other settings, just get back to the flight selection and reselect your flights - the new settings will be used. This belongs to the passengers and cabin detection as well

Passengers:
The passenger count will not be taken from your search results! Use the passenger config on the upper left and make sure they are set before you get to the itinerary details. We had to do it this way because some providers require the age of children. But always make sure to search for the equivalent passenger count. There might be seat availability for one passenger but not for two!

Cabin detection:
You should set the cabin on the upper right to the appropriate main cabin you are looking for. Sometimes you will have economy/business class segments in mainly business/first class itineraries. These mixed itineraries make it hard to autodetect the main cabin - so you can set it manually.

*** Background requests - Privacy issues ***
Some features require to contact other servers. As long as you do not activate any of the autoload features within the settings there won't be any automatic background requests. You will have to initiate them manually. The following list will tell which features are contacting what server and what information will be transferred. All websites will know you are using this script und you are currently using the Matrix - what by the way applies to the link targets you click as well.
  • Miles breakdown - contacting farefreaks.com (SSL) providing reduced route data
  • GCM-Map in inline mode - contacting gcmap.com (non SSL) providing full route data
  • WhereToCredit.com mileage accrual breakdown - contacting wheretocredit.com (non SSL or SSL - depending on whether you use the Matrix with or without SSL) providing full itinerary
  • farefreaks.com (advanced routing codes / flight manager) - contacting farefreaks.com (SSL) providing full itinerary

*** FT-Posts you should read ***
General statement regarding this script: click
How to fix class names yourself: click
Problems and limitations regarding pricing itins: click

*** Contributors ***
paul21, Steppo, IAkH, 18sas, Benchmarc and others!

I'd like to give special thanks to paul21 for starting this idea.

*** Latest Version ***
GitHub Repo
or install/open directly
Installable/Executable Version
Executable Version minified


Updated Script by @Benchmarc, April 2019:
Originally Posted by Bohemian1 View Post
Thanks for this. Link to zipped script referenced above is [Udated Script] here.

FYI
Steppo & IAkH have full access to this repository.

Discussion - written by paul21:
The original posting can be found here, related to building links on delta's booking engine. The script scrapes the flight info from the itinerary (flight numbers, dates, class of service, price) and builds a link string to two booking engines (Orbitz/Delta). These links are the same links used by Google Flights (owns ITA) , Kayak, et. al. to drive purchases. I used the Google referrer codes in the scripts, so they should get the commission. It's beyond me why ITA doesn't have some form of purchase link. This a userscript, and like an ad-blocker, it modifies the way a page is viewed by editing DOM objects in the browser. Keep in mind that this tool is meant to do something you already do yourself, but to save time in the process. Any tickets issued by Orbitz/DL via these links could be issued via phone or web search. If the links work, you are avoiding a phone booking fee potentially.
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old May 4, 19, 1:38 am
  #706  
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Brosson View Post
Trying to price a Delta multi-city (all domestic) this morning and it won't carry me to Delta to book it. Getting the "Oh no we are sorry" message. Did something change further on the links for Delta?
Delta deeplinking works for me. I tried following itinerary:
Pocatello likes this.
Benchmarc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 19, 3:19 am
  #707  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 454
Does anyone know of an OTA that does deeplinking to itineraries + fare classes (like priceline) but prices in EURO (€) or allows searching for mixed cabin classes (i.e. outbound biz, inbound eco)?
Would be great to implement such an OTA into the tool.
fuyao is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 19, 3:32 am
  #708  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 254
Originally Posted by fuyao View Post
Does anyone know of an OTA that does deeplinking to itineraries + fare classes (like priceline) but prices in EURO (€) or allows searching for mixed cabin classes (i.e. outbound biz, inbound eco)?
Would be great to implement such an OTA into the tool.
That is exacty what I've been looking for but alas, no such luck so far.
fuyao likes this.

Last edited by CosmicGirl; May 4, 19 at 9:36 am Reason: typo
CosmicGirl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 19, 6:05 am
  #709  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
Originally Posted by Benchmarc View Post
Delta deeplinking works for me. I tried following itinerary:
Odd i tried this exact set of flights to book at delta.com via power tools and bookwithmatrix which both have worked great for purchasing these trips before. Both still return the ‘something went wrong’ error on delta.com.
Brosson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 19, 5:01 am
  #710  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
What’s interesting is I had the same problem yesterday with the US site, but was able to book my tickets on the German site using tampermonkey/power tools.
Brosson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 19, 3:41 pm
  #711  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Programs: B6 Mosaic, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 107
Booked a flight using the American Airlines (Europe) link today but haven’t been charged yet or received the confirmation email. I called AA to have them check in everything and they are stating it was booked thru a third party and to just wait for the charge to come through. Any ideas as to what happened? AA is also stating the confirmation code I received is incorrect (but I booked thru the AA site...)
Sallycat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 19, 3:49 pm
  #712  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 254
Originally Posted by Sallycat View Post
Booked a flight using the American Airlines (Europe) link today but haven’t been charged yet or received the confirmation email. I called AA to have them check in everything and they are stating it was booked thru a third party and to just wait for the charge to come through. Any ideas as to what happened? AA is also stating the confirmation code I received is incorrect (but I booked thru the AA site...)
This happened to us in 2016 when booking on a European AA site. On that site the tickets were confirmed but on the US site they were on request or something but not confirmed. It took a long call to the European AA call center but eventually the tickets were issued. They claimed the card had been declined even though there was no reason for it to be declined. They took payment details over the phone and the tickets were issued.
It seems the European sites work on a different system which may be why they thought it was a third party.

Last edited by CosmicGirl; Jun 1, 19 at 1:46 am
CosmicGirl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 19, 1:19 am
  #713  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Europe
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 1,408
AA US and Europe (or at least Germany) use different booking systems, I believe there are separate PNRs as well.
You should call one of their European callcenters.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 19, 5:10 am
  #714  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,225
Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory View Post
AA US and Europe (or at least Germany) use different booking systems, I believe there are separate PNRs as well.
You should call one of their European callcenters.
Amadeus is the GDS used by AA for Europe (and other places including Australia).


The US site uses SABRE.


Often you can use the Amadeus PNR to reference the booking on thr AA USA site - you should note the SABRE PNR that comes up.
serfty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 19, 11:59 am
  #715  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Programs: B6 Mosaic, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 107
You three are all lifesavers. Thank you very much!
Sallycat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 11:10 am
  #716  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Programs: Delta GM, Hyatt Plat-ist, Food Lion MVP
Posts: 414
As of June 7th, Delta seems to have changed their links again and the tool is no longer working (German Delta still pulls from ITA, but will break again when clicking on the dl.dumb English link).
ekozie is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 12:18 pm
  #717  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, TR 7*, SPG/MR Plat, UA 1K
Posts: 9,954
Originally Posted by ekozie View Post
As of June 7th, Delta seems to have changed their links again and the tool is no longer working (German Delta still pulls from ITA, but will break again when clicking on the dl.dumb English link).
Are you getting the new version of the website? If you get an oops page with something like flight-2 in the URL, a workaround the last time I tried this a week or two ago is to delete all cookies -- you'll have to login to DL again obv, but this reverts you at least briefly to the previous version for the search interface, which remains compatible with the user script.

Hopefully the new version still permits direct linking and the script can be eventually updated to account for it though.
Zorak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 19, 3:43 am
  #718  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: CDG, ORY
Posts: 81
Skyscanner dont work anymore via power tool ? are you in the same issue ?
karlot_96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 19, 10:20 pm
  #719  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,100
In case opening it didn't notify anyone, I created a PR: https://github.com/SteppoFF/ita-matr...rtools/pull/41
ChocolateFactory likes this.
canadiancow is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 19, 12:47 am
  #720  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Europe
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 1,408
Maybe we can also re-enable LA? I really don't understand why it's commented out.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread