Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ExpertFlyer.com Help Desk Thread

ExpertFlyer.com Help Desk Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 21, 19, 12:38 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: IMH
Wiki Link
If you see the message "An unknown or unexpected error has occurred. Please contact us if this problem persists." while using ExpertFlyer, please contact ExpertFlyer support by email immediately so the problem may be resolved most quickly: [email protected]

This is a community-maintained wiki, it is not necessarily endorsed by ExpertFlyer.
Print Wikipost

Old Nov 15, 12, 1:29 pm
  #136  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,397
Originally Posted by anabolism View Post
Just curious: did you get the alerts via email or SMS? If email, can you do a 'view full headers' and see the timestamp of the lowest-down 'Received:' header field in each of the two alerts? I'm wondering if the three-hour delay was because each of your two alerts checked at different times, or if they checked together but there was a delay in getting the notice to you.
All alerts operate on their own schedule, so most likely the former.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Old Nov 15, 12, 1:36 pm
  #137  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: TPA Bay area
Posts: 448
Thanks--both the spouse and I are becoming familiar and neither of us noticed that. Guess we need to clean our glasses.
elizadoo is offline  
Old Nov 15, 12, 6:09 pm
  #138  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EXP), Hilton (Diamond), SPG (lowly Gold)
Posts: 7,212
Originally Posted by ExpertFlyer Voice View Post
All alerts operate on their own schedule.
Interesting implementation choice. Given that each query presumably costs you something, I'd have guessed that you'd have a table of flights to query (generated from the table of individual queries), so you'd only need to query each flight once no matter how many queries were set for it. (Just another example of how easy it is to be quite wrong when making guesses about things from the outside )
anabolism is online now  
Old Nov 17, 12, 8:13 am
  #139  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Help! Expertflyer is inaccurate?

I just paid for a pro expert flyer subscription and is in the process of testing it out. I encountered the following problem. I'm trying to book a flight from EWR-PEK roundtrip and EF showed availability in K class for both outbound and return flights. When I go to ITA the cheapest tickets it could find for the exact same flight is in W class, which is 150% more expensive. How could EF show K9 (meaning more than 9 seats available in K class) and ITA not find any of them? I have attached the screenshots, check out UA 88 on 2/2.


https://s3.amazonaws.com/public-img-88/ExpertFlyer.png
https://s3.amazonaws.com/public-img-88/ITA-Matrix.png

Last edited by Prospero; Nov 17, 12 at 10:48 am Reason: Convert oversized image from [IMG] to [URL]
jz87 is offline  
Old Nov 17, 12, 10:37 am
  #140  
Senior Moderator/Moderator: United MileagePlus
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Programs: UA Plat/2MM [23-yr. 1K, now emeritus] WN-A List; MR LT Titanium; HY Whateverist.
Posts: 12,095
[Deleted as moot after thread moved to this forum. O V 1K.]

Last edited by Ocn Vw 1K; Nov 17, 12 at 10:52 am Reason: Moot after thread merger.
Ocn Vw 1K is offline  
Old Nov 17, 12, 10:46 am
  #141  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: HOU
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K
Posts: 277
Is there a valid fare in K class for 2/2/13?

A quick look at the UA fares for EWR-PEK (in Expertflyer) seems to indicate that all K fares require midweek travel.

Code:
DAY/TIME: PERMITTED MON THROUGH THU ON EACH TRANSPACIFIC SECTOR.
So there is availability in K class, but no fare that is valid.
croberts134 is offline  
Old Nov 25, 12, 12:13 pm
  #142  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AA ex-P, Hyatt whatever tier 2 is now, credit card elite in the usual suspects
Posts: 1,715
When searching for availability in a particular award class (T on AA, for example) some flights don't even appear, whereas others appear with an inventory of 0. Adding more classes, I get stuff like this for one flight:

F7 Z1 Y7 T0

And this for others:

F7 Z2 Y7

What's the difference between T0 and T not appear at all?
djibouti is online now  
Old Nov 25, 12, 6:14 pm
  #143  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hawaii
Programs: AA PLT, AAdv since Day One
Posts: 2,572
Originally Posted by djibouti View Post
When searching for availability in a particular award class (T on AA, for example) some flights don't even appear, whereas others appear with an inventory of 0. Adding more classes, I get stuff like this for one flight:

F7 Z1 Y7 T0

And this for others:

F7 Z2 Y7

What's the difference between T0 and T not appear at all?
Assuming you are using the Award and Upgrade tool and not the the Flight Availability tool, when a route for a given date has no availability for a given class later than two flights that are zero then the GDS will no longer return any availability for that route for the requested class.

For instance, take a route with many flights on a given day, say DFW-LGA on AA. Maybe the first two flights have T availability and that inventory will be shown. If all remaining flights for that day have no T inventory then the GDS will show the next two flights as T0 and show nothing for T for the remaining flights that day.
inlanikai is offline  
Old Nov 25, 12, 10:26 pm
  #144  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AA ex-P, Hyatt whatever tier 2 is now, credit card elite in the usual suspects
Posts: 1,715
Originally Posted by inlanikai View Post
Assuming you are using the Award and Upgrade tool and not the the Flight Availability tool
Yes, i am referring to the Award and Upgrade tool.

If all remaining flights for that day have no T inventory then the GDS will show the next two flights as T0 and show nothing for T for the remaining flights that day.
I'm curious why they would do it that way. What if I want to see later flights and set an alert for one of them?
djibouti is online now  
Old Nov 25, 12, 11:42 pm
  #145  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,397
Originally Posted by djibouti View Post
When searching for availability in a particular award class (T on AA, for example) some flights don't even appear, whereas others appear with an inventory of 0. Adding more classes, I get stuff like this for one flight:

F7 Z1 Y7 T0

And this for others:

F7 Z2 Y7

What's the difference between T0 and T not appear at all?
Hi djibouti, as noted on the Help for the Award & Upgrade results page under the AA section:

•Sometimes American will return just two flights where the requested award seat availability is zero on both flights, even when there are later non-stop/direct flights scheduled. This is American's way of indicating that none of the later flights have available inventory for the request class either.
Originally Posted by djibouti View Post
I'm curious why they would do it that way. What if I want to see later flights and set an alert for one of them?

So the later flights are T0 and you can see that for yourself by advancing the time of day of the search. You can easily create alerts for later flights by either a) creating the alert via the Flight Availability results, b) adding an "Other" fare class to the Award search, such as Y, that will always be returned for a flight, thereby making the later flights show in the results, or c) using the Create New Flight Alert page if you know the flight number.

Why do they do it that way? The host systems are designed to return results that are useful and you can't sell tickets with no inventory available, so if there are too many 0 inventory flights in a row they are skipped.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Old Nov 25, 12, 11:48 pm
  #146  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AA ex-P, Hyatt whatever tier 2 is now, credit card elite in the usual suspects
Posts: 1,715
Thank you for the explanation and the work-around suggestion.
djibouti is online now  
Old Nov 29, 12, 12:12 pm
  #147  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AA ex-P, Hyatt whatever tier 2 is now, credit card elite in the usual suspects
Posts: 1,715
I believe "R" is the class code for coach-business class upgrades on a domestic 3-class flights. That code doesn't appear at all for tonight's flights--for example, AA 18 SFO-JFK, 11/29/12 10:30 PM.

Does that mean that there's no availability for coach to business upgrades, or am I misunderstanding something?

Thanks!
djibouti is online now  
Old Nov 29, 12, 1:01 pm
  #148  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,397
Originally Posted by djibouti View Post
I believe "R" is the class code for coach-business class upgrades on a domestic 3-class flights. That code doesn't appear at all for tonight's flights--for example, AA 18 SFO-JFK, 11/29/12 10:30 PM.

Does that mean that there's no availability for coach to business upgrades, or am I misunderstanding something?

Thanks!
X/R classes were hidden by AA back in June: http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...-5-2012-a.html

C is the Business upgrade class using miles or E-Vip's (which is visible on ExpertFlyer). R is the upgrade class for 500-mile stickers and EXP status.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 8:04 pm
  #149  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: By the landing strip.
Programs: UA, DL, AA, SPG
Posts: 1,605
Question re ExpertFlyer

I was trying to book two business class tickets on Alitalia (Z class). The flight I wanted had Z1 U1 (U being coach award inventory). So I booked one of each with the intent of moving up to Z if/when a space opened up.

But now that availability on that flight is U0 Z0, ExpertFlyer doesn't show the flight at all when I search the route. Is there a way to "force" it to show that flight, so I can set an alert for EF to e-mail me when Z1?

(Mods, wasn't sure where this should go; please move. Thanks.)
crimson12 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 8:10 pm
  #150  
Four Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fairfield County, CT USA
Programs: AA PLT+2MM / DL DM+1MM / A3 *G / Fairmont LT Plat / Ritz Gold / SPG Gold
Posts: 4,077
Include Y as a fare category in your search.
NYBanker is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread