Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > Thailand
Reload this Page >

passport / immigration question

passport / immigration question

Old Jan 16, 20, 3:57 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: AMS-LHR
Programs: BA Gold, KL/AF Gold
Posts: 367
passport / immigration question

Hi everyone,
Couldnít find a thread elsewhere about this on FT: I will travel to Thailand in March as I visit Thailand at least once a year. However, last time I left Thailand the immigration officer forgot (?) to take the departure record (the white piece of paper) from my passport, which I didnít discover until I arrived back home.
Will this be a problem at the immigration desk during my next trip in March? They do also put stamp in passports showing the departure from Thailand..
Great_circle is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 4:43 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 11,845
I think that the current procedure is that the airline collects the departure portion (of the TM6) at the gate. That's been my experience.

There should be a rectangular stamp on arrival, and a triangular stamp, in close proximity to the arrival stamp, upon departure.

Not seeing an issue here, unless you've withheld other relevant information.

More detail is always helpful, rather than less, in diagnosing potential problems.
Great_circle likes this.
transpac is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 5:31 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: AMS-LHR
Programs: BA Gold, KL/AF Gold
Posts: 367
Originally Posted by transpac View Post
I think that the current procedure is that the airline collects the departure portion (of the TM6) at the gate. That's been my experience.

There should be a rectangular stamp on arrival, and a triangular stamp, in close proximity to the arrival stamp, upon departure.


I always received both triangular and rectangular stamps and last trip was the same. Only difference is the piece of paper that I still have and which in my experience is collected by the immigration officer upon departure.

Last edited by Great_circle; Jan 16, 20 at 5:52 am
Great_circle is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 5:52 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Truth or Consequences, NM
Programs: HH Gold, Marriott Bombay Titanium, Hertz President's Circle, UA Silver, Mobile Passport Unobtanium
Posts: 5,422
No problem whatsoever, based upon the information provided in the OP.
Great_circle likes this.
Diplomatico is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 6:43 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: QR Silver, AC, EVA Gold, UL silver and PAL. IHG Gold
Posts: 979
I was there twice last month. It was the immigration who collected the departure card. As long as you have the departure stamp it won't be a problem. Actually the departure cards are more for legal requirements.
Great_circle likes this.
dav662 is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 5:42 pm
  #6  
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Upcountry Maui, HI
Posts: 12,356
Originally Posted by transpac View Post
I think that the current procedure is that the airline collects the departure portion (of the TM6) at the gate. That's been my experience.
Really? Mine is always collected by the exit immigration officer including when I exited BKK a week ago.

-David
Great_circle likes this.
LIH Prem is offline  
Old Jan 23, 20, 5:40 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: AMS-LHR
Programs: BA Gold, KL/AF Gold
Posts: 367
Originally Posted by dav662 View Post
It was the immigration who collected the departure card. .
That is how I remember it indeed

Originally Posted by dav662 View Post
As long as you have the departure stamp it won't be a problem.

There is a departure stamp from that particular departure present in my passport.

I even have the digital boarding pass from that day on my Iphone.

Also, I should perhaps bring the departure card in question with me, just in case.

Last edited by Great_circle; Jan 23, 20 at 5:45 am Reason: typo
Great_circle is offline  
Old Jan 23, 20, 8:48 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: QR Silver, AC, EVA Gold, UL silver and PAL. IHG Gold
Posts: 979
Originally Posted by Great_circle View Post
That is how I remember it indeed


There is a departure stamp from that particular departure present in my passport.

I even have the digital boarding pass from that day on my Iphone.

Also, I should perhaps bring the departure card in question with me, just in case.


Yes it shouldn't be a problem but bring those just in case something pops up. It's the scanning of the passport that's the entry of arrival and departure and not the cards.
Great_circle likes this.
dav662 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 20, 8:43 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: AMS-LHR
Programs: BA Gold, KL/AF Gold
Posts: 367
Thanks everyone for all input, I passed immigration without any issues.
Also, it was nice that the Priority Lane cards have been discontinued and a boarding pass (first or business) is sufficient for fast track.
Great_circle is offline  
Old Feb 7, 20, 1:39 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Truth or Consequences, NM
Programs: HH Gold, Marriott Bombay Titanium, Hertz President's Circle, UA Silver, Mobile Passport Unobtanium
Posts: 5,422
Originally Posted by Great_circle View Post
Thanks everyone for all input, I passed immigration without any issues.
Also, it was nice that the Priority Lane cards have been discontinued and a boarding pass (first or business) is sufficient for fast track.
$40 buys you priority lane access when purchasing through a certain limousine service company, regardless of the cabin in which one is traveling.
Diplomatico is offline  
Old Feb 8, 20, 11:21 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Portland, Oregon
Programs: United Mileage Plus, EVA Infinity Mileage Lands, Alaska mileage plan
Posts: 37
I think you will find they changed the rules. No economy class pass can get fast track anymore (unless they forget to check boarding pass) even if they are using a fast track service or a limo company that has fast track service.
CharlieA is offline  
Old Feb 9, 20, 12:27 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by CharlieA View Post
I think you will find they changed the rules. No economy class pass can get fast track anymore (unless they forget to check boarding pass) even if they are using a fast track service or a limo company that has fast track service.
You can still purchase fastrack when flying economy as mentioned above i used the same company about 1 month ago with no issues .
tg911 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 20, 12:55 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BDU
Programs: DL:MM, Marriott:LTT
Posts: 8,778
Originally Posted by CharlieA View Post
I think you will find they changed the rules. No economy class pass can get fast track anymore (unless they forget to check boarding pass) even if they are using a fast track service or a limo company that has fast track service.
Some airlines always gave the fast track passes to elite passengers flying in coach, like SkyTeam Elite Plus on KE. Has that gone away, too? Or will the fact the BP clearly shows the status be enough?
CJKatl is offline  
Old Feb 9, 20, 2:27 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,931
Originally Posted by CJKatl View Post
Some airlines always gave the fast track passes to elite passengers flying in coach, like SkyTeam Elite Plus on KE. Has that gone away, too? Or will the fact the BP clearly shows the status be enough?
There are no passes nowadays, it's the boarding pass for a premium cabin that counts. I haven't seen any recent reports of status giving fast track entitlement.
ft101 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 20, 6:39 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Truth or Consequences, NM
Programs: HH Gold, Marriott Bombay Titanium, Hertz President's Circle, UA Silver, Mobile Passport Unobtanium
Posts: 5,422
Originally Posted by CJKatl View Post
Some airlines always gave the fast track passes to elite passengers flying in coach, like SkyTeam Elite Plus on KE. Has that gone away, too? Or will the fact the BP clearly shows the status be enough?
There are no paper passes - at all. Boarding pass needs to show J or F cabin, not elite status.

If you want fast track access, and you are not flying in J or F, you'll need to buy it.

Last edited by Diplomatico; Feb 9, 20 at 6:46 am
Diplomatico is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: