Layover in Charlotte

Old Aug 19, 18, 8:04 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
Layover in Charlotte

I am traveling alone with my almost 5 year old to Disney.There are no direct flights from our airport. Our flight is at 5am and I have two options for layovers: 1 or 3 hours. I will be gate checking a stroller. Is there a chance we'd make a one hour connection at CLT ? Is it better to take the 3hr layover. If we do that is there anything to do for 3 hrs for my kid.

Thanks !
Foxybeat is offline  
Old Aug 19, 18, 8:07 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jersey
Programs: UA PLT, Marriott PLT
Posts: 1,081
take the 3 hour layover. 1 hour doesnt give you a ton of room if your first flight gets delayed. What you dont want is to miss your second flight and be stranded in the airport with your 5 year old and scrambling or having to run through the airport with the kid.

1 hour is doable if the conditions are fine but you just wont have much room for error.
njxbean is offline  
Old Aug 20, 18, 11:39 am
  #3  

2019 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NC
Programs: AA Lifetime Plat - 2MM miles
Posts: 8,304
1 hour is doable but, depending on where your gates are, you may have to run. Running across an airport with a 5yo is never fun. In CLT, there are lots of restaurants, rocking chairs, and art exhibits. What time are you landing in CLT, you mention take-off of your original flight (5am) but not what time you land.

Also note that there is some construction in some of the concourses so they get very very crowded, making running to a flight harder, esp. with a stroller.
Redhead is online now  
Old Aug 20, 18, 11:50 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany; Toronto, Canada; and SW Florida, USA
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Globalist, and assorted others
Posts: 22,841
I suppose an important question is; where are you coming from? One hour from an international journey is pretty much impossible, and there are a number of airports in the US where a delayed departure at certain times of the year is pretty much guaranteed.
LondonElite is offline  
Old Aug 20, 18, 12:30 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
I am coming from Richmond and landing there around 6:30am. If I do the 3 hr layover, we are there till around 9:20am.
Foxybeat is offline  
Old Aug 20, 18, 12:39 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany; Toronto, Canada; and SW Florida, USA
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Globalist, and assorted others
Posts: 22,841
If you are on one ticket, you will be ok.
LondonElite is offline  
Old Aug 20, 18, 12:44 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
I am on one ticket but if my flight is late and I miss my connection , what happens then ? I am travelling American Airlines.
Foxybeat is offline  
Old Aug 20, 18, 12:45 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany; Toronto, Canada; and SW Florida, USA
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Globalist, and assorted others
Posts: 22,841
They'll put you on the next flight. If there are no more flights that day, you may end up paying for a hotel but I wouldn't fret about that yet.
LondonElite is offline  
Old Aug 22, 18, 9:27 am
  #9  

2019 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NC
Programs: AA Lifetime Plat - 2MM miles
Posts: 8,304
Personally, having traveled with my now 5yo many times (and I'm a single mom, so always alone with her), I would do the longer connection. Land, get some food (hungry kids are awful !) , walk the concourses and see the planes, let him/her run a little, rock on the rocking chairs, and be unstressed about running to your flight. The last thing you want is a Disney-focused 5 yo to miss a flight and be whiny and cranky and spend even MORE time at the airport.
Redhead is online now  
Old Aug 22, 18, 10:40 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LAX
Posts: 9,123
The ungodly early flights such as yours tend to be on time.. check historical on time performance but imo 1 hr connection should be ok in your case..
azepine00 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread