Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page > ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

    Hide Wikipost
Old Sep 21, 16, 10:54 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Mrp Alert
Wiki Link
Welcome to the ITA-Matrix-PowerTools
*** About ***
The ITA-Matrix-PowerTools are a user script maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Features added to the itinerary details page:
  • convert times into 24h format
  • translation support
  • open fare rules in new window by default
  • price breakdown (base fare, taxes & carrier imposed surcharges)
  • editor mode (adjust cabin prior extraction)
  • multiple handy links (Seatguru, Planefinder, WhereToCredit)
  • new on page features like detailed mileage breakdown*, GCM-Map* and earned frequent flyer miles*
  • create links to various providers (OTAs / airlines / other tools) to try direct booking of your itinerary
*requires background requests

The script may have lots of bugs and comes without warranty of any kind! Not all fares will be bookable or will price correctly in the booking engines. You are responsible for the money you spend - so double check your flights before purchasing AND use your sanity! Read this and the next two posts as an example: click

*** How it works ***
Using pure JavaScript we are "creating" some sort of hook that is periodically checking for page changes while working with the Matrix. As soon as you reload or leave the page the script stops (leaving the page or using the console-version) or starts from the beginning (using the userscript and perfoming a reload). Also this script is only running in these tabs/windows in which you are looking at the Matrix.
As soon as the script detects the itinerary page it reads its content - unless you activated the editor mode. It's parsing all the information found and creates - based on this information - several links to OTAs, airlines and other tools. Since we are able to remove, replace and add content to the page - we make them visible and clickable in a way you choose. By default there are no background requests.

*** How to get it running ***
There are two versions of this script:

Method 1: Console/Debug mode
You need to access the command line of your browser to execute the script. You can use either the regular version or the minified version. Just copy the entire text.

Firefox:
  1. Open the web console: developer.mozilla.org
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.mozilla.org
  4. Run it
Internet Explorer:
  1. Open the web console by pressing F12
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line - at the very bottom
  4. Run it by pressing the green triangle
Chrome:
  1. Open Chrome DevTools: developer.chrome.com
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.chrome.com
  4. Run it

Method 2: As a UserScript
It takes a moment to get it running but after that it will start automatically everytime you visit the Matrix and we will be able to store your settings. You will need to install a script manager.

Warning: Using a script manager and installing user scripts is a potential security risk - We need to mention it here.

Step 1: Install a script manager
Firefox: Greasemonkey also see Greasemonkey FAQ or tampermonkey.net also see Tampermonkey FAQ
Internet Explorer: Not supported
Google Chrome & Opera & Microsoft Edge:tampermonkey.net also see Tampermonkey FAQ
Step 2: Install the script
See the FAQ of your script manager how to install the script.
It should be enough to visit the script HERE - you should be asked whether you want to install it - make sure your script manager is running.
*** How to use it ***
Once the script is running you should see a new line above the ITA logo:
Code:
Passengers (1a)                                 Settings (v0.18) (Cabin: Auto)
As long as you see this line, there is no need to reexecute the script. Make sure to get used to the "Settings"-feature -> just click on Settings. Within the settings menu you can configure the script towards your needs/preferences. Enabling/disabling features and/or setting standard editions of providers on the fly. When using a script manager these settings should be stored and automatically load as soon as you visit matrix.itasoftware.com - but the passengers as well as the cabin detection will not be stored!
Your settings are "reloaded" everytime the itinerary details show up! If you want to use other settings, just get back to the flight selection and reselect your flights - the new settings will be used. This belongs to the passengers and cabin detection as well

Passengers:
The passenger count will not be taken from your search results! Use the passenger config on the upper left and make sure they are set before you get to the itinerary details. We had to do it this way because some providers require the age of children. But always make sure to search for the equivalent passenger count. There might be seat availability for one passenger but not for two!

