Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

Unlocked MIFI Solution

Unlocked MIFI Solution

Old Mar 18, 11, 6:22 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 841
Unlocked MIFI Solution

Hi,

This is a problem I am trying to solve for - Internet access in Croatia. We stay in Croatia for about a month each year. At our flat we do not have telephone or cable lines, but we can use a 3G dongle. The problem is there is a bunch of staying with individual PCs, iPhones, iPads, etc so it would be best if we had WiFI access over there for the different devices. No neighbors have Internet access - as far as I am aware of.

In the UK, MiFI devices are getting quiet popular. Would it be possible to get an unlocked MiFI device and then just use the Croatian 3G sim card in it once down in Croatia? Or can I get a UK MiFi device that I use here and get it unlocked?

Thanks,
G
pred02 is offline  
Old Mar 18, 11, 8:02 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: On the road in North America....
Programs: UA 1MM, *G, Global Entry
Posts: 579
If you have a USB modem (dongle) that already works, the easiest thing to do is get a Wifi router that you can connect the dongle to. Something like:

http://www.amazon.com/Cradlepoint-CT...dp/B001FWH0A0/

joe
FlyingDiver is offline  
Old Mar 18, 11, 8:33 am
  #3  
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Easton, CT, USA
Programs: ua prem exec, Former hilton diamond
Posts: 31,801
Amazon sells unlocked mifi's, so they are available (just make sure you are getting the right model for the area you need), though it's probably not the best solution. If Amazon has them, probably everybody does.

Unless you need it to be a portable device, a router you can use a current dongle in would be a way better way to do it like the one mentioned.
cordelli is offline  
Old Mar 18, 11, 12:22 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: On the road in North America....
Programs: UA 1MM, *G, Global Entry
Posts: 579
If portability is important, this unit is battery powered, like a MiFi:

http://www.amazon.com/CradlePoint-PH...dp/B001212ELY/

joe
FlyingDiver is offline  
Old Mar 18, 11, 2:39 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,548
Zoom

Zoom has a similar device to a MiFi. I purchased it for Apx $150 off Amazon and used it in Dubai and the UK.
Dubai Stu is offline  
Old Mar 19, 11, 1:57 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Anwhere ex-MAN
Programs: A3 *G, BA Silver
Posts: 2,706
+1 for the Zoom 3G travel router. About 60 from Amazon in the UK.

However, I find that the speed on my roaming Vodafone UK stick can really suck when abroad - the congestion seems to be in Vodafone in CH - pathping shows huge packet losses.
MAN Pax is offline  
Old Mar 22, 11, 6:04 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
Programs: DL GM/SC; GE; Marriott Titanium; IHG Spire
Posts: 2,014
I have a Novatel MiFi 2352 and am really happy with it. I've used it in the UK, Ireland, France and Italy. Just pop in a SIM card and you've got wifi. I prefer it to a dongle because I can use it with both my netbook and iPod touch. It wasn't cheap but has turned out to be a great investment.
ShopAround is offline  
Old Mar 24, 11, 2:49 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Programs: PC RA, Hertz PC, (Flybe) Premier card, Tesco Platinum
Posts: 1,329
Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Android; Opera Mini/5.1.22460/24.743; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

My htc desire can act as a wifi hotspot, plus be a phone as well. Why get a new device when a phone can do it?
Macspreader is online now  
Old Mar 30, 11, 6:32 pm
  #9  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area
Programs: DL SM, UA MP.
Posts: 12,730
Originally Posted by Macspreader View Post
Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Android; Opera Mini/5.1.22460/24.743; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

My htc desire can act as a wifi hotspot, plus be a phone as well. Why get a new device when a phone can do it?
How much is an unlocked HTC Desire these days, compared to an unlocked Mifi, especially for import into the US?

What is the battery life like when being used in hotspot mode?

Some people are using cheap android phones like the Orange San Francisco (ZTE Blade) or the Huawei Ideos for hotspots. Or Symbian phones which can run Joiku Hotspot software.

Yeah one good thing about mifis over routers is that you can be out in the field, using it with your smart phone, for GPS-aware apps.

But a lot of early mifis seem to be really weak, like no WPA security for instance.
wco81 is offline  
Old Mar 30, 11, 7:11 pm
  #10  
jg3
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: HVN
Programs: HHonors, Marriott, SPG == Gold.
Posts: 245
You could try a device from Cradlepoint. http://cradlepoint.com/products/wire...e-router-ctr35

We use them for work and for the cost >$100 US they use your unlocked 3g/4g usb dongle and it works great.
jg3 is offline  
Old Mar 31, 11, 7:43 am
  #11  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area
Programs: DL SM, UA MP.
Posts: 12,730
What is the battery life like on those cradlepoints compared to the Mifis?

Has anyone tried the Huawei Mifis, as opposed to the Novotel ones?

They seem to be about half the price on eBay.
wco81 is offline  
Old Mar 31, 11, 9:32 am
  #12  
jg3
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: HVN
Programs: HHonors, Marriott, SPG == Gold.
Posts: 245
Battery life is about the same, no more than 4-6 hours.
jg3 is offline  
Old Mar 31, 11, 10:50 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,931
FYI all you need is a dongle inserted into any computer with a working wifi connection. You can then create a peer-to-peer network that others can use.
Palal is offline  
Old Mar 31, 11, 10:57 am
  #14  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area
Programs: DL SM, UA MP.
Posts: 12,730
I've heard some Mifis won't work while being charged?

Anyone encounter such limitations with the Mifis or the Cradlepoint product?
wco81 is offline  
Old Apr 1, 11, 2:40 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Anwhere ex-MAN
Programs: A3 *G, BA Silver
Posts: 2,706
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
I've heard some Mifis won't work while being charged?

Anyone encounter such limitations with the Mifis or the Cradlepoint product?
Zoom works fine off AC or battery. Battery charges whilst on AC.
MAN Pax is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: