Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Virtual phone number in Canada

Virtual phone number in Canada

Old Jun 16, 19, 10:00 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Home:HKG formerly YYZ Business: ATL, PVG, PEK, CAN, SZX, MNL, SIN, KUL
Programs: CX, DL, Nexus/GE, APEC
Posts: 9,923
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
Their support for SMS includes a facility where you can send a text from from a web page, but only to entries you've created in your VoIP.ms address book. Not a good universal solution, unfortunately. If someone sends a text to your VoIP.ms DID, though, it will be forwarded to the email address you supply in your SMS configuration. If you reply to that email it will send your reply back to them as an SMS message.

There may be SIP clients supporting SMS for phones, but I've never had much luck with those.
Just to confirm my reading:
  • SMS sent to your ported in number at VoIP.ms will be sent to your email. When you reply to that email, it will be sent as an SMS to the original sender.
  • To send an SMS you do so in a VoIP.ms web page, but the receiver of that SMS has to be in your VoIP.ms address book.
Thanks in Advance.
I need to have SMS service at my Canadian and US number.
tentseller is offline  
Old Jun 17, 19, 6:31 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North o' PWM
Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, AA Gold, UA Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 3,796
Originally Posted by tentseller View Post
Just to confirm my reading:
  • SMS sent to your ported in number at VoIP.ms will be sent to your email. When you reply to that email, it will be sent as an SMS to the original sender.
  • To send an SMS you do so in a VoIP.ms web page, but the receiver of that SMS has to be in your VoIP.ms address book.
Thanks in Advance.
I need to have SMS service at my Canadian and US number.
Yes, both are correct. You do have the ability to import contacts; you can export Google contacts to .csv, remove extraneous fields with Excel, and import them all into VoIP.ms' address book. Not sure whether Apple offers similar export functionality. If you use Android but don't sync with Google for some reason, there appear to be numerous apps for exporting contacts to various formats.

I should also note that the emailed text message includes a unique identifier in the subject that maps back to the source number from which the SMS was sent. That identifier appears to have a very long lifetime; I don't think they get recycled. It's technically possible to send a message to a contact that doesn't exist in your VoIP.ms address book by including that identifier (in the format "[#XXXXXXXXX]") in the subject and sending it to [email protected]. Of course you can also simply reply to a previous SMS sent from that individual to your VoIP.ms DID.

EDIT: There are both Android and Apple texting apps designed to use VoIP.ms' SMS API. They allow you to send texts to arbitrary numbers that are not stored in either your phone's contacts or the VoIP.ms address book. They're not replacements for your regular SMS app, though. The one I've tried is for Android: VoIP.ms SMS

Last edited by Dodge DeBoulet; Jun 17, 19 at 7:13 am
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
Old Jun 17, 19, 9:12 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Home:HKG formerly YYZ Business: ATL, PVG, PEK, CAN, SZX, MNL, SIN, KUL
Programs: CX, DL, Nexus/GE, APEC
Posts: 9,923
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
Yes, both are correct. You do have the ability to import contacts; you can export Google contacts to .csv, remove extraneous fields with Excel, and import them all into VoIP.ms' address book. Not sure whether Apple offers similar export functionality. If you use Android but don't sync with Google for some reason, there appear to be numerous apps for exporting contacts to various formats.

I should also note that the emailed text message includes a unique identifier in the subject that maps back to the source number from which the SMS was sent. That identifier appears to have a very long lifetime; I don't think they get recycled. It's technically possible to send a message to a contact that doesn't exist in your VoIP.ms address book by including that identifier (in the format "[#XXXXXXXXX]") in the subject and sending it to [email protected]. Of course you can also simply reply to a previous SMS sent from that individual to your VoIP.ms DID.

EDIT: There are both Android and Apple texting apps designed to use VoIP.ms' SMS API. They allow you to send texts to arbitrary numbers that are not stored in either your phone's contacts or the VoIP.ms address book. They're not replacements for your regular SMS app, though. The one I've tried is for Android: VoIP.ms SMS
Thank you for your explanation. Aprreciated very much.
Is there any benefit to you if I sign up like a code that you can PM me?
tentseller is offline  
Old Jun 17, 19, 9:25 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North o' PWM
Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, AA Gold, UA Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 3,796
Sure, use this link to create your account: https://voip.ms/en/invite/MTMyMzMw

First time I've used their referral program. It'll get me a $10 credit, apparently
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
Old Jun 17, 19, 5:45 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco/Sydney
Programs: UA 1K/MM, TK Elite, DL Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, IHG Gold, Hertz PC, Avis First
Posts: 7,075
Originally Posted by tentseller View Post
To send an SMS you do so in a VoIP.ms web page, but the receiver of that SMS has to be in your VoIP.ms address book.
Not so. Although the box on their website is labeled "contact" you can simply type in a phone number and it'll work.

Keep in mind though that sending SMS is not supported to most countries outside of the US/Canada. You can receive, but not send/reply (including replying via email). Also MMS does NOT work (send or receive), and that includes group SMS messages - and the sender gets no indication that the message has failed. I ended up moving from voip.ms to Google Voice simply because I was missing too many messages due to them being sent to a group.

Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
The one I've tried is for Android: VoIP.ms SMS
I've used the same one and highly recommend it. You do need to give up your credential to the author though in order to get push messages, which is needed for it to work real-time.
docbert is offline  
Old Jun 17, 19, 11:25 pm
  #21  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bye Delta
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, SPG Gold, MR Gold, Nat'l Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 15,173
Originally Posted by tentseller View Post
Just to confirm my reading:
  • SMS sent to your ported in number at VoIP.ms will be sent to your email. When you reply to that email, it will be sent as an SMS to the original sender.
  • To send an SMS you do so in a VoIP.ms web page, but the receiver of that SMS has to be in your VoIP.ms address book.
Thanks in Advance.
I need to have SMS service at my Canadian and US number.
As others have stated, you can just type in a number to send an SMS. But if someone has already sent you a text, the sms.voip.ms webpage opens up a threaded view and you can just reply much like you would be able to from your phone's native messaging app, with no need to type in a number or have a contact in your address book.

If you have a more technical inclination, voip.ms now supports SMS SIP, so you could you can tinker with the settings and try and get an app like Bria configured to receive calls and texts.

I would still not rely on voip.ms for heavy text use because of its limitations around things like short codes and group/MMS messages.
javabytes is online now  
Old Jun 17, 19, 11:38 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North o' PWM
Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, AA Gold, UA Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 3,796
Originally Posted by docbert View Post
Not so. Although the box on their website is labeled "contact" you can simply type in a phone number and it'll work.
Please try this again with a number that you are absolutely certain is not in your address book. I actually verified this before my prior post and got an error that the number I typed in was not a valid contact when I clicked "Send." And I verified it again just now.

Their REST API has no such limitation, somewhat unsurprisingly. I confirmed that with the same number I used to test the web UI. Not sure why they felt it needed to be enforced in the latter.
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
Old Jun 18, 19, 12:20 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco/Sydney
Programs: UA 1K/MM, TK Elite, DL Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, IHG Gold, Hertz PC, Avis First
Posts: 7,075
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
Please try this again with a number that you are absolutely certain is not in your address book. I actually verified this before my prior post and got an error that the number I typed in was not a valid contact when I clicked "Send." And I verified it again just now.

Their REST API has no such limitation, somewhat unsurprisingly. I confirmed that with the same number I used to test the web UI. Not sure why they felt it needed to be enforced in the latter.
I don't have ANY addresses in my address book, and I've never had problems sending SMS's.

Just tested it again twice. Once with one of my numbers that I'm certain I've never SMS'ed, and then a second time with the phone number for a Denny's restaurant half-way across the country that I picked at random. Both worked fine. (Well.. both sent. I'm guessing the Denny's didn't get the SMS, but that's not really the point)

Edit: OK, I might know what your problem is. Are you putting a "1" in front of the number? Try leaving that out and just enter a 10 digit number...
docbert is offline  
Old Jun 18, 19, 6:51 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North o' PWM
Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, AA Gold, UA Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 3,796
Originally Posted by docbert View Post
I don't have ANY addresses in my address book, and I've never had problems sending SMS's.

Just tested it again twice. Once with one of my numbers that I'm certain I've never SMS'ed, and then a second time with the phone number for a Denny's restaurant half-way across the country that I picked at random. Both worked fine. (Well.. both sent. I'm guessing the Denny's didn't get the SMS, but that's not really the point)

Edit: OK, I might know what your problem is. Are you putting a "1" in front of the number? Try leaving that out and just enter a 10 digit number...
Nope, that's not it but I figured it out ... you and @javabytes are using the mobile web portal. I've been using the SMS Message Center. That apparently limits you to address book entries only, as I've tried it with and without a leading "1", dashes, parentheses, and spaces. If it's not in my address book I get this:



Through the Mobile Portal it works fine.

Mystery solved ...

Last edited by Dodge DeBoulet; Jun 18, 19 at 6:58 am
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
Old Jun 18, 19, 12:51 pm
  #25  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bye Delta
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, SPG Gold, MR Gold, Nat'l Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 15,173
Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
Nope, that's not it but I figured it out ... you and @javabytes are using the mobile web portal. I've been using the SMS Message Center. That apparently limits you to address book entries only, as I've tried it with and without a leading "1", dashes, parentheses, and spaces. If it's not in my address book I get this:



Through the Mobile Portal it works fine.

Mystery solved ...
It works fine from SMS Message Center too. The problem is your extra characters. Just punch in the ten digit number, no parentheses, spaces, or dashes... just like the format you see above in the DID field.
javabytes is online now  
Old Jun 18, 19, 4:17 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North o' PWM
Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, AA Gold, UA Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 3,796
Originally Posted by javabytes View Post
It works fine from SMS Message Center too. The problem is your extra characters. Just punch in the ten digit number, no parentheses, spaces, or dashes... just like the format you see above in the DID field.


I did, just as I stated in the post you quoted (repeated below).

Originally Posted by Dodge DeBoulet View Post
Nope, that's not it but I figured it out ... you and @javabytes are using the mobile web portal. I've been using the SMS Message Center. That apparently limits you to address book entries only, asI've tried it with and without a leading "1", dashes, parentheses, and spaces. If it's not in my address book I get this:



Through the Mobile Portal it works fine.

Mystery solved ...
Here's a screenshot of it failing with just the 10 digit number. I forgot that I had saved it:



So ... the really weird thing is, even though I'd had the issue above this morning, I'm not having it now. The 10 digit number is working and it's sending texts just fine via the message center.

Last edited by Dodge DeBoulet; Jun 18, 19 at 5:43 pm
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
Old Jun 18, 19, 6:38 pm
  #27  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bye Delta
Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, SPG Gold, MR Gold, Nat'l Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 15,173
Even something as simple as a trailing space can cause it to fail. But you definitely can send SMS from the message center by typing in the number directly.
javabytes is online now  
Old Jun 18, 19, 9:26 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North o' PWM
Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, AA Gold, UA Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 3,796
Originally Posted by javabytes View Post
Even something as simple as a trailing space can cause it to fail. But you definitely can send SMS from the message center by typing in the number directly.
Ya know, I've spent the better part of my professional life pushing bytes between healthcare applications and doing my best to get them there in good shape. I'd like to think that I know what kind of impact an extraneous space character might have on a phone number and, in my testing, account that for possibility.

I thought I did just that.

I will admit that there is a non-zero probability that I didn't.

:shrug:
javabytes likes this.
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  
Old Jul 9, 19, 8:18 pm
  #29  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Home:HKG formerly YYZ Business: ATL, PVG, PEK, CAN, SZX, MNL, SIN, KUL
Programs: CX, DL, Nexus/GE, APEC
Posts: 9,923
Thank you all for all the pointers and potential pitfalls.

I have set up and ported my main number over as well as a US/Canadian toll-free number for calls outside my home area code.

Dodge DeBoulet: I used your link, let's see what happens
shuuy likes this.
tentseller is offline  
Old Jul 11, 19, 8:41 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North o' PWM
Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, AA Gold, UA Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 3,796
Originally Posted by tentseller View Post
Thank you all for all the pointers and potential pitfalls.

I have set up and ported my main number over as well as a US/Canadian toll-free number for calls outside my home area code.

Dodge DeBoulet: I used your link, let's see what happens
Thank you! Looks like I got a $10 credit!
Dodge DeBoulet is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: