RAZR Droid

Old Feb 6, 12, 1:59 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,065
RAZR Droid

Just bought the Droid RAZR unlocked from Amazon, and it's listed as the XT-910. Cnet doesn't show there being a GSM version of the phone, though it's listed as GSM, and my carrier clearly sells a GSM version.

Is the RAZR dual mode? Or does Motorola have 2 (well 3 if you count the MAXX) versions of the android razr?
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 12, 2:31 pm
  #2  
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Posts: 39,459
http://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_razr_xt910-4273.php
mia is offline  
Old Feb 6, 12, 2:35 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,065
That's the one I bought. So why does only the CDMA version show up on Motorola's website, Cnet, and Best Buy?
And is this offered by any USA carriers?
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 12, 2:43 pm
  #4  
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Posts: 39,459
It is not compatible with T-Mobile (USA)'s broadband frequency. If it's not sold by AT&T it's probably intended for other markets.

A GSM version is listed on the Canadian site:

http://www.motorola.com/Consumers/CA...-EN.alt#anchor

...and also on the UK site:

http://www.motorola.com/Consumers/GB...-EN.alt#anchor

Last edited by mia; Feb 6, 12 at 2:56 pm
mia is offline  
Old Feb 6, 12, 2:50 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 13,065
Doesn't T-Mobile operate on the 1900 mhz frequency (which the phone supports)?
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 12, 2:58 pm
  #6  
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Posts: 39,459
Originally Posted by joshwex90 View Post
Doesn't T-Mobile operate on the 1900 mhz frequency (which the phone supports)?
T-Mobile's voice calls are on 1900, but their 3G/4G data is on 1700. There seems to be anecdotal evidence that 1900 data is available in a few markets:

http://www.tmonews.com/2011/12/unloc...-true-sort-of/

Last edited by mia; Feb 6, 12 at 3:41 pm
mia is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: