Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ITA Software Matrix Airfare Search Consolidated Information and Help Thread

ITA Software Matrix Airfare Search Consolidated Information and Help Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Apr 7, 21, 2:51 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: TWA884
Wiki Link
ITA Matrix Search: http://matrix.itasoftware.com

You can sometimes see flights, fares and detailed fare rules that may not be reflected on an airline's website. Please read the thread for some tips and tricks, screen shots, etc.

A related thread, ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK, discusses a user script which is maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Additional details and tips on the use of ITA's advanced routing code feature can be found in the following long-standing Mileage Run Discussion threads:

Print Wikipost

Old Apr 19, 18, 8:46 am
  #1576  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,864
Edit: Completely misread the question. Thought it was out in J, back in Y. I agree with Globaliser.

Last edited by Calchas; Apr 19, 18 at 8:58 am
Calchas is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 11:36 am
  #1577  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,148
Thank you both. I'll look further into it but I suspect you're both correct.
PAL62V is offline  
Old Apr 22, 18, 10:34 am
  #1578  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 154
Are some AA fares not showing up or is it just me?

Seeing various good fares between East Coast and Europe on the AA site but not on ITA.
flyercity is offline  
Old Apr 22, 18, 1:22 pm
  #1579  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,864
Originally Posted by flyercity View Post
Are some AA fares not showing up or is it just me?

Seeing various good fares between East Coast and Europe on the AA site but not on ITA.
Which fare in particular?
Calchas is offline  
Old Apr 22, 18, 3:06 pm
  #1580  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 154
Lots of different fares, e.g. NYC-FRA, lots of good fares on AA, nothing on ITA, and neither on Google Flights.

Just saw that there is a similar issue with flights to SE Asia, say, ex YYZ.

Seems like ITA isn't capturing all of the AA routes and fares.
flyercity is offline  
Old Apr 22, 18, 3:12 pm
  #1581  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,864
Originally Posted by flyercity View Post
Lots of different fares, e.g. NYC-FRA, lots of good fares on AA, nothing on ITA, and neither on Google Flights.

Just saw that there is a similar issue with flights to SE Asia, say, ex YYZ.

Seems like ITA isn't capturing all of the AA routes and fares.
An air carrier can restrict certain fares to be sold only by selected agents, including just itself. ITA only shows public fares.

CX does this a lot.
Calchas is offline  
Old Apr 23, 18, 8:01 am
  #1582  
Company Representative - ITA Software
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 358
Even if matrix does not match the carrier website (because, as Calchas said, we only show public fares there), Google Flights should. If you can PM me particular examples I will look into them.
Calchas likes this.
ITA Hacker is offline  
Old Apr 23, 18, 6:00 pm
  #1583  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Happily living in Frenaros Cyprus having escaped the near-death experience called Sofia Bulgaria
Programs: Etihad Guest Gold, DL FO and 1MM, and a bunch of others at a low level
Posts: 2,026
I've been researching RIX-IST-LAX/JFK-IST-RIX on ITA matrix to take advantage of some nice TK business class fares (also CAI-IST-LAX/JFK-IST-CAI) and ITA matrix shows availability but when I go to book them on TK or any of the major on-line TAs, I go through the entire booking process and when I actually go to buy I get a message saying that the fare class is not available and the price jumps over $1000. Why is this happening? This is a huge waste of my time - trying to book something that I think is available but actually isn't. Is there a way to avoid this? I've spent hours trying to come up with a bookable itinerary. Arghhhhh
STBCypriot is offline  
Old Apr 30, 18, 6:22 am
  #1584  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: LON
Programs: FB Gold, SPG Plat
Posts: 106
Anyone knows how to specify "Premium economy" using +CLASS faring option?
Dlougach is offline  
Old Apr 30, 18, 9:55 am
  #1585  
Company Representative - ITA Software
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 358
+cabin premium-coach

should work. The name used by our internal debugging tool that happens to be exposed on matrix is a holdover from 2006...
Calchas and fuyao like this.
ITA Hacker is offline  
Old May 1, 18, 5:47 pm
  #1586  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 114
Wrong airline name shown for fuel surcharge

Has anyone noticed bug on ITA that displays the wrong carrier code on displaying the YQ/YR? Many examples..but a random airline is shown.. see here (EK YQ shown as 9w). This is just one examples, there are several and for all arilines.. I tested AF,KL,LX,EY,etc.

flv likes this.

Last edited by andydd; May 1, 18 at 5:49 pm Reason: image shown as gibberish text!
andydd is offline  
Old May 1, 18, 7:45 pm
  #1587  
flv
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by andydd View Post
Has anyone noticed bug on ITA that displays the wrong carrier code on displaying the YQ/YR? Many examples..but a random airline is shown.. see here (EK YQ shown as 9w). This is just one examples, there are several and for all arilines.. I tested AF,KL,LX,EY,etc.
Yes i noticed too.
It seems ita shows YQ of the cheapest flight in the matrix.

What script are you using that shows classe in that way?
flv is offline  
Old May 2, 18, 2:28 am
  #1588  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: MIL
Posts: 9
Did anyone also notice that is now impossible to make a search for multiple airports from different countries?
For exampleITA gave error for a search from mxp, cdg to jfk.

Hope is only a temporary bug.
ukflo likes this.
Inxs74 is offline  
Old May 2, 18, 2:35 am
  #1589  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,523
Yup, same problem here.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old May 2, 18, 5:58 am
  #1590  
Hilton 25+ BadgeMarriott 10+ Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,816
Originally Posted by STBCypriot View Post
I've been researching RIX-IST-LAX/JFK-IST-RIX on ITA matrix to take advantage of some nice TK business class fares (also CAI-IST-LAX/JFK-IST-CAI) and ITA matrix shows availability but when I go to book them on TK or any of the major on-line TAs, I go through the entire booking process and when I actually go to buy I get a message saying that the fare class is not available and the price jumps over $1000. Why is this happening? This is a huge waste of my time - trying to book something that I think is available but actually isn't. Is there a way to avoid this? I've spent hours trying to come up with a bookable itinerary. Arghhhhh
Yeah, I had the same issue a couple of times...it will just not spit out the fare as found on ITA on any websites with the script. To me sounds like some phantom availability or delayed updated availability to the ITA? Would be nice if someone can explain why this is.

Cheers!
nldogbert is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread