Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

is the ipad2 carrier locked?

is the ipad2 carrier locked?

Reply

Old May 5, 11, 7:25 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 55
is the ipad2 carrier locked?

I'm taking my ipad2 to taipei. do i need to worry about having it unlocked to be able to use a pre-paid sim card for data? could someone please confirm this?

thanks in advance
philltx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 11, 7:34 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 923
Originally Posted by philltx View Post
I'm taking my ipad2 to taipei. do i need to worry about having it unlocked to be able to use a pre-paid sim card for data? could someone please confirm this?
ipads are unlocked.
pdxer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 11, 10:42 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 182
As pdxer said all ipads are unlocked but make sure you have the AT&T version if you want to use the GSM network.
Danthecran is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 11, 6:52 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Programs: AA EXP, lowly UA 1K; Hyatt Diamond, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold; National EC, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,035
Originally Posted by Danthecran View Post
As pdxer said all ipads are unlocked but make sure you have the AT&T version if you want to use the GSM network.
Yes, good point, the Verizon iPad will not let you easily switch in a new SIM card when you travel abroad as it does not even have a SIM slot, I believe, as it works on the CDMA network.
adambadam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 11, 9:45 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Miami
Programs: DL Silver, AA Gold
Posts: 568
Originally Posted by adambadam View Post
Yes, good point, the Verizon iPad will not let you easily switch in a new SIM card when you travel abroad as it does not even have a SIM slot, I believe, as it works on the CDMA network.
No SIM, and I don't know if you can get it reprogrammed to work on foreign CDMA networks.
BonzoESC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 11, 6:27 am
  #6  
jdn
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Los Gatos, CA (SJC)
Programs: AA Gold, HHonors Gold (Ex PLT and Diamond)
Posts: 167
Please note the iPad uses a "MicroSIM" which has a different form factor than a regular SIM. The technology is the same, and apparently you can just cut a regular SIM to fit... just be prepared.
http://www.solutios.com/simcutting/
jdn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 11, 8:05 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Um lugar muito bonito
Programs: UA GS, UA 2-Million Miler, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, HHonours Diamond, Marriott Plat, EVA Gold
Posts: 161
Yes, you can try the DIY approach to cutting down a SIM card, or get a ready-made cutter on Amazon (which is what I used to make my US T-Mobile card work in my unlocked iPhone 4).

Fact is, since the iPhone 4 uses microSIMs and iPads are getting rather ubiquitous globally, it's not difficult to find prepaid microSIMs ready to drop in your pad in many countries.

I don't have any experience with this in Taiwan, but I've found these in Singapore, UK, Netherlands and Bahrain so far. With luck, you can probably get one from a mobile operator at the airport.
Sierra Kilo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 11, 6:39 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: LAX/OXR/BUR/SAN/YYZ/YKF/BUF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K, AA EXP, Kimpton IC, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold, Omni Black, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,297
Originally Posted by Danthecran View Post
As pdxer said all ipads are unlocked but make sure you have the AT&T version if you want to use the GSM network.
The one issue with the GSM version you have to look out for - make sure the local 3/4G network is on the same bands as AT&T. T-Mobile has the superior network, but iPhones/iPads are not on their bands and will only work up to EDGE speeds.
N1120A is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 11, 12:37 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Programs: DL SM Diamond, AA Ex. Platinum, Ph.D in STFU
Posts: 464
Originally Posted by N1120A View Post
The one issue with the GSM version you have to look out for - make sure the local 3/4G network is on the same bands as AT&T.
1) The iPad and iPad 2 don't work on a 4G network. Also, it supports all global 3G bands, UMTS/HSDPA/HSUPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz) Its not a factor of a different frequency with T-Mobile (they also transmit on 1900 and 2100 MHz, but rather use a different protocol HSPA and HSPA+.

Originally Posted by N1120A View Post
T-Mobile has the superior network
2) Did you seriously just write that with a straight face?" I'm quite the ATT basher myself, but that assertion is just asinine. There is a reason ATT is buying T-Mobile and not the other way around.
Big_Dutch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 11, 12:48 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Metro Detroit
Programs: DL KM
Posts: 627
No. Not possible. GSM uses completely different circuitry than CDMA.

Originally Posted by BonzoESC View Post
No SIM, and I don't know if you can get it reprogrammed to work on foreign CDMA networks.
Easy Victor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 11, 2:20 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 182
Originally Posted by Easy Victor View Post
No. Not possible. GSM uses completely different circuitry than CDMA.
That is correct, so if you have the verizon ipad you will not be able to use it on most of the networks in the world.
Danthecran is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 11, 5:27 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 53
The AT&T version is GSM and therefore carrier unlocked. The Verizon version is CDMA and not unlocked. If you want the unlocked version, go with the AT&T version.
juelzkellz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 11, 11:24 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 140
Its unlocked but you MAY need to connect it to iTunes with the SIM card of the carrier you want to use before it will work. That is because in some cases, the iPad will keep the APN settings (those are the settings used to connect to the internet) of the SIM card you activated it with.

If you don't, you should get the APN settings for your preferred carrier and be prepared to enter them manually in the iPad for it to work, if that is an option for you in network settings.

You can also go to www.unlockit.co.nz and email the carrier profile to yourself, and make sure to open the email with the profile right away (but do not install the profile) so you can access it without being connected to the network if needed, to install the profile of the carrier of your preference.
marktwothousand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 11, 12:13 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Programs: AA EXP 3MM, UA 1K 2MM, CZ Gld, VS Gld, SPG Lifetime Plt, IC PltAm, Hilton Dmd, Shangrila Diamond
Posts: 188
Also:

1. carry a paper clip or pin with you so you can easily switch SIM cards.
2. plan how/where you are going to safely store the SIM cards you are not using (I typically have about 10 with me when I travel)
ghfatw is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: