Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Old Nov 11, 2014, 10:54 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: IAkH
Welcome to the ITA-Matrix-PowerTools
*** About ***
The ITA-Matrix-PowerTools are a user script maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Features added to the itinerary details page:
  • convert times into 24h format
  • translation support
  • open fare rules in new window by default
  • price breakdown (base fare, taxes & carrier imposed surcharges)
  • editor mode (adjust cabin prior extraction)
  • multiple handy links (Seatguru, Planefinder, WhereToCredit)
  • new on page features like detailed mileage breakdown*, GCM-Map* and earned frequent flyer miles*
  • create links to various providers (OTAs / airlines / other tools) to try direct booking of your itinerary

Originally Posted by Error: Unable to find class IR6M2QD-k-i for itinRow.
If you see this error, currently you'll need to manually edit your installed script.

See posts from October 1st, 2018 for more information.
*requires background requests

The script may have lots of bugs and comes without warranty of any kind! Not all fares will be bookable or will price correctly in the booking engines. You are responsible for the money you spend - so double check your flights before purchasing AND use your sanity! Read this and the next two posts as an example: click

*** How it works ***
Using pure JavaScript we are "creating" some sort of hook that is periodically checking for page changes while working with the Matrix. As soon as you reload or leave the page the script stops (leaving the page or using the console-version) or starts from the beginning (using the userscript and perfoming a reload). Also this script is only running in these tabs/windows in which you are looking at the Matrix.
As soon as the script detects the itinerary page it reads its content - unless you activated the editor mode. It's parsing all the information found and creates - based on this information - several links to OTAs, airlines and other tools. Since we are able to remove, replace and add content to the page - we make them visible and clickable in a way you choose. By default there are no background requests.

*** How to get it running ***
There are three methods to install the script. All three below run exactly the same underlying script but are listed in order of installation complexity:

Method 1: Browser Extensions
Method 2: As a UserScript
It takes a moment to get it running but after that it will start automatically everytime you visit the Matrix and we will be able to store your settings. You will need to install a script manager.

Warning: Using a script manager and installing user scripts is a potential security risk - We need to mention it here.
Step 1: Install a script manager Step 2: Install the script
See the FAQ of your script manager how to install the script.
  • Through GreasyFork
  • Through OpenUserJS
  • Through GitHub: you should be asked whether you want to install it - make sure your script manager is running.
Method 3: iOS Safari Shortcut

Get the "Add ITA Matrix Powertools" Shortcut

Instructions much be run each time
  • Open ITA Matrix in Safari on your iPhone or iPad
  • Tap on the Share button in the bottom navigation
  • Scroll down through all the actions
  • Select Add ITA Matrix Powertools

Method 4: Console/Debug mode
You need to access the command line of your browser to execute the script. You can use either the regular version or the minified version. Just copy the entire text.

Chrome:
  1. Open Chrome DevTools: developer.chrome.com
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.chrome.com
  4. Run it
Firefox:
  1. Open the web console: developer.mozilla.org
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.mozilla.org
  4. Run it
Internet Explorer:
  1. Open the web console by pressing F12
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line - at the very bottom
  4. Run it by pressing the green triangle

*** How to use it ***
Once the script is running you should see a new line above the ITA logo:
Code:
Passengers (1a) Settings (v0.18) (Cabin: Auto)
As long as you see this line, there is no need to reexecute the script. Make sure to get used to the "Settings"-feature -> just click on Settings. Within the settings menu you can configure the script towards your needs/preferences. Enabling/disabling features and/or setting standard editions of providers on the fly. When using a script manager these settings should be stored and automatically load as soon as you visit matrix.itasoftware.com - but the passengers as well as the cabin detection will not be stored!
Your settings are "reloaded" everytime the itinerary details show up! If you want to use other settings, just get back to the flight selection and reselect your flights - the new settings will be used. This belongs to the passengers and cabin detection as well

Passengers:
The passenger count will not be taken from your search results! Use the passenger config on the upper left and make sure they are set before you get to the itinerary details. We had to do it this way because some providers require the age of children. But always make sure to search for the equivalent passenger count. There might be seat availability for one passenger but not for two!

Cabin detection:
You should set the cabin on the upper right to the appropriate main cabin you are looking for. Sometimes you will have economy/business class segments in mainly business/first class itineraries. These mixed itineraries make it hard to autodetect the main cabin - so you can set it manually.

*** Background requests - Privacy issues ***
Some features require to contact other servers. As long as you do not activate any of the autoload features within the settings there won't be any automatic background requests. You will have to initiate them manually. The following list will tell which features are contacting what server and what information will be transferred. All websites will know you are using this script und you are currently using the Matrix - what by the way applies to the link targets you click as well.
  • GCM-Map in inline mode - contacting gcmap.com (non SSL) providing full route data
  • WhereToCredit.com mileage accrual breakdown - contacting wheretocredit.com (non SSL or SSL - depending on whether you use the Matrix with or without SSL) providing full itinerary
  • Skimlinks affiliate links - loads a js script to adds affiliate ids to some links if and only if the "Support this tool" setting is enabled. If it is disabled, no external scripts are loaded
*** FT-Posts you should read ***
General statement regarding this script: click
How to fix class names yourself: click
Problems and limitations regarding pricing itins: click

*** Contributors ***
paul21, Steppo, IAkH, 18sas, Benchmarc and others!

I'd like to give special thanks to paul21 for starting this idea.

*** Latest Version ***
GitHub Repo

OR install directly: Executable Version minified

FYI
Steppo & IAkH (Adam Hwang) have full access to this repository.

Discussion - written by paul21:
The original posting can be found here, related to building links on delta's booking engine. The script scrapes the flight info from the itinerary (flight numbers, dates, class of service, price) and builds a link string to two booking engines (Orbitz/Delta). These links are the same links used by Google Flights (owns ITA) , Kayak, et. al. to drive purchases. I used the Google referrer codes in the scripts, so they should get the commission. It's beyond me why ITA doesn't have some form of purchase link. This a userscript, and like an ad-blocker, it modifies the way a page is viewed by editing DOM objects in the browser. Keep in mind that this tool is meant to do something you already do yourself, but to save time in the process. Any tickets issued by Orbitz/DL via these links could be issued via phone or web search. If the links work, you are avoiding a phone booking fee potentially.







Print Wikipost

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Feb 11, 2018, 2:33 am
  #541  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 640
Originally Posted by andydd
Clever use of script. but may I ask why did you use keyword airline?
Additionally, since you already specified the flight numbers, the minconnect and maxconnect parameters were probably unnecessary (except of course there's a stopover allowed in the fare and the possibility to get the next day's flight instead).
I copy pasted the routings codes out of the sript from the result page, why go through the trouble and remove anything?
Also its always best to use more filters than less since the search is much faster then.
fuyao is offline  
Old Feb 15, 2018, 1:38 am
  #542  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,811
Btw, why is LA disabled by default?
Also, the release notes on Github haven't been updated in a while (shows 0.26 as the newest release).
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old Feb 24, 2018, 10:58 pm
  #543  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K MM, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, GHA Titanium, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,838
The script isn't working for me on FF. Never had this issue before. I have Greasemonkey running and the script installed, but it doesn't appear to be running and I don't get the options to book. Thoughts?
N1120A is offline  
Old Feb 25, 2018, 1:52 am
  #544  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,811
Replace Greasemonkey with Violentmonkey, worked for me.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old Feb 25, 2018, 9:18 am
  #545  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K MM, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, GHA Titanium, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,838
Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory
Replace Greasemonkey with Violentmonkey, worked for me.
That sounds odd. Is Greasemonkey not supporting the script anymore?
N1120A is offline  
Old Feb 25, 2018, 9:21 am
  #546  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,811
Firefox changed its plugin format, thus Greasemonkey stopped working for some time. I therefore made the switch to Violentmonkey. If Greasemonkey works again, they've probably released a new version, and I'd guess it's just buggy.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old Feb 25, 2018, 9:39 am
  #547  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K MM, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, GHA Titanium, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,838
Is AC working at all, cause I can't get it to do anything I want.

I got Violentmonkey to work on FF.
N1120A is offline  
Old Feb 25, 2018, 1:13 pm
  #548  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 538
Originally Posted by N1120A
The script isn't working for me on FF. Never had this issue before. I have Greasemonkey running and the script installed, but it doesn't appear to be running and I don't get the options to book. Thoughts?
Originally Posted by N1120A
That sounds odd. Is Greasemonkey not supporting the script anymore?
Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory
Firefox changed its plugin format, thus Greasemonkey stopped working for some time. I therefore made the switch to Violentmonkey. If Greasemonkey works again, they've probably released a new version, and I'd guess it's just buggy.
The userscript update for use with GM4 and FF 57+ was submitted back in November 2017 and is in the 0.28 release. I see that GM has released newer versions since then (4.1 and 4.2), so a new update maybe required. Can you provide the current versions of these under which the userscript no longer works?

Originally Posted by N1120A
Is AC working at all, cause I can't get it to do anything I want.

I got Violentmonkey to work on FF.
Can you provide an example itinerary?

Last edited by TWA884; Feb 25, 2018 at 2:18 pm Reason: Merge consecutive posts by the same member; please use the multi-quote function
st1575 is offline  
Old Feb 26, 2018, 11:34 pm
  #549  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K MM, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, GHA Titanium, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,838
Originally Posted by st1575


Can you provide an example itinerary?
YYZ-ORD-SAN on United, on AC stock
N1120A is offline  
Old Feb 27, 2018, 9:26 am
  #550  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 538
Originally Posted by N1120A
YYZ-ORD-SAN on United, on AC stock
Hasn't AC been reticent to ticket no-AC-at-all journeys on its stock? Have you been able to do this recently?
st1575 is offline  
Old Feb 27, 2018, 8:38 pm
  #551  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K MM, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, GHA Titanium, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,838
Originally Posted by st1575
Hasn't AC been reticent to ticket no-AC-at-all journeys on its stock? Have you been able to do this recently?
the problem is it doesn't even get to a booking page. Just redirects.
N1120A is offline  
Old Mar 7, 2018, 1:50 pm
  #552  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: LAX
Programs: oneword Emerald
Posts: 20,625
Exclamation Moderator's Action

A recent question about booking ITA itineraries, which was not about the userscript, and responses were moved to the following thread:
TWA884
Travel Tools moderator
TWA884 is offline  
Old Mar 27, 2018, 9:10 pm
  #553  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 18
is there a way to enable LAN purchase option in powertools verison v.028?
SomethingFun is offline  
Old Mar 28, 2018, 2:43 am
  #554  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,811
Yes, you have to change the source code.
Look for this line:

// printLA(); // Disabled until further notice
Then remove the first two slashes (what comes after the second slashes doesn't matter):

printLA(); // Disabled until further notice
I really don't understand why it's disabled in the first place, it works really well.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old Mar 29, 2018, 7:47 pm
  #555  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: YVR
Programs: AS 75K
Posts: 245
I have itinerary departing HKG that only a few sites will price accurately. DL.com being one of them. The issue I'm having is that it wants me to pay in HKD. I'd rather pay in another currency (or USD) and it's not letting me change it. Is there a way to do that on the ITA end of things before I click through to DL.com?

Btw I've only been using powertools for a few month and it's amazing. Thanks so much to those of you who developed and shared it.
shuttlerider is offline  


Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.