Nintendo DS vs. IPod Touch

Old Jul 18, 11, 5:43 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Gymboree Global Services
Nintendo DS vs. IPod Touch

6 year old girl is getting one of these soon. I haven't done much research yet. Not primarily for travel but will get used on occasional flights and some 3-hour car rides.

anyone have any opinions?
Old Jul 19, 11, 9:22 am

Programs: United Plus
I'm not an expert but I asked my kids. They said they liked their DS's because of the two screens and some other features the DS has that the other doesn't. I'll ask them again when they wake up.
Old Jul 19, 11, 11:19 am

Programs: DL 0.22 MM, AA 0.34 MM, PC Plat Amb, Hertz #1 GC 5*
I suspect most kids would say the DS, while most non-kids would say the Touch.

Funny how that works, eh?
Old Jul 19, 11, 3:37 pm

Programs: UA 1K MM, Hilton-Dia, Marriott-G
Get the DS. No kid will want the iPhone/Touch over the DS. It's the games - they are addictive (e.g. Pokemon, Mario etc). You need some hacking skillz to play the same games on iOS e.g. jailbroken iOS, emulator and turn the carts into ROMs etc.
Old Jul 20, 11, 10:17 am

Programs: No Loyalty to any airline
My youngest votes for the DS. "You know mom, you can play games on the DS and don't need WIFI, and sometimes the Itouch gets stuck. Also, the DS lasts a lot longer, because the battery dies on the Itouch sooner."

I would have thought she'd vote for the iPod because she likes to watch TV shows, but I was wrong.
Old Jul 21, 11, 7:07 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: AA Plat 2MM, MR Gold, Avis Pref
my kids have the DS, then moved to the DSi, and have graduated to the 3DS; the DS systems wins hands down, they love them, they love them over their PSP's, PSGo's and to a much lesser extent, even their IPT, however the IPT's are great for movies. the older one who has an IPAD likes that better than the IPT for obvious reasons.