Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ITA Software Matrix Airfare Search Consolidated Information and Help Thread

Old Jun 4, 2014, 6:07 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: TWA884
ITA Matrix Search: http://matrix.itasoftware.com

You can sometimes see flights, fares and detailed fare rules that may not be reflected on an airline's website. Please read the thread for some tips and tricks, screen shots, etc.

A related thread, ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK, discusses a user script which is maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Additional details and tips on the use of ITA's advanced routing code feature can be found in the following long-standing Mileage Run Discussion threads:

Print Wikipost

ITA Software Matrix Airfare Search Consolidated Information and Help Thread

Old Apr 14, 2012, 1:32 pm
  #31  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Alabama
Programs: Not care as much as before...
Posts: 329
no problem here too
ssoonngg123 is offline  
Old Apr 16, 2012, 2:51 am
  #32  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Originally Posted by ned
ITA site seems to be down for me. Anybody else having trouble?
Working like charm here. May be that was blocked on your network.
arungupta2012 is offline  
Old Apr 16, 2012, 5:18 am
  #33  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DTW
Programs: Delta Platinum, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Diamond, IHG Platinum, Avis First
Posts: 106
It doesn't seem to work well with chrome...
MidTierStatus is offline  
Old Apr 22, 2012, 7:32 am
  #34  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wild Wiltshire
Programs: Demoted to gold, Cats protection
Posts: 3,459
Originally Posted by MidTierStatus
It doesn't seem to work well with chrome...
I have tried Chrome, IE, Firefox and Dolphin with no success in the last week
pinkcat is offline  
Old Apr 22, 2012, 9:01 am
  #35  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GVA, LAX, ICN
Programs: KE MC
Posts: 240
Originally Posted by pinkcat
I have tried Chrome, IE, Firefox and Dolphin with no success in the last week
i have no problems with chrome right now.
choijw is offline  
Old Apr 25, 2012, 7:27 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 207
ITA Matrix Airfare Search

Was getting odd results today. $735,000 one- way South America - LAX.
napilimom is offline  
Old Apr 27, 2012, 1:38 pm
  #37  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: YXY
Posts: 3,507
ITA Matrix Display Issues

Hi,

as of today the ITA Matrix results are shown in a weird way to me. The time graphs/bars for the flights all seem to start at the same time early morning. The graph's arrival times are all over the place.

None of that correspondends to actual fight times.

When I choose to have all details shown, the problem gets solved for some flights but not for all, and not for all pages of search results. This way the engine is of limited use.

Does anyone else have that problem or it is just my computer?
sokolov is offline  
Old Apr 27, 2012, 2:08 pm
  #38  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Programs: All of them...
Posts: 382
I have seen lately alot of fares which my TA says that its not able to book, as there are no seats in that fare open. Seen on TK, KLM
chff is offline  
Old Apr 27, 2012, 5:18 pm
  #39  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: YXY
Posts: 3,507
Oh, and the layovers are missing. It looks like there was no time inbetween flights.

Last edited by sokolov; Apr 28, 2012 at 8:44 am Reason: Typo
sokolov is offline  
Old Apr 28, 2012, 10:33 am
  #40  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 971
I've been shown fares that are nonexistent when I click on them (like not remotely close to what's shown on the grid).
sylvia hennesy is offline  
Old Apr 30, 2012, 9:05 am
  #41  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio and Colorado
Programs: AA Gold MM, DL Gold, US MM, HH Gold, Starwood
Posts: 953
Everything works for me except the selected flight display is displaced a little to the right and cuts off a few letters.

Happens on my iPhone 3Gs (iOS 5.1) and my earlier version iPod.

Just an annoyance and I reported it to ITA. Maybe Google is "improving" things.

Cheers
X3Skier is offline  
Old May 3, 2012, 3:10 pm
  #42  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 355
My ITA software times out after a specified period of time (60s) and only returns what its found so far.

So once you put in more than a handful of cities, youre actually not getting the full universe of flights back, youre only getting a subset of what was found before the timeout occurred.
printingray is offline  
Old May 5, 2012, 4:29 am
  #43  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,042
Is ITA down?
abcx is online now  
Old May 9, 2012, 1:47 pm
  #44  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NY Metro
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 2,891
I've had a similar issue, the time bars are all messed up. Hope they fix it.
NHFL9 is offline  
Old Jun 18, 2012, 2:52 pm
  #45  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: YXY
Posts: 3,507
They have fixed it, at least for me.

However, now I can't search for trips with more than 1 stop. I can only choose "non stop" or "max 1 stop". The other options (unlimited, max 2) are greyed out. Anyone know why? Is there a work around?

Last edited by sokolov; Jun 18, 2012 at 2:54 pm Reason: it affects all searches, not just multi-citz.
sokolov is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.