Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

iPod nano replacement/substitute?

Old May 29, 2018, 10:17 am
Original Poster

Programs: BA GfL

I have been using an iPod Nano for many years and love it for things like running and listening to podcasts in bed. Recently, my music and podcast library has started to exceed the memory on the device, which led me to go to Apple’s website to see what larger-capacity models exist, at which point I discovered that they no longer produce them at all! Yes, I could store audio files on my iPhone, but I do not want to have to carry the phone while running (it’s too big and the battery life is not nearly as good as the Nano) or have it in my bedroom (even on Do Not Disturb, the phone’s very presence makes me sleep worse).

Any suggestions for devices with larger than 16 GB capacity (say, 32 or so) that will be suitable for me and also readily compatible with iTunes, or at least easy to sync with my music library? The iPod Touch still exists, but the size/weight/battery issues are probably equivalent to my iPhone 6S, and I don’t need all the other functions—just the audio storage and playback.
Old May 29, 2018, 9:12 pm

I think you'd be quite surprised at the battery life you'll get with the phone in airplane mode and the screen off. Of course, you'd have to turn Bluetooth back on if you're using wireless headphones, but having the cellular radio and wifi off will dramatically lower the battery usage.

The iPod Touch's lack of a cellular radio gives it better battery life than your phone, too. You just need to figure out whether the size/weight will be an issue for either device.

Here's a C|Net article from last year that covers alternatives to the Nano.
Old May 30, 2018, 9:24 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: MR/SPG LT Titanium, AA LT PLT, UA SLV, Avis PreferredPlus