Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ITA Software Matrix Airfare Search Consolidated Information and Help Thread

ITA Software Matrix Airfare Search Consolidated Information and Help Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Apr 7, 21, 2:51 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: TWA884
Wiki Link
ITA Matrix Search: http://matrix.itasoftware.com

You can sometimes see flights, fares and detailed fare rules that may not be reflected on an airline's website. Please read the thread for some tips and tricks, screen shots, etc.

A related thread, ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK, discusses a user script which is maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Additional details and tips on the use of ITA's advanced routing code feature can be found in the following long-standing Mileage Run Discussion threads:

Print Wikipost

Old Jun 4, 22, 4:07 pm
  #2296  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 38,636
Splitting the post up into bits so that the reply is clearer:
Originally Posted by hugolover View Post
1. I want it to return flights where only higher RBDs are open (in the case of fares, they match the RBD hence this command is OK).

2. For example in the context of say BA. Business inventory is J/C/D/R/I. If I is open, R is open, and up the chain. I want it to show me only flights where C is the lowest RBD available and exclude flights where D/R/I are closed.

3. Using the F ~bc=D& its not excluding RBDs that are closed, its just pricing the trip higher, just like if I were to ask for only C fares. My results are presenting flights where even I is open.
1. This is not true. If you book an I class fare for (eg) AMS-LHR-JNB-LHR-AMS, the AMS-LHR and LHR-AMS flights will book in to J and the trip will price and be bookable even if I is closed on those flights.

2. This is not universally true, either. There are times when (say) D may have zero inventory but R will have some. It's rare, but it can happen.

3. If you specify F ~bc=D, then ITA will return itineraries that use J, C, R or I class fares (assuming that you have also restricted ITA to returning business class results). You have excluded only D class fares and nothing else. To get closer to what you want, you may want to try F bc=j|bc=c, which will include anything that uses a J class fare or a C class fare, but excludes every other kind of fare. (But see 1. above concerning the fact that individual flights may yet book into a different booking class even though the fare is a J class fare or a C class fare.)
Globaliser is offline  
Old Jun 4, 22, 4:26 pm
  #2297  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,523
That’s not what he wants though. Specifiying f bc just means you want to include or exclude fares. So if there’s availability in all booking classes, you would still include or exclude those booking classes (so if you remove the filter, the prices for the same dates would drop). But what he wants is to see dates where certain booking classes aren’t available for booking.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old Jun 4, 22, 4:52 pm
  #2298  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 38,636
Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory View Post
Thats not what he wants though. ... But what he wants is to see dates where certain booking classes arent available for booking.
I know - but those are some of the reasons why their approach won't work on ITA.

I agree with you that it's not easily possible to do this on ITA.

If confined to a single airline (eg BA) and a reasonable simple routing, then the easiest approach is actually to start with ExpertFlyer to find out which flights have zero inventory in (say) D, R and I classes, and only then go to ITA to price the remaining acceptable flights (perhaps specifying the flight numbers of the acceptable flights).

Using ITA alone, one approach might be to use the individual flights option. For each part of the journey searched, there may be a discernible price break between (say) D class and C class. Then the cheaper flights can simply be ignored (or excluded in the next search), one of the acceptable flights chosen, and then the process repeated on the next screen for the next part of the journey. But this is likely to work well only on relatively simple itineraries with few true options on each screen.

What I don't understand - it may just be me being thick - is why a flight that is J9 C9 D0 R0 I0 would be acceptable when a flight that is J9 C9 D9 R9 I9 would be unacceptable. If they are prepared to pay a C class fare to get C class conditions, it's bookable on either flight. If that could be explained, then we might have some other bright ideas about how to search for the acceptable flights.
Globaliser is offline  
Old Jun 4, 22, 5:47 pm
  #2299  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,864
Originally Posted by hugolover View Post
I'll try explaining it another way. I want it to return flights where only higher RBDs are open (in the case of fares, they match the RBD hence this command is OK).
What are you actually trying to do here? My guess is trick a work booking system into booking you into a ticket earning more Avios
Calchas is offline  
Old Jun 4, 22, 6:45 pm
  #2300  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9,270
Originally Posted by Globaliser View Post
This is not true. If you book an I class fare for (eg) AMS-LHR-JNB-LHR-AMS, the AMS-LHR and LHR-AMS flights will book in to J and the trip will price and be bookable even if I is closed on those flights.
2. This is not universally true, either. There are times when (say) D may have zero inventory but R will have some. It's rare, but it can happen.
1) Yes, I'm aware . Works that way on many carriers including LH Group, A segments and J feeder, Y feeder for F on LO, but in my case it's not relevant which is why I wrote that I dismissed it because the fare first letter matched the RBD.
2) Again, possible and I was just giving an example of how inventory tends to be sold, I wasn't interested in anything below J or C actually.

From other replies it seems it's not possible, which is fair enough, probably no one would want it so far.

I'll just stick to the old fashioned and time consuming way of checking each flight. Never mind, thanks for all the replies.
hugolover is offline  
Old Jun 5, 22, 1:07 am
  #2301  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,523
You don’t have to check each flight.
SN Booking in specific booking class

Basically you just use filters to make sure only the flights you’re interested in will show up (e.g. specifying “BA+”).
Then you go to the calendar view and click on the days with higher prices until you find the booking class you want. That’s it.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old Jun 7, 22, 6:02 pm
  #2302  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EXP), Hilton (Diamond), SPG (lowly Plat)
Posts: 8,674
Originally Posted by jh321 View Post
Hello, I'm really hoping someone can help me with a search - I was sort of ok before Covid, but I'm out of practice and struggling to read the guides for this. If anyone can help me with how I can set it up so I can look for best fares I'd be so grateful!. The parts that are hard are that I want to fly BA (or AA now), with a BA GUF, paying for Premium Econ but upgrading to Business with the GUF. So I need to look for availability in the upgraded cabin, but price the PE (I assume that's two separate searches). So I think this is the hard part, what code do I need to show 'upgradeable' PE?
This is a fairly common thing for people with AA SWUs, and to my knowledge there's no great way to do it. What I do is use Expert Flyer to find flights with the upgrade inventory, and then use the routing controls in Matrix to force those flights to be used. In EF the Award and Upgrade query shows the results (best to query with "Direct/Non-Stop Only" selected). In Matrix the flights can be ORed. However, often Matrix just says "No Flights Found" even though clearing the routing controls shows those same flights being used. I've never been able to figure out how to keep that from happening.
anabolism is offline  
Old Jun 10, 22, 12:04 pm
  #2303  
UXP
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 30
How to find 2+ legs in BC for European flights

I probably need 1 (U)XP-run at end of year in BC with 2 legs or more, preferably in Europe. How would I instruct https://partnerdash.google.com/apps/matrix/search to search for just that? It doesn't seem possible. Any ideas? Or maybe an idea for a different tool?
UXP is offline  
Old Jun 21, 22, 3:36 pm
  #2304  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SAN, LAX
Programs: JMB, Bonvoy, Hyatt
Posts: 194
Originally Posted by SugoiHikouki View Post
I appreciate the effort to modernize ITA Matrix so that it can be kept around (instead of killed off like other Google products in the past). I do hope these issues can be worked through and improved upon.

FWIW I'm running into an issue on the frontend that makes it unusable for me. I'd enter a single origin and destination, enable advanced options. When I fill in all the routing and extension code fields, and then pick something that isn't "This day only" for both dates, advanced options will auto close and wipe out all of my advanced input. I hope this is something that can be fixed because it is pretty difficult to use in the current state.
Hi, this issue still exists and may have fallen off the radar. I've since made a screen recording of this issue:
SugoiHikouki is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 9:54 am
  #2305  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM MM, Mlife Noir, TR 7*, Marriott Tit, UA Plat, Hyatt Glob
Posts: 15,941
Originally Posted by SugoiHikouki View Post
Hi, this issue still exists and may have fallen off the radar. I've since made a screen recording of this issue:
I tried bumping this in May, with steps to reproduce: ITA Software Matrix Airfare Search Consolidated Information and Help Thread

Originally Posted by Zorak View Post
ITA Hacker there is still a really bizarre UI bug in the new interface, which I am pretty sure I reported via the feedback link, but posting about it again here on FT to boost the signal since it has been at least a few months.

Steps to reproduce, starting from a clean slate:
[...]
but no response. (I had missed/forgotten about your report back in Feb)

@ITA Hacker any help here? I hope this gets fixed before oldmatrix gets shut down for good...
SugoiHikouki likes this.
Zorak is online now  
Old Jun 28, 22, 8:36 am
  #2306  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PIT
Programs: UA 1K, OZ Diamond
Posts: 8,671
Is there any way to filter out LGT fares on UA/*A? I tried doing f ~..-LGT but it just whirls and never loads. Any other ideas?
dinoscool3 is online now  
Old Jul 6, 22, 3:53 pm
  #2307  
Company Representative - ITA Software
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 358
Hey all --

Originally Posted by Zorak View Post
I tried bumping this in May
Yes, this is on my list of top bugs to fix. I apologize that we haven't been able to fix it so far.
SugoiHikouki and Zorak like this.
ITA Hacker is offline  
Old Jul 14, 22, 9:41 am
  #2308  
Company Representative - ITA Software
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 358
Originally Posted by dinoscool3 View Post
Is there any way to filter out LGT fares on UA/*A? I tried doing f ~..-LGT but it just whirls and never loads. Any other ideas?
I tried this and it seems to work -- I get results back, and none of the UA itineraries use -LGT fares. Can you provide a more-specific recipe to reproduce this?
ITA Hacker is offline  
Old Jul 14, 22, 9:44 am
  #2309  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PIT
Programs: UA 1K, OZ Diamond
Posts: 8,671
Originally Posted by ITA Hacker View Post
I tried this and it seems to work -- I get results back, and none of the UA itineraries use -LGT fares. Can you provide a more-specific recipe to reproduce this?
Sorry, meant to leave an update, it works fine now, no idea what was happening before.
dinoscool3 is online now  
Old Jul 18, 22, 5:49 am
  #2310  
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by IAkH View Post

[0.55.4] - 2022-06-30

Edited by IAkH
  • fixed Turkish Airlines link (unfortunately, they no longer appear to have a deeplink despite its name)
  • added GotoGate and FlightHub links
Hi, I'm trying to use ITA Matrix to book Turkish flights. It's offering some great prices, but they are not bookable either on the Turkish website (even manually putting them in after your tweak above), or on any of the powertools sites. Well actually 1 works - budgetair, but looking at their feedback on trustpilot uk it seems as though many people booking Turkish run into problems with this company due to the flights they thought they had booked not actually being delivered.
None of the other sites that the powertools pump the data through to actually come up with the price ITA Matrix quotes.

So the question is, does the ITA Matrix software actually check flights that are live and available, or could it be that they are flights that are already full ??
Sorry if this is a nooby question, but it's a powerful site that is not much use if the theory can't be converted into a ticket.
BritishFlyBoy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread