Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

CES 2012: D-Link DIR-505 Wireless N travel router + USB charger

CES 2012: D-Link DIR-505 Wireless N travel router + USB charger

Old Jan 10, 12, 8:22 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVP, Hhonors Gold, National Executive, Identity Gold, MLife Gold
Posts: 2,684
CES 2012: D-Link DIR-505 Wireless N travel router + USB charger

Specs: http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=DIR-505
Press release: http://www.dlink.com/press/?prid=690

The important details: MSRP will be <$75. It'll be available in April.



It also has an option to allow you to share a USB storage device with other devices (apparently only on the local network). They tout it as a way to move files between a PC and a tablet/phone.
OverThereTooMuch is offline  
Old Jan 10, 12, 12:01 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,732
Sign me up!

-It can use a wireless signal as a WAN and redistribute it as a separate WLAN
-Tiny and built-in plug
-Can charge a USB device
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Jan 10, 12, 12:43 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: BA GGL, Hilton Diamond, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,314
now that looks pretty nice
stueys is offline  
Old Jan 10, 12, 12:46 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Canada / USA
Posts: 6,043
Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Definitely interesting. Would prefer if the plug folded into the device for storage, and if it charged my iPad...
YYZC2 is offline  
Old Jan 10, 12, 4:37 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: BA GGL, Hilton Diamond, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,314
Originally Posted by YYZC2
....and if it charged my iPad...
Out of interest, what makes you sayit wouldn't? Spec sheets shows charging for an iPhone.
stueys is offline  
Old Jan 10, 12, 8:52 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,732
Originally Posted by stueys View Post
Out of interest, what makes you sayit wouldn't? Spec sheets shows charging for an iPhone.
iPads requre 2 amps to charge, while iPhones and other USB gadgets are usually happy with 0.5-1 amp. An iPad will charge sloooooowly if it's plugged into a 1 A charger but you need to turn it off. And it will still say it's not charging.

Nothing else uses 2 amps to charge except iPad, so manufacturers don't make their USB chargers capable of it.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Jan 10, 12, 11:10 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 949
Originally Posted by gfunkdave View Post
iPads requre 2 amps to charge, while iPhones and other USB gadgets are usually happy with 0.5-1 amp. An iPad will charge sloooooowly if it's plugged into a 1 A charger but you need to turn it off. And it will still say it's not charging.
that warning only happens with 500ma usb ports.

1a chargers, including the ones that come with iphones as well as third party ones, charge ipads even while the ipad is in use and without any warning. it won't be as fast as a 2a charger but it's not that slow.

Nothing else uses 2 amps to charge except iPad, so manufacturers don't make their USB chargers capable of it.
yes they do. there are third party 2a chargers available because there are a lot of ipads out there.
pdxer is offline  
Old Jan 10, 12, 11:15 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SEA
Programs: DL DM, AS MVP, Marriott Plat, SPG Plat
Posts: 237
Looks like a nice product
Drile is offline  
Old Jan 11, 12, 7:48 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,732
Originally Posted by pdxer View Post
that warning only happens with 500ma usb ports.

1a chargers, including the ones that come with iphones as well as third party ones, charge ipads even while the ipad is in use and without any warning. it won't be as fast as a 2a charger but it's not that slow.
This has not been my experience.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Jan 11, 12, 9:43 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1MM 0P, AA, DL, *wood, Lifetime FPC Plat., IHG, HHD
Posts: 6,500
Hmm

Originally Posted by gfunkdave View Post
Sign me up!

-It can use a wireless signal as a WAN and redistribute it as a separate WLAN
I can't seem to find this info on the data/spec sheet, but if it CAN do that I'm in for one for sure. Although, I have the feeling a new apple AE is coming too.

update: found it, sorry. Seems to show WAN to WLAN access.

Wish it didn't have WPS though, just a waste of a button and possibly makes the router and WPA security hackable. Not a big issue for most though.

Last edited by nmenaker; Jan 11, 12 at 9:52 am
nmenaker is offline  
Old Jan 11, 12, 10:01 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,732
Originally Posted by nmenaker View Post
Wish it didn't have WPS though, just a waste of a button and possibly makes the router and WPA security hackable. Not a big issue for most though.
Yeah, agreed...but hopefully there's an option in the firmware to turn off WPS that actually turns it off.

Or perhaps the router will be compatible with DD-WRT/Tomato.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Jan 11, 12, 10:17 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1MM 0P, AA, DL, *wood, Lifetime FPC Plat., IHG, HHD
Posts: 6,500
even

Originally Posted by gfunkdave View Post
Yeah, agreed...but hopefully there's an option in the firmware to turn off WPS that actually turns it off.
even turned off WPS can still be technically on for some routers enough to allow WPA to be brute force hacked.
nmenaker is offline  
Old Jan 11, 12, 11:44 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,732
Originally Posted by nmenaker View Post
even turned off WPS can still be technically on for some routers enough to allow WPA to be brute force hacked.
Which is exactly what I meant when I said "hopefully there's an option in the firmware to turn off WPS that actually turns it off."
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Jan 11, 12, 11:57 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1MM 0P, AA, DL, *wood, Lifetime FPC Plat., IHG, HHD
Posts: 6,500
Ah, sorry my bad read.
nmenaker is offline  
Old Jan 11, 12, 1:20 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: BA GGL, Hilton Diamond, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,314
Originally Posted by gfunkdave View Post
This has not been my experience.
I only ever use my iPhone chargers to charge my iPad. Takes longer but works fine.
stueys is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread