Wiki Posts
Search

Aereo's Fight for Life in US Supreme Court

Search this Thread

Old Apr 23, 2014, 8:25 am
Original Poster

Aereo's Fight for Life in US Supreme Court

Any Aereo subscribers out there?

I have been using it for a few months now. I'm not a resident of any of their service areas but its amazing what a decent VPN and a little GPS spoofing can solve

The service provides what's printed on the tin - over the air channels via the internet.

The company and the service however are under threat from the TV networks who object to their business model. They say the networks should be getting rebroadcast fees for Aereo's pass-through of their signals. That's how the network / cable company relationship currently exists.

Aereo's argument is that they simply provide an antenna for those customers who could get the content on their own antenna for free. The case is currently before the US Supreme Court.

Some background here:

http://gawker.com/is-aereo-the-new-b...the-1565679614

Any opinions here either on the service or the lawsuit?

I personally feel that charging people for content should generally result in renumeration for those content providers, but given the unique business model and regulatory status of broadcast TV networks, a case could also be made for Aereo's position. My gut tells me the networks will prevail.

My ideal resolution would be a rethink of Aereo's model with rebroadcast fees included, and an expansion of their channel lineup along with a commensurate yet reasonable fee increase. If the available content could be available on an a la carte basis, all the better.
Old Apr 23, 2014, 8:37 am

Aereo's model is to skirt around the legal terms and not pay for re-boardcasting fee.