Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

fitting mSATA SSD into PCIe slot - possible?

fitting mSATA SSD into PCIe slot - possible?

Old Jul 16, 19, 3:01 am
  #1  
Ambassador: World of Hyatt
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK - the nearest airport is named after a motorway !
Posts: 3,910
fitting mSATA SSD into PCIe slot - possible?

[mods - only vaguely related to travel tech (the mSATA came out of my old work travel laptop), but I can't face signing up to a tech IBB just to ask this one question]

My old home desktop has 4 SATA connectors, which are now all used up. I want to get some more storage in there, and I have an old 256GB mSATA that i took out of an laptop - is there such a thing an a PCIe card with an mSATA slot/adaptor, so I can plug the card in there? I know that performance etc won't be great, but I'm really not bothered about that, it's just extra storage and I have this drive sitting around.

If it is possible, can someone post a link for a suitable card? Every combo of mSATA / PCIe / adaptor that I use seems to bring up dozens of SATA-mSATA and PCIe-mPCIe adaptors, but nothing linking the two standards.

Thanks

PS - it's definitely mSATA and not m.2, sadly
Stewie Mac is online now  
Old Jul 16, 19, 6:04 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: K+K
Programs: *G
Posts: 4,309
Why not use plain-ole USB-A. Buy a housing for it and connect to USB -- still faster speeds than traditional platter drives
deniah is offline  
Old Jul 16, 19, 7:21 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bye Delta
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, SPG Gold, MR Gold, Nat'l Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 15,093
You can buy a PCIe controller card with mSATA slots. Something like this. https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16815124139
LIH Prem and König like this.
javabytes is online now  
Old Jul 18, 19, 5:51 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Colorado Springs
Programs: No single airline or hotel chain is of much use to me anymore.
Posts: 2,109
I have one of these:
Amazon Amazon

Be careful with PCIe SATA cards, a lot of them are x2 (or x4 or x8) which most motherboards don't have.
Error 601 is offline  
Old Jul 18, 19, 7:51 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 394
You can always put a card into an empty slot with a larger number of PCIe lanes if you have one available. Mine sits in a x16 slot
unmesh is offline  
Old Jul 18, 19, 10:07 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Colorado Springs
Programs: No single airline or hotel chain is of much use to me anymore.
Posts: 2,109
You can, but those x16 slots are often populated with a video card. I have only even owned a single computer that had two of them.
Error 601 is offline  
Old Jul 18, 19, 10:31 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 394
Good point. I use the integrated graphics processor in mine.
unmesh is offline  
Old Jul 20, 19, 4:38 am
  #8  
Ambassador: World of Hyatt
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK - the nearest airport is named after a motorway !
Posts: 3,910
Originally Posted by javabytes View Post
You can buy a PCIe controller card with mSATA slots. Something like this. https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16815124139
Originally Posted by Error 601 View Post
I have one of these: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07B8CJ91S/

Be careful with PCIe SATA cards, a lot of them are x2 (or x4 or x8) which most motherboards don't have.
Thanks both - I don't need multiple card slots, so I'm going for Error601's version.
Stewie Mac is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread