Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Looking for Sat Nav for UK & Europe

Old Dec 1, 2014, 10:29 am
Original Poster

Dear Experts

We are planning to purchase a sat nav budget £100-£200 to use here in the UK and also sometimes abroad in central and northern Europe and possible if we go to the US.

We do not own a car and will be renting when we drive somewhere.

Is there any particular sat nav that people recommend. We want one that has lane recognition and is very easy to understand (my sense of directions is very bad).

Cheers
Old Dec 1, 2014, 11:05 am

Programs: UA AU (ex 10+ year 1k) 1.5MM, AS Newbie, HH ex Dia
I've been using Garmin US/Europe models for 10+ years. I picked up the latest model (nuvi 2559 LMT) this year and I've been very pleased. Faster destination entry and search, fast satellite acquisition, excellent directions and display (although it took me a while to get familiar with the instructions on the "wrong" side of the road around Heathrow). I've used mine in the US, UK, France, and Germany so far.

The only complaints I have are that the screen is rather reflective and the battery life is short (around 2 hours). Since you need to plug in to get traffic, that's not too much of an issue.
Old Dec 1, 2014, 1:34 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by MrOCTeckels
I've been using Garmin US/Europe models for 10+ years. I picked up the latest model (nuvi 2559 LMT) this year and I've been very pleased. Faster destination entry and search, fast satellite acquisition, excellent directions and display (although it took me a while to get familiar with the instructions on the "wrong" side of the road around Heathrow). I've used mine in the US, UK, France, and Germany so far.

The only complaints I have are that the screen is rather reflective and the battery life is short (around 2 hours). Since you need to plug in to get traffic, that's not too much of an issue.