Cabin detection:
You should set the cabin on the upper right to the appropriate main cabin you are looking for. Sometimes you will have economy/business class segments in mainly business/first class itineraries. These mixed itineraries make it hard to autodetect the main cabin - so you can set it manually.

*** Background requests - Privacy issues ***
Some features require to contact other servers. As long as you do not activate any of the autoload features within the settings there won't be any automatic background requests. You will have to initiate them manually. The following list will tell which features are contacting what server and what information will be transferred. All websites will know you are using this script und you are currently using the Matrix - what by the way applies to the link targets you click as well.
  • Miles breakdown - contacting farefreaks.com (SSL) providing reduced route data
  • GCM-Map in inline mode - contacting gcmap.com (non SSL) providing full route data
  • WhereToCredit.com mileage accrual breakdown - contacting wheretocredit.com (non SSL or SSL - depending on whether you use the Matrix with or without SSL) providing full itinerary
  • farefreaks.com (advanced routing codes / flight manager) - contacting farefreaks.com (SSL) providing full itinerary

*** FT-Posts you should read ***
General statement regarding this script: click
How to fix class names yourself: click
Problems and limitations regarding pricing itins: click

*** Contributors ***
paul21, Steppo, IAkH, 18sas and others!

I'd like to give special thanks to paul21 for starting this idea.

*** Latest Version ***
GitHub Repo
or install/open directly
Installable/Executable Version
Executable Version minified

FYI
Steppo & IAkH have full access to this repository.

Discussion - written by paul21:
The original posting can be found here, related to building links on delta's booking engine. The script scrapes the flight info from the itinerary (flight numbers, dates, class of service, price) and builds a link string to two booking engines (Orbitz/Delta). These links are the same links used by Google Flights (owns ITA) , Kayak, et. al. to drive purchases. I used the Google referrer codes in the scripts, so they should get the commission. It's beyond me why ITA doesn't have some form of purchase link. This a userscript, and like an ad-blocker, it modifies the way a page is viewed by editing DOM objects in the browser. Keep in mind that this tool is meant to do something you already do yourself, but to save time in the process. Any tickets issued by Orbitz/DL via these links could be issued via phone or web search. If the links work, you are avoiding a phone booking fee potentially.
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Nov 14, 17, 9:07 pm
  #481
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: YUL
Programs: Occasional RTW club
Posts: 5,537
Looks like it's not working with Firefox Quantum as of today anymore, or is it just me?
Pseudo Nim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 17, 1:27 am
  #482
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltS
Posts: 19,939
You'll need firefox v56 or earlier until Greasemonkey gets a makeover ... or just use Chrome and Tampermonkey.
serfty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 17, 3:36 am
  #483
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltS
Posts: 19,939
Here's a mozilla link to firefox 56 32bit : https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/...2/win32/en-US/

Here's a mozilla link to firefox 56 64bit : https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/...2/win64/en-US/

Last edited by serfty; Nov 21, 17 at 3:16 pm Reason: Added 64 bit
serfty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 17, 11:43 am
  #484
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 461
Originally Posted by serfty View Post
You'll need firefox v56 or earlier until Greasemonkey gets a makeover ... or just use Chrome and Tampermonkey.
Or just use TamperMonkey for FF.
st1575 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 17, 3:16 pm
  #485
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltS
Posts: 19,939
Originally Posted by st1575 View Post
Or just use TamperMonkey for FF.
didn't know there was shuch an animal.

In any case i'm sticking with v56 for the foreseeable future.
serfty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 17, 3:53 pm
  #486
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 461
Originally Posted by serfty View Post
didn't know there was shuch an animal.

In any case i'm sticking with v56 for the foreseeable future.
This is actually looks like a script problem: it needs to be updated to work with GM 4 which is FF 57+ compatible.

I might take a crack at updating it unless Steppo or someone else gets there first.
st1575 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 17, 6:54 pm
  #487
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: YUL
Programs: Occasional RTW club
Posts: 5,537
Originally Posted by serfty View Post
didn't know there was shuch an animal.

In any case i'm sticking with v56 for the foreseeable future.
I don't think it's really an option, is it? FF just auto-updates, helpfully.

That said, FF57 does really feel a lot better.
Pseudo Nim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 17, 8:00 pm
  #488
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltS
Posts: 19,939
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
I don't think it's really an option, is it? FF just auto-updates, helpfully.
...
Auto update can be stopped:

enter "about:preferences" in the URL line, after that loads, go to "Updates" and select one of:
  • Check for updates, but let you choose whether to install them or
  • Never check for updates (not recommended: security risk)
... and whatever you do going forward don't select Help->About !
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
...
That said, FF57 does really feel a lot better.
Until all my plugins etc work with 57 I'll be staying where with 56. Maybe longer as I don't like many things about v57, especially the 'dotty' loading icons. I may just migrate to chrome and use Tampermonkey for the ITA script.
serfty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 17, 8:11 pm
  #489
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltS
Posts: 19,939
Originally Posted by st1575 View Post
This is actually looks like a script problem: it needs to be updated to work with GM 4 which is FF 57+ compatible.

I might take a crack at updating it unless Steppo or someone else gets there first.
https://www.ghacks.net/2017/09/21/gr...compatibility/

Hmmm ... the main change seems to the the elimination of File System access; when FM4 is ready, will this affect ITA-Matrix-PowerTools?
serfty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 17, 4:46 pm
  #490
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PHL
Posts: 24
Anyone still able to purchase via Priceline?

Nothing happens any more when I click the green "Continue" button (see sample screenshot below).

I am still using Firefox Version 56, so I don't think this is related to Quantum.

FatAlbert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 17, 11:31 pm
  #491
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: LAS based - Home is worldwide
Programs: OneWorld Emeralds, Star Gold, SkyTeam Silver, VIP Car Renter, Hotel Elite
Posts: 7,073
Originally Posted by C W View Post
Yes, trying to process a mileage upgrade with Delta without paying the ticket repossession fee.
book it as all y on delta.com
call in within 24 hours to update to premium economy during their 24 hour fee free polciy
theb process the Mileage upgrade.
Mrp Alert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 17, 2:35 am
  #492
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: AA (current EXP, occasional PLT, 0MM); UA; DL
Posts: 6,001
I found myself with Firefox 57. Updated Greasemonkey to 4. Still, no sign of the PowerTools script on the ITA matrix page.
aktchi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 17, 10:14 am
  #493
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 461
Originally Posted by aktchi View Post
I found myself with Firefox 57. Updated Greasemonkey to 4. Still, no sign of the PowerTools script on the ITA matrix page.
If you have found yourself with FF 57, I recommend using TamperMoney temporarily. The existing script works with it.

As for my work on adapting the PowerTools script for GM4, I have a version that mostly works. However, some features need verification.
serfty and aktchi like this.
st1575 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 17, 10:33 am
  #494
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Europe
Programs: SPG Plat, Hilton Diamond, GHA Black, BA Gold, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 487
What's the point with Greasemonkey anyway if Firefox has switched to the Chrome extension format? Why another plugin when Tampermonkey already offers just that and is compatible?
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 17, 11:31 am
  #495
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valencia, Spain
Programs: Pascal and Python, no C++
Posts: 730
Not a single one of the extensions which I used Firefox for (Greasemonkey, TamperData, FireFTP, Selenium, SQLite, SOA Client etc. etc. ) work in the new version.
I've decided to downgrade again. It's a Firefox, not a Greasemonkey problem.
WolfvanWeen is offline  
Reply With Quote
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 1:43 pm.

Home - News - Forum - Hotel Reviews - Glossary - Contact Us - Airport Code Lookup - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy - Advertise on FlyerTalk - Archive - Top

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by Flyertalk.com. Copyright 2017 FlyerTalk.com. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.