Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Am I screwed - Skype - what the heck

Am I screwed - Skype - what the heck

Old Aug 30, 19, 10:30 pm
  #1  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Programs: UALifetimePremierGold, Marriott LifetimeTitanium
Posts: 66,244
Am I screwed - Skype - what the heck

I used to be active on Skype but not in (ok 2 years).

Decide to Skype a FT friend & did a week ago. All contacts showing. But before I did, some message re: current Skype being out of date & to upgrade which I think I ignored. Spent 30 minutes w/ FT friend. No worries. See other contacts online on Skype, Again, no worries.

Yesterday I decide to try & Skype another friend & it again says my version no longer supported & to update. So I did - expecting my handle & all my contacts to go w/ the update. Color me surprised, stunned, upset, when after the update I have zero contacts & even the way of finding me is not via my name or handle but some bs about live.................. (periods mine & not FT) & not the way people used to find me before. Heck, even now trying to find my friends & biz colleagues not the same as before.

Is there anyway of getting all my contacts back from pre-upgrade? Also, is there anyway of having my contact not be live........................?

Thank you Microsoft - not.

PS - you all know (well the long term FTers know) I'm not technically literate(understatement of century) but when I update things (other software) everything transfers over. What the heck this time?

Cheers.
SkiAdcock is offline  
Old Aug 31, 19, 12:57 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In theory near BHD or ABZ, but usually a hotel in another country
Programs: Seniors Bus Pass, BA Silver
Posts: 5,003
Just checked my Skype - had to turn on and sign in as I tend to predominantly use other call systems now.

Sent you a message on Skype, but will try and call and assist but don't know what has happened to your system. At a guess the software asks for access to your contacts and you will have to give that consent before they appear.

On the Skype home page there will be a picture representing you (on iphone it is in middle at the top of the page). Tap to enter. At bottom on the next page is "Settings", tap that ans then on next page is "Contacts". Go to that and there is a "Sync your contacts" slide. Put that on and see what happens!

The reference to "live" is a microsoft thing. Thinking back, about a year or so ago when I tried to sign into skype it required me to sign up for a "microsoft live" account whereas before that I had just signed in with a user name. You are still appearing with the same user name.

Last edited by antichef; Aug 31, 19 at 4:43 pm
antichef is offline  
Old Aug 31, 19, 1:11 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 30,210
Originally Posted by SkiAdcock View Post
I used to be active on Skype but not in (ok 2 years).
To come to think of it, I also haven't touched Skype (or MSN) in about 2 years. I guess they stood still while better alternatives did not.
moondog is online now  
Old Aug 31, 19, 2:55 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Programs: WN F9 UA AA IHG HH MR
Posts: 1,990
Originally Posted by SkiAdcock View Post
Is there anyway of getting all my contacts back from pre-upgrade? Also, is there anyway of having my contact not be live?
Can you use Skype on a different device? Laptop, phone, tablet etc. Even if your primary device lost the contact list, it ought remain on other Skype devices.
Tanic is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread