Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Potentially big change to T-Mobile's Unlimited International Data Plan

Potentially big change to T-Mobile's Unlimited International Data Plan

Old Apr 9, 09, 7:21 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,077
Potentially big change to T-Mobile's Unlimited International Data Plan

I just received my new T-mobile bill and got charged over $100 for data roaming charges on my BlackBerry Curve 8900.

I am subscribed to T-Mobile's international unlimited data service. I have traveled extensively with my BlackBerry pearl for the last 2 years. I have never been charged data roaming charges (internet or e-mail) while traveling.

For the first time my bill shows 'Internet Access' sporadically where it usually it only shows 'RIM Blackberry'. One was charged at .15/kb the other was not.

Is this a new change for T-mobile for March 2009? Is it because I got a BlackBerry Curve 8900 over a Pearl?

Any thoughts? Has anyone had any similar experiences?

This was a big reason why I was with T-mobile...and I will probably move away from them because of this.
AAaLot is offline  
Old Apr 9, 09, 7:26 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 37,486
This isn't a change, it is T-Mobile fixing their glitch...

The plan was never called "unlimited international data", it was called "BlackBerry Unlimited International E-mail".

For years email and Internet data were billed the same - I guess they finally found a way to extract the right information to bill people.

Thanks for the warning though, I'm sure a lot of us relied on that plan for free international access to any data...

And why move away from them because of this? Good luck finding a similar plan elsewhere

AT&T is $24.95 for 20MB...
ScottC is offline  
Old Apr 9, 09, 8:54 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greater DC
Programs: UA plus
Posts: 12,940
Now I really have to get the UMA issues with my curve 8900 worked out as I'll be relying on it to avoid any charges when I travel.
GoingAway is offline  
Old Apr 9, 09, 10:27 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Programs: UA 1K MM, Hilton Diamond, SPG lifetime Gold
Posts: 350
Which countries?

I wasn't charged for data use while roaming in Switzerland and Germany in early March.
entrada is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 12:34 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KBOS
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 881
Got a hefty charge in Thailand but not Singapore, Hong Kong and China.
Peregrine415 is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 6:43 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Programs: CO Gold; SPG Gold***; AvisFirst;
Posts: 3,970
Originally Posted by entrada View Post
I wasn't charged for data use while roaming in Switzerland and Germany in early March.
I was in Switzerland late last year. The charges take a few weeks to show up.
mbreuer is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 7:04 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tri-State Area
Posts: 4,733
Every few months when I go overseas, would call TMO to add the international data plan.... everytime I do this, CS specifically tells me email is unlimited but be careful about surfing internet, etc. as this is not covered and will be billed separately. They also advise to turn off voicemail as each one of these are billed at $1.49.
dtsm is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 7:20 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,548
Does it matter how your data is going through the system. Obviously connections to tcp data are going to be charged, but what about data using the BIS or BES connections?
Dubai Stu is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 7:44 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greater DC
Programs: UA plus
Posts: 12,940
Originally Posted by dtsm View Post
Every few months when I go overseas, would call TMO to add the international data plan.... everytime I do this, CS specifically tells me email is unlimited but be careful about surfing internet, etc. as this is not covered and will be billed separately. They also advise to turn off voicemail as each one of these are billed at $1.49.
Turn "off" voicemail? Receipt of a voicemail costs money?

I usually forward the calls to voice mail and then use the phone to notify me when there is a message (which I then access using a local sim or calling card) - will this not work with the BB?
GoingAway is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 7:55 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 574
From the discussion below, they have fixed their system now and have started to charge correctly.

http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...6&page=1&pp=30
mrcamp is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 7:56 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Programs: CO Gold; SPG Gold***; AvisFirst;
Posts: 3,970
Originally Posted by GoingAway View Post
Turn "off" voicemail? Receipt of a voicemail costs money?

I usually forward the calls to voice mail and then use the phone to notify me when there is a message (which I then access using a local sim or calling card) - will this not work with the BB?
If the phone rings before the call is forwarded, you're charged for the incoming call.
mbreuer is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 8:00 am
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greater DC
Programs: UA plus
Posts: 12,940
Originally Posted by mbreuer View Post
If the phone rings before the call is forwarded, you're charged for the incoming call.
Right, which is why I forward all calls direct to voice mail but that warning looked like it was receipt of voice mail, NOT a phone call which incurred a fee.
GoingAway is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 8:06 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tri-State Area
Posts: 4,733
Originally Posted by mrcamp View Post
From the discussion below, they have fixed their system now and have started to charge correctly.

http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...6&page=1&pp=30
Good catch and here is the specific post on that thread which clearly explains how they fixed it:
http://www.howardforums.com/showpost...1&postcount=32

Originally Posted by mbreuer View Post
If the phone rings before the call is forwarded, you're charged for the incoming call.
Yes, I think that's what TMO CS was trying to explain to me
dtsm is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 8:27 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 781
Originally Posted by dtsm View Post
Every few months when I go overseas, would call TMO to add the international data plan
Yep, me too.

Originally Posted by dtsm View Post
.... everytime I do this, CS specifically tells me email is unlimited but be careful about surfing internet, etc. as this is not covered and will be billed separately.
Dozens of trips abroad and they never gave me such a warning and I never saw a charge on my bill (then again, very rarely surfed internet using BB). Most recent trip, they gave me this warning. For me, it was email only, thank you very much. Stuck to web surfing on a laptop via WiFi.

I guess I better reconsider that unlocked iPhone using a T-Mobile SIM to surf away while abroad.
jsnydcsa is offline  
Old Apr 10, 09, 8:34 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tri-State Area
Posts: 4,733
Originally Posted by jsnydcsa View Post
Yep, me too.

I guess I better reconsider that unlocked iPhone using a T-Mobile SIM to surf away while abroad.
Personally I'd seldom surf internet or check google with my BB 8820 when abroad and just to make sure would hide these apps/icons.

I am curious about how you can surf with unlocked iPhone using TMO sim when overseas - don't you mean using wifi? And if so, you don't need sim card to do that...
dtsm is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: