Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ExpertFlyer.com Help Desk Thread

ExpertFlyer.com Help Desk Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 21, 19, 12:38 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: IMH
Wiki Link
If you see the message "An unknown or unexpected error has occurred. Please contact us if this problem persists." while using ExpertFlyer, please contact ExpertFlyer support by email immediately so the problem may be resolved most quickly: [email protected]

This is a community-maintained wiki, it is not necessarily endorsed by ExpertFlyer.
Print Wikipost

Old Jul 7, 12, 6:47 am
  #61  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: United MileagePlus & FlyerTalk Cares
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1.7 MM/Plat; AS MVP 75K; AA gold; Fairmont & Starwood platinum; Hyatt diamond; Kimpton IC Elite
Posts: 17,356
Please follow this in the Travel Tools forum.


l'etoile
UA moderator
l'etoile is offline  
Old Jul 7, 12, 4:55 pm
  #62  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,387
The issue will be addressed with our next update. Please send all bug reports or questions about how to use ExpertFlyer to [email protected] Thank you.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Old Jul 13, 12, 12:58 am
  #63  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,336
I have a question. When I'm searching for fare availability, is it possible to show all fares for that day (when I need to select the time of day). Someone suggested selecting 12:00AM, but doing that only gave me flights before noon, when I know there are mor flights later in the day.

I am on the trial membership right now and considering subscribing to premium, but this is really annoying as I have to do each search multiple times with different times of the day.

Thanks.
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Jul 13, 12, 10:03 am
  #64  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,387
Originally Posted by Apieinthesky View Post
I have a question. When I'm searching for fare availability, is it possible to show all fares for that day (when I need to select the time of day). Someone suggested selecting 12:00AM, but doing that only gave me flights before noon, when I know there are mor flights later in the day.

I am on the trial membership right now and considering subscribing to premium, but this is really annoying as I have to do each search multiple times with different times of the day.

Thanks.
If you mean Flight Availability, then if the GDS we're using for that search allows it, we can sometimes show a Get More Results link under the list of flights in which case you can use that. Otherwise no, you would have to either change the time of day, or narrow your search by specifying airlines or a specific connecting city.

Here's a tip, the "No Interline" and "At least X Connection" options force the system to use a GDS that returns more results then the default one. If you can use one of those options, that's an easy way to see more flights.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Old Jul 13, 12, 12:13 pm
  #65  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WAS
Posts: 2,928
Originally Posted by ExpertFlyer Voice View Post
If you mean Flight Availability, then if the GDS we're using for that search allows it, we can sometimes show a Get More Results link under the list of flights in which case you can use that.
Out of curiosity, under what conditions will the Get More Results link show?
cmn.jcs is offline  
Old Jul 13, 12, 1:05 pm
  #66  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,387
Originally Posted by cmn.jcs View Post
Out of curiosity, under what conditions will the Get More Results link show?
It varies based on GDS used and the quantity and type of results, however it is not something that we control.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Old Jul 23, 12, 9:51 am
  #67  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 31
New to Expert Flyer

So I have been playing around with Expert Flyer trying to figure out the ins and outs. The latest thing I am trying to understand is the Fare Information tab. I understand that the fares displayed are for filed fares and do not include taxes/fees. What I have been doing is flipping between Expert Flyer and ITA to get an idea of what an all in fare would be. The example I am playing with today is a flight from ORD-EZE on 04/25/13 returning 05/13/12. One of the fares displayed, ULX28VNQ, has a r/t price listed as $728. So off to ITA I go, to try to find that and get an accurate idea of the cost all in. ITA displays that booking class, but it does not show the same base round trip fare. Instead it shows ord-eze as $644 and eze-ord as $669. when I played around with other flights, say ord-lhr, the fares displayed on ITA match those i find on Expert Flyer. For example, the base fare of $213 was shown on ITA as two legs at $106.50. Made sense.

What am I doing wrong?

Last edited by csd97tj; Jul 23, 12 at 10:14 am Reason: wrong spot, my apologies! Mods, please move or delete
csd97tj is offline  
Old Jul 23, 12, 9:29 pm
  #68  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,387
Originally Posted by csd97tj View Post
So I have been playing around with Expert Flyer trying to figure out the ins and outs. The latest thing I am trying to understand is the Fare Information tab. I understand that the fares displayed are for filed fares and do not include taxes/fees. What I have been doing is flipping between Expert Flyer and ITA to get an idea of what an all in fare would be. The example I am playing with today is a flight from ORD-EZE on 04/25/13 returning 05/13/12. One of the fares displayed, ULX28VNQ, has a r/t price listed as $728. So off to ITA I go, to try to find that and get an accurate idea of the cost all in. ITA displays that booking class, but it does not show the same base round trip fare. Instead it shows ord-eze as $644 and eze-ord as $669. when I played around with other flights, say ord-lhr, the fares displayed on ITA match those i find on Expert Flyer. For example, the base fare of $213 was shown on ITA as two legs at $106.50. Made sense.

What am I doing wrong?
The difference may be fuel surcharges. ExpertFlyer does not price out specific flights or itineraries whereas ITA does. As such sometimes the GDS we use to display the fare tariffs can't include the fuel surcharges in the "base" fare returned as it is based on the actually flights flown. Click the Show Fares Without Surcharges option on the results page to see if the price goes down, then you know if surcharges were applied or not.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Old Jul 24, 12, 6:48 am
  #69  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 31
I clicked the show without surcharges and there was no change.
I'll keep playing around with it.

Thanks for the help!
csd97tj is offline  
Old Aug 9, 12, 9:30 pm
  #70  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: DFW
Programs: AA - EXP
Posts: 1,211
ExpertFlyer not showing all flights

I'm currently trying to find another flight LAX-ATL-PIT and I know for a fact EF isn't showing all itineraries under "Flight Availability." How do I know? My current flight isn't on there. :-(

Am I doing something wrong?

Searching for LAX-PIT with a connection in ATL on DL 9-15-2012.

As a side, is there any way to order the flights chronologically?
MichaelKade is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 10:42 am
  #71  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,387
Originally Posted by MichaelKade View Post
I'm currently trying to find another flight LAX-ATL-PIT and I know for a fact EF isn't showing all itineraries under "Flight Availability." How do I know? My current flight isn't on there. :-(

Am I doing something wrong?

Searching for LAX-PIT with a connection in ATL on DL 9-15-2012.

As a side, is there any way to order the flights chronologically?
If there are many flight options, not all can be shown at once as the reservation systems only return a limited amount of flights at a time. If you know the time of departure, set it in the search. If you need further assistance, please email us for help.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Old Aug 15, 12, 1:45 pm
  #72  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: DFW
Programs: AA - EXP
Posts: 1,211
ExpertFlyer Fare Information

Not displaying the fares despite checking dates/fare codes. Any advice?
MichaelKade is offline  
Old Aug 15, 12, 7:05 pm
  #73  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hawaii
Programs: AA PLT, AAdv since Day One
Posts: 2,572
Your statement is very non-specific, especially since I am seeing fare information for some sample routes I just tried, such as JFK-LAX in Sept and Oct.

Suggest you email EF customer care with route, date and airline specifics.
inlanikai is offline  
Old Aug 20, 12, 7:56 pm
  #74  
Moderator, All Nippon Airways and Japan
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: TYO
Programs: NH DIA+SFC (*G), JL JGP (OWE), HGP D, HH D, IHG SE
Posts: 3,835
When searching for carrier-specific and IATA normal fares, I've noticed that carriers will often issue two fares (e.g. two C fares) with the exact same rules at very different prices. When I try to construct an itinerary using said fare in ITA, invariably the higher fare is used. (Nothing is returned when I try to force the lower fare basis to be used.)

Why are multiple fares displayed like this in EF, and why would a reservation system ignore the lower fare?
armagebedar is offline  
Old Aug 20, 12, 8:59 pm
  #75  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,387
Originally Posted by armagebedar View Post
When searching for carrier-specific and IATA normal fares, I've noticed that carriers will often issue two fares (e.g. two C fares) with the exact same rules at very different prices. When I try to construct an itinerary using said fare in ITA, invariably the higher fare is used. (Nothing is returned when I try to force the lower fare basis to be used.)

Why are multiple fares displayed like this in EF, and why would a reservation system ignore the lower fare?
Did you check for differences in the routing rules? Are you comparing 2 YY fares or a YY fare to a carrier fare? Carriers don't issue YY fares, they are common to all applicable carriers.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread