Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Photography
Reload this Page >

Help w/ Lion Safari Photo

Old Jun 21, 2012, 11:00 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA PLT / 2MM

Hi, I went to Tanzania earlier this year for my first safari, and I just bought a couple groupons for 20x30 pic to canvas that I'd like to use for a couple choice shots. I took a pic of a male lion that I really like for his facial expression, but I'm really disappointed that the left side of his face is blown out from the sun. I'm a beginner with LR, but I tried fixing it up as much as I could and it's not as good as I'd like it to be. Can anyone suggest what else I can do to try to make this better? (I shot in JPG, not RAW, FYI) Would this type of defect in a photo make it unsatisfactory for you to want to hang on your wall / would most normal non-photo people notice there's something wrong with this photo? Thanks for any help.

P.S. Here is the original shot from my camera and my editing job:

Old Jun 21, 2012, 12:29 pm
Moderator, OneWorld

Programs: RAA RIP; AA ExEXP
Originally Posted by $1500forGLD
Hi, I went to Tanzania earlier this year for my first safari, and I just bought a couple groupons for 20x30 pic to canvas that I'd like to use for a couple choice shots. I took a pic of a male lion that I really like for his facial expression, but I'm really disappointed that the left side of his face is blown out from the sun. I'm a beginner with LR, but I tried fixing it up as much as I could and it's not as good as I'd like it to be. Can anyone suggest what else I can do to try to make this better? (I shot in JPG, not RAW, FYI) Would this type of defect in a photo make it unsatisfactory for you to want to hang on your wall / would most normal non-photo people notice there's something wrong with this photo? Thanks for any help.

P.S. Here is the original shot from my camera and my editing job... (snip)