Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues
Reload this Page >

Does skin color/accent matter: Flying without ID -

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Does skin color/accent matter: Flying without ID -

Search this Thread

Old Nov 21, 2010, 10:44 pm
Original Poster

Arrow Does skin color/accent matter: Flying without ID -

Hi,

I'm new to FT and have extensively searched this forum and the web for comments on this issue more recent than 2008 before posting. I have not been able to answer my question, and so I come to you, fellow FT friends.

I want to know if someone who does not have a US-government issued ID AT ALL (illegally here) can fly as a "selectee" by saying when they check in that they lost their ID? A secondary question is, if someone has a Spanish (or any) accent or is not white, are they treated differently during the Selectee search than a "presumed American citizen" who is light-skinned?

I know people can fly without ID by being a ssss "Selectee," where from what I have read people get an extensive pat-down and physical search of their bag and that is it. Multiple people in FT have tested this theory and gotten through the airport. But are they all white? Are they all American citizens? If not, is anything different?

I have also read that trying to show a non-US govt issued ID can be problematic if you DO try (an expired ID, for example, or a Matricula Consular).

Some people have said that in their SSSS Selectee search their identity was verified in a database because they had owned a driver's license; they were told to report their card as lost/stolen while still in the airport. Others have said they were surprised by how easy it was, and just got a more thorough pat-down and puffer test but make no mention of having to even give their name, or what was done after that. Some said that they could show their ATM card or library card during the process and that was enough.