High Speed Router

Old Dec 9, 18, 12:54 pm
Original Poster

2019 Secret Santa

Programs: Hilton, AA, SW, Delta
High Speed Router

I have bought a new home in a MetroPlaces community. https://www.metroplaces.com/my-ultrafi/

We get free internet in the house and and I am a newbie at routers. I would rather own my router than have to depend on a Spectrum provided one. I would like a good quality but don't need one for real time professional gaming stuff.

I would like one that has different channels so I can have one to the TV, lower speed for phones etc. I would like to be able to load a VPN that can only be activated on certain channels, if that makes since. Is there a modem/wireless router that will do what I want within a reasonable ( $300-400) budget. I would like something I don't have to replace for a few years.
Old Dec 9, 18, 4:57 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: GE, Marriott Gold
The speeds in those communities (especially upload) seem good enough that I'm not sure any sort of traffic shaping will add all that much. 4K video, for instance, typically clocks in at around 25 megabits per second or so depending on the service. I could be misunderstanding what you mean by "channels", however.

Additionally, given the speeds they promise, it sounds more like a FTTH offering than anything over Spectrum's existing cable network (I have Spectrum's "Gig" service, which tests at around 940mbps down and 40 up when I'm on Ethernet). If it's anything like AT&T's fiber service, you may not be able to opt out of using their equipment; you should be able to put their router in bridge mode and use whatever you want behind it, though.

Anyway, I'd probably make sure that whatever router you buy at least supports 802.11ac Wave 2 (which should be a given these days, but you never know). Possibly 802.11ax/WiFi 6 if you don't want to have to worry about it for a while, though I'm not sure the current offerings are anywhere near your budget.