Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Thoughts about my free iphone app - WhatsApp

Thoughts about my free iphone app - WhatsApp

Old May 20, 14, 9:16 pm
  #181  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ATL/PDK/LZU
Programs: DL KM, GlobalEntry, TSA Pre✓, CLEAR, Honors Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,848
Originally Posted by Ory View Post
Because if you use Whatspp you are nothing but the property of Facebook, which owns Whatsapp, you, your voice, your photos and everything about you including the size of your penis/ladyparts.

Whatsapp is Skynet.
I made this just for you:
sky303 is offline  
Old May 21, 14, 9:35 am
  #182  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,044
Originally Posted by stimpy View Post
How is Whatsapp significantly better than Skype? Especially when you are talking to someone who you already have setup as a contact?
I am not talking about voice/video chat; I only use it for group or 1-1 MMS. WhatsApp is very smooth and works very well with pictures and group txt. I am not even sure if Skype could group txt, but Skype message notification doesn't seem to work most of the time unless you have Skype running in the background. Facebook works better at least with the notification, but you need to setup Facebook account. Oh well it is what it is.
Need is online now  
Old May 21, 14, 11:10 am
  #183  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,067
Originally Posted by Need View Post
I don't understand why WhatsApp cannot be installed on iPads. We have a family of mixed iPhones and Android phones and we all use WhatsApp to group chat. But most of us also got iPads. iMessages go to both iPhones and iPads, so why can't WhatsApp do the same? Facebook Messenger can do the same thing and Facebook owns WhatsApp now.. so why can't WhatsApp run on iPad without going thru jailbreak or a weird process of using ifunbox?
Originally Posted by eyeballer View Post
I think it's purely because your WhatsApp account is based on/linked to your cellphone number. iPads and other wifi or even most LTE tablets don't have the telephony bits to to verify with WhatsApp with your cellphone number. They would need to add some other form of account login for you to use it on multiple devices.
This
joshwex90 is offline  
Old May 21, 14, 1:27 pm
  #184  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,044
Originally Posted by eyeballer View Post
I think it's purely because your WhatsApp account is based on/linked to your cellphone number. iPads and other wifi or even most LTE tablets don't have the telephony bits to to verify with WhatsApp with your cellphone number. They would need to add some other form of account login for you to use it on multiple devices.
All they have to do is to TEXT another code to my phone number and I could just enter it on the iPad app. It is what they will have to do if I switch phone right? I am not trying to set up a new account on the iPad.. just want it to have the same Whatsapp account as the iPhone. Kind of like iMessage goes to both iPhone and iPad using the same account.
Need is online now  
Old May 21, 14, 2:08 pm
  #185  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,067
Originally Posted by Need View Post
All they have to do is to TEXT another code to my phone number and I could just enter it on the iPad app. It is what they will have to do if I switch phone right? I am not trying to set up a new account on the iPad.. just want it to have the same Whatsapp account as the iPhone. Kind of like iMessage goes to both iPhone and iPad using the same account.
Regardless, you can't have the same account on 2 devices (just like you can't have 2 accounts on the same device)
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Jul 19, 14, 11:33 pm
  #186  
Formerly known as FTRox87
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TX
Programs: AA/US 1M, AS, BA, CX, EK, EY, JL, KE, LH, NH, OS, QF, QR, TG, UA/CO | *$G
Posts: 1,428
just came across this thread. wow, all this time WA was created by an FTer and didnt even know. congrats Jan and co!

have a story about how profoundly impactful this app alone has been on some people's lives. my sister for example upgraded her iPhone 3G to a 5S last Fall merely to use WA. she was late to the game and new WA updates caused older devices to not be supported any longer for new installs/accounts. and she was tired of using the iFunBox workaround lol so she went ahead and splurged on a new iDevice JUST to use WA (in her own words.)
FTR 787 is offline  
Old Jul 20, 14, 1:37 pm
  #187  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ TPPS, Hyatt Dia, SPG Gold, Shangri-La(h) Jade
Posts: 216
It's nice....not sure it will catch on though..
SIA747Megatop is offline  
Old Jul 21, 14, 6:50 am
  #188  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,067
Originally Posted by SIA747Megatop View Post
It's nice....not sure it will catch on though..
Not sure WhatsApp will catch on??
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Jul 21, 14, 10:42 am
  #189  
HMO
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 958
Originally Posted by bkafrick View Post
Um, its 99 cents. You really think people create a new account to avoid a 99 cent charge?
I know people who actively avoid to inform their CC# to Apple Store, and only download free apps ^
HMO is offline  
Old Aug 25, 14, 9:46 am
  #190  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 54
Originally Posted by SIA747Megatop View Post
It's nice....not sure it will catch on though..
Methinks this is tongue in cheek, what with WA being sold for $19,000,000,000 and all...
FlyerTalker55 is offline  
Old Aug 25, 14, 9:40 pm
  #191  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVP, Hhonors Gold, National Executive, Identity Gold, MLife Gold
Posts: 2,684
http://www.nbcnews.com/tech/gadgets/...-users-n188381

Confirmed today - 600m ACTIVE users. Wow.
OverThereTooMuch is offline  
Old Aug 25, 14, 10:29 pm
  #192  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Democratic People's Republic of Victoria
Programs: First Time Flyer
Posts: 815
Originally Posted by OverThereTooMuch View Post
http://www.nbcnews.com/tech/gadgets/...-users-n188381

Confirmed today - 600m ACTIVE users. Wow.
10% of the world's population... WOW indeed.


This post has had a lot more comments in the past few months than it did when it was originally posted
penegal is offline  
Old Apr 22, 15, 10:59 am
  #193  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seat 1A, Juice pretty much everywhere, Mucci des Coins Exotiques
Posts: 31,612
I just received my first Whatsapp voice call today. Both parties downloaded the latest IOS update today and the call was between Australia and France. The Australia side was on WiFi and the French side on 4G. The quality was perfect. ^
stimpy is offline  
Old Apr 22, 15, 1:38 pm
  #194  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: M&M
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by stimpy View Post
I just received my first Whatsapp voice call today. Both parties downloaded the latest IOS update today and the call was between Australia and France. The Australia side was on WiFi and the French side on 4G. The quality was perfect. ^
cool, glad it worked well. we are still in the process of rolling out VoIP on iOS and still have a lot of VoIP improvements to make.
jkb76 is offline  
Old Apr 22, 15, 1:49 pm
  #195  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seat 1A, Juice pretty much everywhere, Mucci des Coins Exotiques
Posts: 31,612
Originally Posted by jkb76 View Post
cool, glad it worked well. we are still in the process of rolling out VoIP on iOS and still have a lot of VoIP improvements to make.
Yes I can see that. I did a second call and the echo cancellers failed to kick in. So I could hear my words repeated back to me. Otherwise the quality was fine. So maybe you need to take steps to make sure the echo cancellers are working always in the codecs you use.

But other than that, it seems the fundamentals are fine as far as I can tell.
stimpy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: