Samsung Galaxy Tab S5e

Old May 4, 19, 3:21 am
  #1  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 13,866
Samsung Galaxy Tab S5e

I recently bought a Samsung Galaxy Tab S5e to replace my old(ish) Galaxy Tab S3.

Generally pretty pleased. Great screen and battery life.

But... I noticed that the WiFi is pretty poor. In my bedroom, I can just about connect to my downstairs router, but this sometime loses connection for a few seconds. Looking on the interweb, it appears I'm not alone :-

https://www.trustedreviews.com/news/...oblems-3710348
https://www.tomsguide.com/us/galaxy-...ews-29982.html

I've got a 30 day return period, so I'll keep it for now and see what Samsung come up with.

The other weird thing about the S5e is that there are no official Samsung cases / keyboards available. I bought a cheapo case off Amazon for now, but I really want the keyboard case.
DYKWIA is offline  
Old May 5, 19, 7:27 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 502
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
I recently bought a Samsung Galaxy Tab S5e to replace my old(ish) Galaxy Tab S3.

Generally pretty pleased. Great screen and battery life.

But... I noticed that the WiFi is pretty poor. In my bedroom, I can just about connect to my downstairs router, but this sometime loses connection for a few seconds. Looking on the interweb, it appears I'm not alone :-

https://www.trustedreviews.com/news/...oblems-3710348
https://www.tomsguide.com/us/galaxy-...ews-29982.html

I've got a 30 day return period, so I'll keep it for now and see what Samsung come up with.

The other weird thing about the S5e is that there are no official Samsung cases / keyboards available. I bought a cheapo case off Amazon for now, but I really want the keyboard case.
It's happening because you're covering the antenna (faint grey line). It interferes with the signal. I also suspect Samsung isn't giving the radio full strength to conserve on battery life. The power level can be fixed... Physically covering the antenna not so much. I just bought a case, going to see if you put a few mm more distance if it will help, although I don't have the issue... At least not noticeably.
StuckInYYZ is offline  
Old May 11, 19, 2:11 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 502
Just wanted to report back. I had bought one of those TPU bumper type cases off of ebay... After putting it on, I have not noticed any significant loss in signal strength. Without it, I noticed a little bit of a signal loss. Not a big one, but noticeable.
StuckInYYZ is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread