Wiki Posts
Search

worn wheels not covered by warranty?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 25, 2016, 4:47 pm
Original Poster

Programs: DL Gold, Hilton Diamond, IHG Diamond, Best Western Diamond Selec
worn wheels not covered by warranty?

My wheels keep failing on me, so I bought an American Tourister 2-wheel carry-on, thinking it'd last longer than no name brands. It comes with a 10-year warrranty.

I've been using it for about 2 years, then wheels stopped rolling because they're worn.

I took them to 2 Samsonite repair centers in Vancouver, they both declined to honor the warranty, because it's 'normal wear and tear'. It's not like I use that luggage everyday: the rest of the luggage is still in good condition.

If this gets rejected, I wonder what that 10-year warranty actually covers.
geodork likes this.
Old Aug 26, 2016, 9:16 am

Programs: UA Pt, Marriott Ti, Hertz PC
Wheels are generally considered a wear item. If it's just "worn" it will not be covered. If it breaks due to a manufacturing defect (missing screws or something), then it would be covered. The only way a wear item could potentially be covered is if you can convince them that it's a material defect, although that would be a tough hill to climb.

http://shop.americantourister.com/Warranty.html

(bolding mine)
Limited 10 Year Global Warranty
American Tourister products are rigorously tested to ensure that the travel products you trust meet stringent standards. Consequently, if a problem occurs with this American Tourister product (the “Product”) and the problem is caused by manufacturing defects in material and workmanship, American Tourister will, in its discretion, either fix or replace the Product in accordance with the warranty terms and conditions stated herein. The warranty provided for herein applies only to the first purchaser or gift recipient of the Product for a period of ten years starting from the date this Product was purchased.