Last edit by: IAkH
Welcome to the ITA-Matrix-PowerTools
*** About ***The ITA-Matrix-PowerTools are a user script maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.
Features added to the itinerary details page:
- convert times into 24h format
- translation support
- open fare rules in new window by default
- price breakdown (base fare, taxes & carrier imposed surcharges)
- editor mode (adjust cabin prior extraction)
- multiple handy links (Seatguru, Planefinder, WhereToCredit)
- new on page features like detailed mileage breakdown*, GCM-Map* and earned frequent flyer miles*
- create links to various providers (OTAs / airlines / other tools) to try direct booking of your itinerary
Originally Posted by Error: Unable to find class IR6M2QD-k-i for itinRow.
If you see this error, currently you'll need to manually edit your installed script.
See posts from October 1st, 2018 for more information.
See posts from October 1st, 2018 for more information.
The script may have lots of bugs and comes without warranty of any kind! Not all fares will be bookable or will price correctly in the booking engines. You are responsible for the money you spend - so double check your flights before purchasing AND use your sanity! Read this and the next two posts as an example: click
*** How it works ***
Using pure JavaScript we are "creating" some sort of hook that is periodically checking for page changes while working with the Matrix. As soon as you reload or leave the page the script stops (leaving the page or using the console-version) or starts from the beginning (using the userscript and perfoming a reload). Also this script is only running in these tabs/windows in which you are looking at the Matrix.
As soon as the script detects the itinerary page it reads its content - unless you activated the editor mode. It's parsing all the information found and creates - based on this information - several links to OTAs, airlines and other tools. Since we are able to remove, replace and add content to the page - we make them visible and clickable in a way you choose. By default there are no background requests.
*** How to get it running ***
There are three methods to install the script. All three below run exactly the same underlying script but are listed in order of installation complexity:
Method 1: Browser Extensions
- Chrome: Chrome Web Store
- Firefox (and Firefox for Android): Firefox Add-ons
- Microsoft Edge: Microsoft Edge Addons
- Opera Opera Addons
Method 2: As a UserScript
It takes a moment to get it running but after that it will start automatically everytime you visit the Matrix and we will be able to store your settings. You will need to install a script manager.
Warning: Using a script manager and installing user scripts is a potential security risk - We need to mention it here.
Step 1: Install a script manager
- Chrome: Tampermonkey or Violentmonkey
- Firefox: Greasemonkey, Tampermonkey, or Violentmonkey
- Safari: Tampermonkey
- Microsoft Edge: Tampermonkey
- Opera: Tampermonkey or Violentmonkey
- Maxthon: Violentmonkey
- Dolphin: Tampermonkey
- UC: Tampermonkey
See the FAQ of your script manager how to install the script.
- Through GreasyFork
- Through OpenUserJS
- Through GitHub: you should be asked whether you want to install it - make sure your script manager is running.
Get the "Add ITA Matrix Powertools" Shortcut
Instructions much be run each time
- Open ITA Matrix in Safari on your iPhone or iPad
- Tap on the Share button in the bottom navigation
- Scroll down through all the actions
- Select Add ITA Matrix Powertools
Method 4: Console/Debug mode
You need to access the command line of your browser to execute the script. You can use either the regular version or the minified version. Just copy the entire text.
Chrome:
- Open Chrome DevTools: developer.chrome.com
- Switch to the console tab
- Paste the script into the command line: developer.chrome.com
- Run it
- Open the web console: developer.mozilla.org
- Switch to the console tab
- Paste the script into the command line: developer.mozilla.org
- Run it
- Open the web console by pressing F12
- Switch to the console tab
- Paste the script into the command line - at the very bottom
- Run it by pressing the green triangle
*** How to use it ***
Once the script is running you should see a new line above the ITA logo:
Code:
Passengers (1a) Settings (v0.18) (Cabin: Auto)
Your settings are "reloaded" everytime the itinerary details show up! If you want to use other settings, just get back to the flight selection and reselect your flights - the new settings will be used. This belongs to the passengers and cabin detection as well
Passengers:
The passenger count will not be taken from your search results! Use the passenger config on the upper left and make sure they are set before you get to the itinerary details. We had to do it this way because some providers require the age of children. But always make sure to search for the equivalent passenger count. There might be seat availability for one passenger but not for two!
