Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Google Fi: Anyone care to post their experience?

Google Fi: Anyone care to post their experience?

    Hide Wikipost
Old Dec 25, 18, 8:33 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Zorak
Wiki Link
Which countries are supported?

https://support.google.com/fi/answer...intl_countries

Note that in some locations Hangouts (and Gmail) are not available (e.g., China, Russia, Thailand, South Korea, Mexico, Argentina, and more: see link below for full list of excluded countries), so you will need a VPN to access them (or to make VOIP calls via Hangouts Dialer)

https://support.google.com/hangouts/answer/3205646

Exceptions:

Listed, but no/spotty service:
  • Ukraine (Aug 2018) - no service, all providers listed as "forbidden". Post #660
  • Alaska (Jul 2018) -- had voice service, but inconsistent/spotty data (try forcing Sprint)
  • Peru (Sep 2016) post 341, 360
  • Grand Cayman Island (Jan 2018) post 547

Not listed, *did* have service
  • Belize (Jan 2018) post 547 Belize now appears on the "supported" international list
If you are having trouble connecting, level 1 Fi reps recommend you try the following steps before they will escalate. Try each step in the order listed below to see if it fixes your issue - if not, move on to next step.

1- Reboot phone
2- Toggle "airplane mode" on/off. Wait five seconds after toggling off (it resets phone modem).
3- Try manually connecting to each available network (rather than using the auto select feature).
4- Toggle down from 4g to 3g (removing the recommended 4g option) and then try manually connecting to each available network.
5- Toggle down from 3g to 2g and then try manually connecting to each available network.
Print Wikipost

Old Feb 7, 19, 1:40 pm
  #871  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,545
Since these promotion deadlines are starting to approach everyone should check their special promotions page https://fi.google.com/account#specialpromo to verify their account is qualifying. My initial phone got lost by FedEx and a second was shipped to me so the fi system shows that I didn't activate my phone by the deadline. It's been a bit of an easy but drawn-out resolution so far.
Yoshi212 is online now  
Old Feb 7, 19, 4:37 pm
  #872  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA plat, spg plat, aa plat, marriott plat
Posts: 3,196
Originally Posted by Need View Post
Probably a Google ban in Thailand since Google owns Hangouts. I read that Thailand had banned Youtube before... maybe even now.. not sure how old the news was from.
Youtube works fine now (and the ads are in Thai - sort of useless for me ) Yes definitely a google ban
estnet is offline  
Old Feb 7, 19, 4:40 pm
  #873  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA plat, spg plat, aa plat, marriott plat
Posts: 3,196
Originally Posted by Need View Post
My $200 service credit just showed up on this month's billing (my 3rd bill from Google Fi). I signed up on 11/27 last year. Now I am just waiting for their BF Price Protection. Instead of Travel Card, I am supposed to get them in service credit.
They could have said that the credit would appear on the 3rd month rather than after 1 month of service - would have avoided hours of my time with cs - and I'm sure multiplied by many - maybe the cs numbers wouldn't have been so tied up if they just did what they said
estnet is offline  
Old Feb 8, 19, 8:58 am
  #874  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA Gold 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, WN A-List, Marriott LT Titanium, HH Diamond
Posts: 46,729
Originally Posted by Yoshi212 View Post
Since these promotion deadlines are starting to approach everyone should check their special promotions page https://fi.google.com/account#specialpromo to verify their account is qualifying. My initial phone got lost by FedEx and a second was shipped to me so the fi system shows that I didn't activate my phone by the deadline. It's been a bit of an easy but drawn-out resolution so far.
Thanks for this link. It's the first place I've seen where I have confirmation of 3 travel cards shown on one page.

But it does not have the $200 for my BYOD phone. Hmmm. I do have a chat log where an agent says I'll get the credit on Day 60, so there's that...
pinniped is offline  
Old Feb 8, 19, 9:24 am
  #875  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,545
The $200 promo didn't show up on my promotions screen either but i did get it in email and actual credit on my account along with a few other credits.

Originally Posted by pinniped View Post
Thanks for this link. It's the first place I've seen where I have confirmation of 3 travel cards shown on one page.

But it does not have the $200 for my BYOD phone. Hmmm. I do have a chat log where an agent says I'll get the credit on Day 60, so there's that...
Yoshi212 is online now  
Old Feb 8, 19, 10:03 am
  #876  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,898
I can't even get to that link... it just redirect me back to my account page when I click it. Maybe because I got the $200 already and the page is gone??
Need is offline  
Old Feb 8, 19, 3:25 pm
  #877  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: K+K
Programs: *G
Posts: 4,305
I've used Fi sporadically, and it works. I'm using a flagship carrier for my main service, with Fi on second SIM slot as secondary/backup service.

Roaming in EU is virtually free with my carrier by regulation, so I don't turn on the 2nd SIM often. But sometimes I don't get good strength even in home country, such as 2G/EDGE (=virtually useless), and there Fi usually grabs 4G/LTE signal from TMobile.

Sustained bandwidth is usually decent at 5, 10, 20, 40mbps....but ping is ALWAYS at 200ms+ maybe do do extra switching and hopping and routing....
deniah is offline  
Old Feb 8, 19, 7:30 pm
  #878  
Moderator, El Al and Marriott Bonvoy
Hyatt Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SIN
Programs: TG*G, Mar LTBT, Hyatt Glb, AA PLT-LTG, LY, HH, IC, BA, DL, UA SLV
Posts: 11,128
After working smoothly a few days in Kyoto and transit in Incheon in my iPhone, Fi wouldn’t connect to a network in Singapore. Rather than troubleshoot, popped in my local SIM.
yosithezet is offline  
Old Feb 8, 19, 7:48 pm
  #879  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, TR 7*, SPG/MR Plat, UA 1K
Posts: 10,344
Originally Posted by yosithezet View Post
After working smoothly a few days in Kyoto and transit in Incheon in my iPhone, Fi wouldn’t connect to a network in Singapore. Rather than troubleshoot, popped in my local SIM.
Huh, other than a half day where I couldn't get data, I've had good Fi service in Singapore. Hopefully it's just a transient blip.
Zorak is offline  
Old Feb 8, 19, 8:15 pm
  #880  
Moderator, El Al and Marriott Bonvoy
Hyatt Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SIN
Programs: TG*G, Mar LTBT, Hyatt Glb, AA PLT-LTG, LY, HH, IC, BA, DL, UA SLV
Posts: 11,128
Originally Posted by Zorak View Post
Huh, other than a half day where I couldn't get data, I've had good Fi service in Singapore. Hopefully it's just a transient blip.
I restarted the phone, checked APN... nada.

Based on previous experience I could have popped the SIM in my pixel and then back in the iPhone and it would have been ok.
yosithezet is offline  
Old Feb 8, 19, 10:59 pm
  #881  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA plat, spg plat, aa plat, marriott plat
Posts: 3,196
Originally Posted by yosithezet View Post

I restarted the phone, checked APN... nada.

Based on previous experience I could have popped the SIM in my pixel and then back in the iPhone and it would have been ok.
The whole deal of having to put the sim in the pixel to get it to work in a "compatible" phone is SO weird (as well as some of the stuff you helped me with in Thailand- thanks).
IME fi support is pretty useless - can't work out any problem - for example I have a problem with vm (among many others) - they don't have a clue and seem to have no mechanism for working out anything on a 'compatible" phone. By contrast when I had issues with tmo they had a record every time I called of what I had reported and whether or not they had feedback from whoever it had been escalated to - fi assigns a new case # for every contact AND THEY ARE NOT CROSS LINKED so they have no idea what has been done for a particular problem
People with pixels seem to have great service - but with a "compatible" I'm going to use up my credit (if I can stand it) then switch to a service that works - eg lets me use my phone as a phone - vm, text, able to make and receive calls, oh and use wifi calling when out of the country (and no hangouts is not the substitute b/c it is blocked in many of the countries I frequent)
estnet is offline  
Old Feb 9, 19, 10:38 am
  #882  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 370
Now that iPhones are basically allowed by Fi, why should you have to put a SIM in a Pixel to reset it?
Michael Ad is offline  
Old Feb 9, 19, 11:17 am
  #883  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,545
Compatible phones are still in beta so there are going to be problems, glitches and network conflicts. The pixel phones & fi network were designed to work together.

Originally Posted by Michael Ad View Post
Now that iPhones are basically allowed by Fi, why should you have to put a SIM in a Pixel to reset it?
Yoshi212 is online now  
Old Feb 11, 19, 7:43 am
  #884  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA Gold 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, WN A-List, Marriott LT Titanium, HH Diamond
Posts: 46,729
One of my Fi lines is on an iPhone 7. We haven't had any problems. If we're missing any of the automatic network-switching functionality, it hasn't impacted the user experience for us. Data speed is fine. Texts/calls work fine.
pinniped is offline  
Old Feb 11, 19, 11:06 am
  #885  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: n.y.c.
Posts: 13,343
Google Fi SIM cards now available at Best Buy:

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/google-...?skuId=6325631
nerd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread