FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Travel Technology (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/travel-technology-169/)
-   -   Considering getting noise cancelling headphones (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/travel-technology/1198262-considering-getting-noise-cancelling-headphones.html)

tryinginvain Mar 24, 2011 11:18 pm

Considering getting noise cancelling headphones

I've never used this type of headphones before so I'm not sure if I should get them. I have some airmiles (Canada) and don't really collect them anymore so I'm thinking about using them to pick up a pair of JVC HA-NC260 headphones.

I don't fly a lot compared to most people on here, but I have two trips from Ontario, Canada to Asia in 2011. I've done that trip a couple of times and I'm thinking anything that makes is easier to deal with is worth it. My first trip is an award redemption in J but my trip later in the year is all in Y. There will probably be one or two short trips other than those - but it's the long haul trips that I'd want these for.

I'm sure there are better headphones, but I'm not looking at purchasing them - these are the only ones I can get with my airmiles. I know nobody can tell me how I will like them but I'm hoping to get some feedback and decide if I want to use my points for these or redeem them for something else.

Thanks in advance!

vivid2012 Mar 24, 2011 11:24 pm

How about this Panasonic Noise Canceling Headphones?? Nice stuff. It might meet your needs well. Hope it helps.

Airport Runner Mar 25, 2011 3:35 am

I have tried noise cancelling headphones and found that they worked reasonably well but did not silence background noise, they reduced it. Over all, I didn't think they were worth the space they took up. I use in-ear noise isolating ear buds and get nearly the same effect with much less size and weight. When I'm not planning to listen to anything, I use self fitting foam earplugs.

TheBagman Mar 25, 2011 12:48 pm