Cabin detection:
You should set the cabin on the upper right to the appropriate main cabin you are looking for. Sometimes you will have economy/business class segments in mainly business/first class itineraries. These mixed itineraries make it hard to autodetect the main cabin - so you can set it manually.
*** Background requests - Privacy issues ***
Some features require to contact other servers. As long as you do not activate any of the autoload features within the settings there won't be any automatic background requests. You will have to initiate them manually. The following list will tell which features are contacting what server and what information will be transferred. All websites will know you are using this script und you are currently using the Matrix - what by the way applies to the link targets you click as well.
- GCM-Map in inline mode - contacting gcmap.com (non SSL) providing full route data
- WhereToCredit.com mileage accrual breakdown - contacting wheretocredit.com (non SSL or SSL - depending on whether you use the Matrix with or without SSL) providing full itinerary
- Skimlinks affiliate links - loads a js script to adds affiliate ids to some links if and only if the "Support this tool" setting is enabled. If it is disabled, no external scripts are loaded
General statement regarding this script: click
How to fix class names yourself: click
Problems and limitations regarding pricing itins: click
*** Contributors ***
paul21, Steppo, IAkH, 18sas, Benchmarc and others!
I'd like to give special thanks to paul21 for starting this idea.
*** Latest Version ***
GitHub Repo
OR install directly: Executable Version minified
FYI
Steppo & IAkH (Adam Hwang) have full access to this repository.
Discussion - written by paul21:
The original posting can be found here, related to building links on delta's booking engine. The script scrapes the flight info from the itinerary (flight numbers, dates, class of service, price) and builds a link string to two booking engines (Orbitz/Delta). These links are the same links used by Google Flights (owns ITA) , Kayak, et. al. to drive purchases. I used the Google referrer codes in the scripts, so they should get the commission. It's beyond me why ITA doesn't have some form of purchase link. This a userscript, and like an ad-blocker, it modifies the way a page is viewed by editing DOM objects in the browser. Keep in mind that this tool is meant to do something you already do yourself, but to save time in the process. Any tickets issued by Orbitz/DL via these links could be issued via phone or web search. If the links work, you are avoiding a phone booking fee potentially.
ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK
#32
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Somewhere between if and else
Posts: 142
Well, spent the last 3 weeks flying around.. sorry for the absence.
I did a quick and dirty fix for 3.0.
At least linking should work as usual:
https://github.com/SteppoFF/ita-matr...s/tree/nightly
Going to clean it the next days.
I did a quick and dirty fix for 3.0.
At least linking should work as usual:
https://github.com/SteppoFF/ita-matr...s/tree/nightly
Going to clean it the next days.
#33
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 558
Well, spent the last 3 weeks flying around.. sorry for the absence.
I did a quick and dirty fix for 3.0.
At least linking should work as usual:
https://github.com/SteppoFF/ita-matr...s/tree/nightly
Going to clean it the next days.
I did a quick and dirty fix for 3.0.
At least linking should work as usual:
https://github.com/SteppoFF/ita-matr...s/tree/nightly
Going to clean it the next days.

#35
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Somewhere between if and else
Posts: 142
Well..
Google changed a lot. On the result page they changed the div layout to a table-based layout. This could be used to make the extraction more efficient. I started to rewrite the function for data extraction. But while digging my way through the code, I stumbled upon a few things which make me believe google hasn't finished changing our beloved matrix yet.
So I am going to wait and see what will happen.
By now the linking should work fine and that's the intention of this script, isn't it?
Greetings
p.s. Updated the script today.. so reinstall please
I guess, you have to open the desired user-script in raw mode. (I don't use tamper monkey, but greasemonkey asks me if i would like to install the script)
Maybe these links will work:
Userscript english 12h timeformat
Userscript english 24h timeformat
Userscript german 24h timeformat
Google changed a lot. On the result page they changed the div layout to a table-based layout. This could be used to make the extraction more efficient. I started to rewrite the function for data extraction. But while digging my way through the code, I stumbled upon a few things which make me believe google hasn't finished changing our beloved matrix yet.
So I am going to wait and see what will happen.
By now the linking should work fine and that's the intention of this script, isn't it?

Greetings
p.s. Updated the script today.. so reinstall please
I guess, you have to open the desired user-script in raw mode. (I don't use tamper monkey, but greasemonkey asks me if i would like to install the script)
Maybe these links will work:
Userscript english 12h timeformat
Userscript english 24h timeformat
Userscript german 24h timeformat
Last edited by Steppo; Jan 3, 15 at 6:26 am
#38
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AA EXP, BA Bronze, TK Elite, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton Gold, Fairmont Premiere, IHG Ambas
Posts: 180
Broken Script
Is it only me, or is nobody else no longer getting the script functions? I have tried everything from uninstall to manual installation and back to my original setup in Chrome via Tampermonkey.
Any suggestions are welcome.
Any suggestions are welcome.
#39
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 558
@Steppo, the UA deeplinking via Hipmunk doesn't work anymore, when going on hipmunk, I get the following now, even thou hipmunk.com still works perfectly:
Code:
<h1>500</h1> <p>We're feeling a little under the weather, but we'll be back shortly.</p><img src="/static/sick_hipmunk_500.png"> <p><a href='/'>Take me home</a></p>
#40
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NYC, DAB
Posts: 254
The script works with linking to ORB, but when linking to DL I get the following message:
Though delta.com seems to be working normally otherwise.
A MISSED CONNECTION
We are performing system maintenance on Sunday, December 7, beginning at 3:00 a.m. EST. We expect this maintenance to last no more than an hour, and during this time, delta.com and our mobile apps are unavailable.
Customers who need to check-in for flights may use self-service kiosks at the airport or see an agent. For those customers who need to book or manage an existing trip, please call Delta Reservations at 1-800-221-1212.
We apologize for any inconvenience
We are performing system maintenance on Sunday, December 7, beginning at 3:00 a.m. EST. We expect this maintenance to last no more than an hour, and during this time, delta.com and our mobile apps are unavailable.
Customers who need to check-in for flights may use self-service kiosks at the airport or see an agent. For those customers who need to book or manage an existing trip, please call Delta Reservations at 1-800-221-1212.
We apologize for any inconvenience
#41
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: UA MM *G, AA EXP, OW Emerald, Hyatt Globalist, Gold everywhere else
Posts: 827
In general it still works for me.
@Steppo, the UA deeplinking via Hipmunk doesn't work anymore, when going on hipmunk, I get the following now, even thou hipmunk.com still works perfectly:
@Steppo, the UA deeplinking via Hipmunk doesn't work anymore, when going on hipmunk, I get the following now, even thou hipmunk.com still works perfectly:
Code:
<h1>500</h1> <p>We're feeling a little under the weather, but we'll be back shortly.</p><img src="/static/sick_hipmunk_500.png"> <p><a href='/'>Take me home</a></p>
#42
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Somewhere between if and else
Posts: 142
LH-Flight (FRA-TXL) on UA (Hipmunk)
DL-Flight on DL (Even LH worked on DL)
Edit:
Found a massive bug messing up detection of one-segment legs and added Hipmunk
Update please using https://github.com/SteppoFF/ita-matr...s/tree/nightly or
Last edited by Steppo; Jan 12, 15 at 4:23 pm Reason: see post...
#44
havnfn
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: FL-MCO
Programs: Delta-DM; Hilton-Diamond; Hyatt-Diamond
Posts: 456
Hmm...I used to be able to adjust the fare codes manually (say, in Notepad) then paste an updated URL and Delta's pricing page would be updated to the new fare code and price. That doesn't seem to be working anymore.
Tried Firefox and Greasemonkey as well as Chrome and Tampermonkey.
Probably something I'm doing wrong...
Tried Firefox and Greasemonkey as well as Chrome and Tampermonkey.
Probably something I'm doing wrong...
#45
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Somewhere between if and else
Posts: 142
Hmm...I used to be able to adjust the fare codes manually (say, in Notepad) then paste an updated URL and Delta's pricing page would be updated to the new fare code and price. That doesn't seem to be working anymore.
Tried Firefox and Greasemonkey as well as Chrome and Tampermonkey.
Probably something I'm doing wrong...
Tried Firefox and Greasemonkey as well as Chrome and Tampermonkey.
Probably something I'm doing wrong...
If its the first one, i don't have a clue why its not working anymore.
Modifying the DOM won't work since you can only run the script once. I had to change it because ita switched to ajax-calls. The script is now running in background checking for URL-changes. So just modifying the DOM isn't enough... even though i could add a button to do this.
@Paul thanks for updating the Wiki.. i am not yet allowed to