Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Reload this Page >

[Consolidated] VPN Provider Recommendations

[Consolidated] VPN Provider Recommendations

Old Jan 19, 11, 6:18 am
  #16  
aly
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ABJ
Posts: 755
Originally Posted by tugokc View Post
Did some research, and the home net speed is not adequate so I went with Witopia. Its easy to use and so far have put it on two Win 7, Ipad, and a Touch in the past 24 hours. Got the top of the line product for about $40 with this coupon, lasting till 1-31.

https://activecaptain.com/newsletters/2011-01-05.php

Will find out next week how it does in MAD and FCO
thank you for the link; great pricing..!
aly is offline  
Old Jan 19, 11, 1:16 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: LAX
Programs: Delta Plat, BMI Gold, Subway Sandwich Mustard and was UAL 1K for 2010, now 1K for 2011 too :)
Posts: 1,234
will these also work on a Netbook or does it need more processing power ?

Rally
rally is offline  
Old Jan 19, 11, 1:43 pm
  #18  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: KIX, UKB, YVR
Programs: AC
Posts: 2,265
No problem.

Have witopia on all three of my computers including a netbook. No problems.
Taiwaned is offline  
Old Jan 20, 11, 7:58 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,419
Originally Posted by wpj View Post
I use VyprVPN
I use it as well. Lets you use two different locations in the states and a few others around the world.
Astrophsx is offline  
Old Mar 8, 11, 7:14 am
  #20  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Croix, USVI
Programs: AAdvantage Platinum & Million Miler, HHonors Gold
Posts: 910
I use HMA VPN Pro! which works very well, I can get speeds up to 12mbps on my 12mbps line (so 100% utilization) from the USVI and stream Netflix in HD. I posted a blog about it on my site here: http://www.blendblog.net/Default.asp...=36&EntryID=66. Hope this helps!
stiphy is offline  
Old Apr 12, 11, 12:57 pm
  #21  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 344
netflix offer

Do free trials qualify? or only paid trials?

So I have to wait until 30 days(free trial) plus 1-2 weeks(paid memberships) for mileages to get posted?

Thanks
superking is offline  
Old Apr 13, 11, 3:29 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Singapore, Warsaw, Surfers Paradise
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold>>>Silver>>>Blue, Finnair Silver, Royal Caribbean Diamond
Posts: 4,873
So when you get a VPN then you choose a country where you want your computer to be "visible" from in terms of IP, right? Is there any reason why you'd choose the country you live in for your VPN (StrongVPN offers lots of countries to choose from)?
aster is offline  
Old Apr 13, 11, 7:34 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1MM 0P, AA, DL, *wood, Lifetime FPC Plat., IHG, HHD
Posts: 6,489
Originally Posted by aster View Post
So when you get a VPN then you choose a country where you want your computer to be "visible" from in terms of IP, right? Is there any reason why you'd choose the country you live in for your VPN (StrongVPN offers lots of countries to choose from)?
what does this mean? If you want to make it APPEAR that your computer is in the USA, for itunes, netflix streaming and the like, then you would need a VPN hosted/based in the USA.

Is that what you meant?
nmenaker is offline  
Old Apr 13, 11, 8:06 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Singapore, Warsaw, Surfers Paradise
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold>>>Silver>>>Blue, Finnair Silver, Royal Caribbean Diamond
Posts: 4,873
Yes, many thanks.

Also, in terms of speed is it better to get a VPN far away from home or a local one?
aster is offline  
Old Apr 13, 11, 11:16 am
  #25  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,663
Originally Posted by aster View Post
Yes, many thanks.

Also, in terms of speed is it better to get a VPN far away from home or a local one?
Closer is generally faster, but it's moot if you're going to be accessing it from overseas. There's not much point in getting it for Netflix and the like and using it in the USA. It'll be slower and the quality worse than a direct connection.
gfunkdave is offline  
Old Apr 15, 11, 11:25 am
  #26  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: YYZ
Posts: 712
My favourite VPN service is Overplay.net. It's quite popular amongst Korean gamers, and let's face it, who could be more knowledgeable about VPN speeds and reliability :P

They also offer a free speed-limited VPN service that isn't identified as a VPN IP by Hulu.
Coolers is offline  
Old Apr 15, 11, 8:12 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York/Moscow
Programs: Aeroflot Gold, DL Silver, Marriott Gold, Global Entry, NEXUS
Posts: 243
HMA Pro from Moscow

I, too, use HMA Pro from my apartment in Moscow (which doesn't have a great connection - 2-3 mps) and am happy with Netflix. Also use it with Vonage Pro, which did not work withouti a US IP. Have used it from other cities in Russia/Europe/Central Asia as well

http://www.hidemyass.com/
MaecDavidMiller is offline  
Old Apr 15, 11, 8:48 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Singapore, Warsaw, Surfers Paradise
Programs: KrisFlyer Gold>>>Silver>>>Blue, Finnair Silver, Royal Caribbean Diamond
Posts: 4,873
How secure are VPNs? I mean if I go on holiday to some far away place where I don't quite trust the internet connection/hotel network admins/local ISP admins, does a VPN absolutely guarantee that nobody there can pull logins and passwords from my daily internet use when accessing email accounts, online banking, FB, etc.
aster is offline  
Old Apr 16, 11, 10:13 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: IAD
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, Global Entry, TSA Pre✓
Posts: 706
I, too, use HMA Pro from my apartment in Moscow (which doesn't have a great connection - 2-3 mps) and am happy with Netflix. Also use it with Vonage Pro, which did not work withouti a US IP. Have used it from other cities in Russia/Europe/Central Asia as well

http://www.hidemyass.com/
When I click on this link, I get this message:

Trend Micro has confirmed that this website can transmit malicious software or has been involved in online scams or fraud.

Close This Window

Please close this page.
lost*in*cyberspace is offline  
Old Apr 16, 11, 11:06 am
  #30  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PWM - the way life should be
Posts: 11,663
Originally Posted by lost*in*cyberspace View Post
When I click on this link, I get this message:

Trend Micro has confirmed that this website can transmit malicious software or has been involved in online scams or fraud.

Close This Window

Please close this page.
Assuming it's not true, Trend Micro apparently has an error in its malicious sites list.

Firefox doesn't give me a similar error. The site looks fine.
gfunkdave is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread