Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Internet access question in SEA (Southeast Asia)

Internet access question in SEA (Southeast Asia)

Old Sep 22, 19, 6:10 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 24
Internet access question in SEA (Southeast Asia)

I am traveling to Cambodia and Thailand and I plan on buying a sim card in each country when I arrive. I won't be using it for phone calls much, mostly just for internet access (I use google maps for directions). Do I need to purchase any special plans for this?
Cliff358 is offline  
Old Sep 24, 19, 7:02 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,699
OK, 270 views and no responses. That should tell you something.

I will venture to say that you should buy a data plan.

There are also many multi-country SIMs out there. There are a few threads on them.

If your phone is eSIM-capable you can also get a virtual SIM from Ubigi or its ilk and buy a data plan that works in both countries.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Sep 24, 19, 7:12 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 24
Yes, I had come to that same conclusion. I'm unfamiliar with multi-country sims. I will have to check into them. I have a Samsung S7 so I assume it is eSIM capable. Never heard of eSIMS either so I guess I will have to look into them also. Thanks for the feedback.
Cliff358 is offline  
Old Sep 24, 19, 7:21 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,699
I don't believe the S7 has an eSIM.

Check out the threads on multi-country SIMs for more.

Or just buy a new SIM in each country.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Sep 24, 19, 12:06 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 731
How long are you going to be in each country ?

First sign up for the LINE app since most people use that ,

You can get a Sim card at arrivals at the Airport , I would get phone / text/ data as its real cheap ,
I believe all the Thai phone companies have roaming in Cambodia , not sure the other way around ,

You can get an AIS sim on Amazon thats good for a week , or 2 weeks ,
LAXlocal is offline  
Old Sep 24, 19, 3:37 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 24
I am going to be in Cambodia for a week and Thailand for 10 days. I think I'm just going to get a sim in each country. It might not be the cheapest route but it should be the easiest. I'm afraid I don't know anybody that uses the LINE app and I don't intend to make any phone calls. I just want to be able to use google maps while I'm there. Thanks for the input though.
Cliff358 is offline  
Old Oct 1, 19, 6:58 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Milwaukee
Programs: DL PM; Hilton G; Marriott G; SPG G
Posts: 2
Who is your carrier? I use T-mobile, and it was about $15 for international data for a month. You can turn it on when you leave and turn it off when you get back home. You will find free wi-fi everywhere. I use it for FaceTime calls. I no longer deal with the hassle of buying SIM cards. The free data an texting worked just find.
worldwidedreamer likes this.
George of the Jungle is offline  
Old Oct 2, 19, 8:25 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 24
I don't have a carrier. My daughter gave me an S7 that she doesn't use anymore so I was going to buy a sim card when I got there. I don't really need it for phone calls. I am just going to use google maps for directions and to check-in with e-tickets mostly.
Cliff358 is offline  
Old Oct 3, 19, 3:28 pm
  #9  

2019 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco & Squaw Valley
Programs: Giants Ballpark Pass. Lifetime Ambassador Club. WN A+/CP, AS MVP, UA Gold, Marriott Platinum.
Posts: 3,006
Originally Posted by George of the Jungle View Post
Who is your carrier? I use T-mobile, and it was about $15 for international data for a month. You can turn it on when you leave and turn it off when you get back home. You will find free wi-fi everywhere. I use it for FaceTime calls. I no longer deal with the hassle of buying SIM cards. The free data an texting worked just find.
As a postpaid US T-mobile customer, I rarely bother with paying for data while overseas. Between cached Google Maps and wifi I actually appreciate that the slower load times force me to pay attention to my surroundings.
Jaimito Cartero likes this.
worldwidedreamer is offline  
Old Oct 4, 19, 3:39 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 731
Originally Posted by Cliff358 View Post
I don't have a carrier. My daughter gave me an S7 that she doesn't use anymore so I was going to buy a sim card when I got there. I don't really need it for phone calls. I am just going to use google maps for directions and to check-in with e-tickets mostly.
Do check that the S7 is unlocked ,so you can use it on other carriers than who your daughter bought it from ....
LAXlocal is offline  
Old Oct 4, 19, 6:04 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 24
Her carrier is Verizon. I stopped by and spoke to one of their techs. He said their phones are all unlocked now and all I had to do was drop a new sim in it and it should work fine. Thanks.
Cliff358 is offline  
Old Oct 5, 19, 12:17 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA plat, spg plat, aa plat, marriott plat
Posts: 3,203
Originally Posted by Cliff358 View Post
Her carrier is Verizon. I stopped by and spoke to one of their techs. He said their phones are all unlocked now a.nd all I had to do was drop a new sim in it and it should work fine. Thanks.
This doesn't mean yours is unlocked unless it was purchased recently. S7 is a model that is a few years old and I don't know how long Verizon has been selling unlocked phones although this article suggests it has been a while
https://www.whistleout.com/CellPhone...nlocking-guide
IME single country sims are cheaper (and usually work better) than multiple country sims so I like your plan.
esim's didn't start until recently and s7 is too old for it to have one

Last edited by estnet; Oct 5, 19 at 12:23 am
estnet is offline  
Old Oct 5, 19, 10:52 pm
  #13  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 11,786
Originally Posted by estnet View Post
This doesn't mean yours is unlocked unless it was purchased recently. S7 is a model that is a few years old and I don't know how long Verizon has been selling unlocked phones although this article suggests it has been a while
All of Verizon's 4G LTE phones are unlocked. It was a condition imposed in 2007 by the FCC on Verizon when it purchased the spectrum that was needed to run its 4G LTE network. Recently, the FCC permitted Verizon to lock newly purchased phones for 60 days after which the phones will automatically unlock.
estnet likes this.
TWA884 is offline  
Old Oct 5, 19, 10:57 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DL Silver, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, BW Diamond
Posts: 26,037
I have a cheap Tmobile plan, and find the data in Asia to be ok for checking things when Iím out of the hotel. Itís been a very long time since I had to buy a SIM when visiting a country.
Jaimito Cartero is offline  
Old Oct 6, 19, 3:33 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HEL
Programs: lots of shiny metal cards
Posts: 8,482
A local sim in Vietnam with unlimited (?) 4G data is like $3 for a week. There are several booths at Saigon airport right after customs, shop around - their prices might vary by $1 or so
WilcoRoger is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread