Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Google Fi: Anyone care to post their experience?

Google Fi: Anyone care to post their experience?

    Hide Wikipost
Old Dec 25, 18, 8:33 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Zorak
Wiki Link
Which countries are supported?

https://support.google.com/fi/answer...intl_countries

Note that in some locations Hangouts (and Gmail) are not available (e.g., China, Russia, Thailand, South Korea, Mexico, Argentina, and more: see link below for full list of excluded countries), so you will need a VPN to access them (or to make VOIP calls via Hangouts Dialer)

https://support.google.com/hangouts/answer/3205646

Exceptions:

Listed, but no/spotty service:
  • Ukraine (Aug 2018) - no service, all providers listed as "forbidden". Post #660
  • Alaska (Jul 2018) -- had voice service, but inconsistent/spotty data (try forcing Sprint)
  • Peru (Sep 2016) post 341, 360
  • Grand Cayman Island (Jan 2018) post 547

Not listed, *did* have service
  • Belize (Jan 2018) post 547 Belize now appears on the "supported" international list
If you are having trouble connecting, level 1 Fi reps recommend you try the following steps before they will escalate. Try each step in the order listed below to see if it fixes your issue - if not, move on to next step.

1- Reboot phone
2- Toggle "airplane mode" on/off. Wait five seconds after toggling off (it resets phone modem).
3- Try manually connecting to each available network (rather than using the auto select feature).
4- Toggle down from 4g to 3g (removing the recommended 4g option) and then try manually connecting to each available network.
5- Toggle down from 3g to 2g and then try manually connecting to each available network.
Print Wikipost

Old Dec 11, 18, 9:07 am
  #751  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MSY; 2-time FT Fantasy Football Champ, now in recovery.
Programs: AA lifetime GLD; UA Silver; Marriott LTTE; IHG Plat,
Posts: 13,140
Originally Posted by pinniped View Post
My emails to Google were never answered.

I'm back on hold with them today - at this point, I just want my delivery canceled and the money charged to my credit card refunded.

This entire experience is a joke. I guess "free"(ish) phones were too good to be true.
If you want to give it one more try, I got the best results for my delivery issues (two failed delivery attempts, when address was correct and I was home all day) by sending a message on Twitter to @FedexHelp. Their initial response took an hour, but after that, they were able to reach out to the facility and get the driver to give me a call. Once I spoke to him, he was able to ballpark a time of day that he would arrive, and he called me again when he arrived.
swag is offline  
Old Dec 11, 18, 10:07 am
  #752  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 370
Fedex Ground (likely the carrier for your original shipment) and Fedex Express (for your 2-day one) are pretty different. Ground drivers are subcontractors and really a different group with very different rules. Express should be much more professional.
Michael Ad is offline  
Old Dec 11, 18, 10:09 am
  #753  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 370
I got my Fi phone. Activated it, no problem. It has an eSIM, so no SIM came, but I had a data-only SIM that I activated also. I put that in my iPhone and it seems to be fine. The number worked on it, etc.
Michael Ad is offline  
Old Dec 11, 18, 10:39 am
  #754  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,904
Originally Posted by Michael Ad View Post
I got my Fi phone. Activated it, no problem. It has an eSIM, so no SIM came, but I had a data-only SIM that I activated also. I put that in my iPhone and it seems to be fine. The number worked on it, etc.
What do you mean by "The number worked on it"? data-only Sim doesn't have a phone number right? I thought if you put the Fi data sim in an iPhone, you would not be able to use the dialer?
Need is offline  
Old Dec 11, 18, 10:48 am
  #755  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 370
Originally Posted by Need View Post
What do you mean by "The number worked on it"? data-only Sim doesn't have a phone number right? I thought if you put the Fi data sim in an iPhone, you would not be able to use the dialer?
Right - I didn't expect it to work like that, but it did.

I think I actually had the SIM in the Pixel phone when I activated that one, so maybe I really activated the physical SIM and didn't realize it?
Michael Ad is offline  
Old Dec 11, 18, 10:56 am
  #756  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA Gold 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, WN A-List, Marriott LT Titanium, HH Diamond
Posts: 46,793
Originally Posted by swag View Post
If you want to give it one more try, I got the best results for my delivery issues (two failed delivery attempts, when address was correct and I was home all day) by sending a message on Twitter to @FedexHelp. Their initial response took an hour, but after that, they were able to reach out to the facility and get the driver to give me a call. Once I spoke to him, he was able to ballpark a time of day that he would arrive, and he called me again when he arrived.
OK, will try it. Probably my final option...

Waited on hold for 27 minutes today. That's unacceptable, period, and if FedEx doesn't work I'm just going to let the phones go back to Google where I assume they will refund me and close out my account.
pinniped is offline  
Old Dec 11, 18, 1:26 pm
  #757  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,904
Originally Posted by Michael Ad View Post
Right - I didn't expect it to work like that, but it did.

I think I actually had the SIM in the Pixel phone when I activated that one, so maybe I really activated the physical SIM and didn't realize it?
I think you can see it on your account. You should have 2 devices showing like this:
2 Devices
Google Pixel 3 XL, Data-only SIM

I activated my Data-only SIM online and then just pop it in my T-mobile tablet.
Need is offline  
Old Dec 11, 18, 3:00 pm
  #758  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 370
Originally Posted by Need View Post
I think you can see it on your account. You should have 2 devices showing like this:
2 Devices
Google Pixel 3 XL, Data-only SIM

I activated my Data-only SIM online and then just pop it in my T-mobile tablet.
Cool. Thanks. I only have one device, so I guess I activated the SIM successfully instead of the eSIM. That's perfect.
Michael Ad is offline  
Old Dec 11, 18, 7:40 pm
  #759  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: From LHR to SFO to LAS
Programs: None
Posts: 1,852
Originally Posted by estnet View Post
nope - no response to emails and wait times saying 1 hour aren't answered in 2 or 3 (well that's when I gave up) AND the question I have is answered incorrectly in their online support!!!!
Still not heard back from my email. Over a week now. Total joke!!!
SgtRyan is offline  
Old Dec 12, 18, 9:45 pm
  #760  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,549
Got my Pixel 3 XL today and activation with porting my number over was super easy and took only a few minutes. Adjusting to Android after 8 years of iOS isn't too bad with the tether data transfer.
In my Fi app they are offering a $100 referral credit (to the account holder not the person being referred) which is much higher than the usual bonus.
Yoshi212 is online now  
Old Dec 13, 18, 8:24 am
  #761  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA Gold 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, WN A-List, Marriott LT Titanium, HH Diamond
Posts: 46,793
Originally Posted by swag View Post
If you want to give it one more try, I got the best results for my delivery issues (two failed delivery attempts, when address was correct and I was home all day) by sending a message on Twitter to @FedexHelp. Their initial response took an hour, but after that, they were able to reach out to the facility and get the driver to give me a call. Once I spoke to him, he was able to ballpark a time of day that he would arrive, and he called me again when he arrived.
BTW, this actually worked! Thanks for the tip... The Twitter support was able to redirect the package to a FedEx / Kinko's location and I picked it up there. The automated alerts were a little wonky, because I still think somewhere in their system is Google's stupid request that it *not* be picked up at a FedEx location. I could tell that even the person who handed over the package had to do something strange in their system. But in the end, I was able to show ID, sign for it, and take the box home. So praise to the Twitter support rep - they can obviously do some magic that FedEx's phone support and website could not.

Will complete activation and porting process this weekend. I hope that works seamlessly, because if there are problems I have no idea what to do next. We have a Google Fiber store near us that actually has humans helping customers (and I've been there - they're good) but no idea if they know anything about Fi.
pinniped is offline  
Old Dec 13, 18, 9:13 am
  #762  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MSY; 2-time FT Fantasy Football Champ, now in recovery.
Programs: AA lifetime GLD; UA Silver; Marriott LTTE; IHG Plat,
Posts: 13,140
Originally Posted by pinniped View Post
BTW, this actually worked! Thanks for the tip... The Twitter support was able to redirect the package to a FedEx / Kinko's location and I picked it up there. The automated alerts were a little wonky, because I still think somewhere in their system is Google's stupid request that it *not* be picked up at a FedEx location. I could tell that even the person who handed over the package had to do something strange in their system. But in the end, I was able to show ID, sign for it, and take the box home. So praise to the Twitter support rep - they can obviously do some magic that FedEx's phone support and website could not.

Will complete activation and porting process this weekend. I hope that works seamlessly, because if there are problems I have no idea what to do next. We have a Google Fiber store near us that actually has humans helping customers (and I've been there - they're good) but no idea if they know anything about Fi.
Great news, glad it worked. I'm not a fan/user of twitter in general, so it frustrates me when any company twitter support can do things better or faster than phone support, but it is what it is.
swag is offline  
Old Dec 13, 18, 9:57 pm
  #763  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Starwood Platinum, AA, SW, Delta
Posts: 552
In my app they also offer referral bonus of $20 for the new customer and $100 for the people who refer but there is a max limit of $700. so only 7 customers? what happens after 7? you get0?
happyvoid is offline  
Old Dec 14, 18, 11:50 am
  #764  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,904
Originally Posted by pinniped View Post
BTW, this actually worked! Thanks for the tip... The Twitter support was able to redirect the package to a FedEx / Kinko's location and I picked it up there. The automated alerts were a little wonky, because I still think somewhere in their system is Google's stupid request that it *not* be picked up at a FedEx location. I could tell that even the person who handed over the package had to do something strange in their system. But in the end, I was able to show ID, sign for it, and take the box home. So praise to the Twitter support rep - they can obviously do some magic that FedEx's phone support and website could not.

Will complete activation and porting process this weekend. I hope that works seamlessly, because if there are problems I have no idea what to do next. We have a Google Fiber store near us that actually has humans helping customers (and I've been there - they're good) but no idea if they know anything about Fi.
Cool that it works out. The activation/phone# transfer process was seamless to me. It took like 5 min since I already filled all the old carrier info on the computer. I would suggest you do that if you have not, otherwise you will have to fill in the stuff on the phone instead.
Yoshi212 likes this.
Need is offline  
Old Dec 14, 18, 12:07 pm
  #765  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,549
My assumption will be that it will return to the standard referral fee after the 7. Up to 7 $100 referrals is pretty generous.

Originally Posted by happyvoid View Post
In my app they also offer referral bonus of $20 for the new customer and $100 for the people who refer but there is a max limit of $700. so only 7 customers? what happens after 7? you get0?
Yoshi212 is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread