Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Best dual sim phone?

Best dual sim phone?

Old Oct 1, 19, 9:36 am
  #121  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite/Lifetime Titanium, Delta Platinum Medallion, Hertz #1 Gold
Posts: 639
Originally Posted by paperwastage View Post
i got my umidigi s3 pro

wifi calling AND voLTE works for t-mobile US, surprisingly....

camera isn't great (as expected), but I'm content for $204



dont have another T-mobile/other SIM to verify DSDV VoLTE though
is there band 66 and 71 support ?
IslesFan is offline  
Old Oct 1, 19, 9:46 am
  #122  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,111
Originally Posted by paperwastage View Post
i got my umidigi s3 pro

wifi calling AND voLTE works for t-mobile US, surprisingly....

camera isn't great (as expected), but I'm content for $204



dont have another T-mobile/other SIM to verify DSDV VoLTE though
Not to be a Debbie Downer - but while American cell phones have radiation limits (https://www.fcc.gov/general/specific...ular-telephone), I doubt that no-name Chinese cell phones have limits that are enforced.

This may or may not ultimately be a concern, but it is worth thinking about.
BigFlyer is offline  
Old Oct 1, 19, 10:13 am
  #123  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,178
Originally Posted by IslesFan View Post
is there band 66 and 71 support ?
Not the s3 pro

The X and F2 have 66/71


Originally Posted by BigFlyer View Post
Not to be a Debbie Downer - but while American cell phones have radiation limits (https://www.fcc.gov/general/specific...ular-telephone), I doubt that no-name Chinese cell phones have limits that are enforced.

This may or may not ultimately be a concern, but it is worth thinking about.
The s3 pro went through FCC cerrification. Of course, the next question is whether you can trust the numbers. Testing lab is in China and accredited by fcc as certified lab

Needto go thru the emissions results, whether is better/onpar/worse than similar phones

https://fccid.io/2APL8F1/Test-Report...report-4173582


https://fccid.io/2APL8F1/RF-Exposure...part-1-4173459

Last edited by paperwastage; Oct 1, 19 at 10:20 am
paperwastage is online now  
Old Oct 21, 19, 4:40 pm
  #124  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: I 35 south bound, finally stopped
Programs: AA EXP, LT Plt, 4mm, *A Silver, Free Agent
Posts: 1,261
maybe this one now is now the best dual sim

https://www.androidpolice.com/2019/1...-dual-standby/
boerne is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 8:58 pm
  #125  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,111
Originally Posted by boerne View Post
maybe this one now is now the best dual sim

https://www.androidpolice.com/2019/1...-dual-standby/
The dual sim capability is using an esim - and if you want DSDS, one of the two SIMs must be a physical SIM, and the other an eSIM.
BigFlyer is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 9:23 pm
  #126  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 10,032
I bought an iPhone XS Max in order to take advantage of the dual sim functionality to avoid carrying a US phone and a UK phone.

I have Verizon in the US and Vodafone in the UK. The latter does not yet support eSim.

My plan therefore was to use a Verizon eSim and my physical Vodafone sim. Verizon are telling me that this is not possible. Id be grateful for a sense check here. Should this be possible or not?

Thanks
golfmad is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 10:08 pm
  #127  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,111
Originally Posted by golfmad View Post
I bought an iPhone XS Max in order to take advantage of the dual sim functionality to avoid carrying a US phone and a UK phone.

I have Verizon in the US and Vodafone in the UK. The latter does not yet support eSim.

My plan therefore was to use a Verizon eSim and my physical Vodafone sim. Verizon are telling me that this is not possible. Id be grateful for a sense check here. Should this be possible or not?

Thanks
Verizon supports eSIM:

Can I bring my device to Verizon and get service using the eSIM, instead of a physical Verizon SIM card?

Yes, if you have a compatible device, you can activate Verizon service with your eSIM and don't need a physical SIM
https://www.verizonwireless.com/supp...ith-esim-faqs/

BigFlyer is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 10:12 pm
  #128  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 10,032
Originally Posted by BigFlyer View Post
Verizon supports eSIM:

Can I bring my device to Verizon and get service using the eSIM, instead of a physical Verizon SIM card?

Yes, if you have a compatible device, you can activate Verizon service with your eSIM and don't need a physical SIM
https://www.verizonwireless.com/supp...ith-esim-faqs/
Thanks. I should have been clearer. I know that Verizon supports eSim but they are telling me that if I want to use their eSim I need to have two lines activated on my Verizon account but in my case I wish to use a Verizon eSim and a physical Vodafone Sim. I would like to know if people think that should be possible?
golfmad is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 10:24 pm
  #129  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,111
Originally Posted by golfmad View Post
Thanks. I should have been clearer. I know that Verizon supports eSim but they are telling me that if I want to use their eSim I need to have two lines activated on my Verizon account but in my case I wish to use a Verizon eSim and a physical Vodafone Sim. I would like to know if people think that should be possible?

They are idiots and telling you what you would need to do get two Verizon lines working.

Assuming your phone is unlocked, if you have a Verzon eSIM on one line, you can put whatever physical SIM n from whatever carrier that you want.

Each SIM is independent of the other SIMs on the phone. Just contact Verizon, get the eSIM installed, and don't ask them about your Vodafone SIM. Then you can put in your Vodaphone SIM and confirm it is working before you go abroad.
der_saeufer likes this.
BigFlyer is offline  
Old Oct 21, 19, 10:25 pm
  #130  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 10,032
Originally Posted by BigFlyer View Post
They are idiots and telling you what you would need to do get two Verizon lines working.

Assuming your phone is unlocked, if you have a Verzon eSIM on one line, you can put whatever physical SIM n from whatever carrier that you want.

Each SIM is independent of the other SIMs on the phone. Just contact Verizon, get the eSIM installed, and don't ask them about your Vodafone SIM. Then you can put in your Vodaphone SIM and confirm it is working before you go abroad.
Ok thank you, I'll give that a go. I'll report back in case it's of use to others...

EDIT: The phone is unlocked. I bought it directly from Apple.
golfmad is offline  
Old Oct 22, 19, 6:41 am
  #131  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: I 35 south bound, finally stopped
Programs: AA EXP, LT Plt, 4mm, *A Silver, Free Agent
Posts: 1,261
Originally Posted by BigFlyer View Post
The dual sim capability is using an esim - and if you want DSDS, one of the two SIMs must be a physical SIM, and the other an eSIM.
work around DSDS

https://gadgetguideonline.com/androi...ndroid-phones/
boerne is offline  
Old Oct 22, 19, 7:12 am
  #132  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FLL/MIA
Programs: AA Gold
Posts: 132
Originally Posted by golfmad View Post
I bought an iPhone XS Max in order to take advantage of the dual sim functionality to avoid carrying a US phone and a UK phone.

I have Verizon in the US and Vodafone in the UK. The latter does not yet support eSim.

My plan therefore was to use a Verizon eSim and my physical Vodafone sim. Verizon are telling me that this is not possible. I’d be grateful for a sense check here. Should this be possible or not?

Thanks
https://www.verizonwireless.com/supp...im-activation/

I know some VZW folks don't seem to understand eSIM.
golfmad likes this.
cbkcc1 is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 2:37 pm
  #133  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,178
Originally Posted by paperwastage View Post
i got my umidigi s3 pro

wifi calling AND voLTE works for t-mobile US, surprisingly....

camera isn't great (as expected), but I'm content for $204



dont have another T-mobile/other SIM to verify DSDV VoLTE though
Trying Singapore Singtel Postpaid sim

Initially, VoLTE and VoWiFi did not work (HD icon in status bar, VoLTE flags were enable in the settings-network, but phone drops to 3G without HD icon during calls). VoLTE/VoWiFi worked after adding "ims" to the APN type under APN settings

EAP-SIM did not work though (to connect to singtel wifi). Usually singtel branded phones auto setup the wifi connection after inserting sim- this phone did not

I can still manually select the singtel wifi, connecting as EAP, choose SIM (or AKA or AKA') along with Sim1 or Sim2, but it still fails to connect

Compared APN settings to the regular singtel phone, played with/matched the settings, but couldn't get EAP-SIM to ever work properly. couldn't find more info on EAP-SIM

Last edited by paperwastage; Oct 23, 19 at 2:48 pm
paperwastage is online now  
Old Dec 14, 19, 10:36 am
  #134  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: I 35 south bound, finally stopped
Programs: AA EXP, LT Plt, 4mm, *A Silver, Free Agent
Posts: 1,261
Well I was a little disappointed the Pixel 3 won't likely get true DSDS or DSDA because it doesnt have two IMEI numbers. Apparently a beta Q did have it in there, then the next beta update took it out. I think you can put it back with root, and I have a refurb 3 XL coming so I will look at that next week. So today I played around with the Pixel 3 XL (not the Pixel 3a, which does have DSDS) I put a MVNO that i have purely for the domestic data and as a throw away phone number which is priced at about $1.7 a GB, and a lot in the monthly GB bucket. (not providing name since they might lock it down). Both the MVNO sim and a T Mo data sim booted immediately and provided enough data here in rural texas to get by. I can live with that at this point and just switch manually, which takes 5 seconds, and another 15 to get registered on the network. The best part is that neither sim is blocked as a hotspot, so that is a win. Plan to use the MVNO for domestic data while traveling, and the T Mo data sim for international trips. Calls and especially texts are forwarded to the work phone for 2 FA stuff.

Last edited by boerne; Dec 14, 19 at 10:38 am Reason: added data
boerne is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: