Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

tethering my GPS to laptop to use large screen ?

tethering my GPS to laptop to use large screen ?

Old Dec 9, 10, 9:20 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: LAX
Programs: Delta Plat, BMI Gold, Subway Sandwich Mustard and was UAL 1K for 2010, now 1K for 2011 too :)
Posts: 1,234
tethering my GPS to laptop to use large screen ?

Hi

is there anyway to tether my GPS ( TomTOm or Garmin) to my laptop so I can use the laptops larger screen ?

or a program that will let me use the maps on my laptop and still have the GPS detect location ?

thanks for your ideas

Rally
rally is offline  
Old Dec 10, 10, 12:52 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: MCO/FRA
Programs: None anymore
Posts: 799
M$ Street & Trips

Only thing that comes to mind quick and easy: M$ Street & Trips
Flahusky is offline  
Old Dec 10, 10, 8:51 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DTW
Programs: Dirt Status w/ All
Posts: 4,994
It probably depends on the model, but I know my Garmin Nuvi won't transmit GPS data to a computer over USB or bluetooth. They do make USB GPS receivers specifically for use with computers.
tev9999 is offline  
Old Dec 10, 10, 7:02 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: metro NY area
Programs: SPG Jet Blue Delta AA
Posts: 96
They do have a desktop version of Garmin software. I have it on a Sony Vaio P which has built in GPS.
losta is offline  
Old Dec 11, 10, 1:41 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: LAX
Programs: Delta Plat, BMI Gold, Subway Sandwich Mustard and was UAL 1K for 2010, now 1K for 2011 too :)
Posts: 1,234
thanks for the ideas,

I already own TomToms and a Garmin so do not really want to buy another program like the garmin,

And I do not think there is a way to use the maps on my laptop, even without the GPS detect your location part,

Sometimes I would like to figure out a route like you can do with google map / mapquest but do not have wifi to log in, I know M$ Street & Trips would do it but just do not want to spend the bucks......

Rally
rally is offline  
Old Dec 13, 10, 8:34 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: in the vicinity of SFO
Programs: AA PLT 1MM
Posts: 18,710
Originally Posted by rally View Post
Sometimes I would like to figure out a route like you can do with google map / mapquest but do not have wifi to log in, I know M$ Street & Trips would do it but just do not want to spend the bucks......
Here's one for $25 including the USB GPS receiver:
http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Stre...2293914&sr=1-8

Since the receiver is worth about $20-30 that's (roughly) free for the software. Year-old mapping software drops in price pretty fast, and IME most roads don't change that much - I jumped from 2006 to 2009 because my MSDNAA copies don't get updated every year.
nkedel is online now  
Old Dec 23, 10, 6:37 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 72
Originally Posted by rally View Post

I already own TomToms.....

Sometimes I would like to figure out a route
I just connect my TomTom to Home, in the same way as for any update, & then choose Operate My Device from within Home.

I then have access to the normal GPS function for planning etc.

Or did you want more than that, or just not to have to connect the GPS at all?

Ron
Yokel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: