Wiki Posts
Search

Where to exchange dollars for baht?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 19, 2017, 7:45 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Some of this 'n some of that
Originally Posted by SunLover
The Super Rich location at BKK airport is in the basement on the way to the rail link. It is a kiosk, which occasionally runs out of baht to sell. It also has limited operating hours (10am to 8pm I believe) so not open for late night and early morning arrivals.

In any case: for the best reception the OP should have *pristine* $50 and $100 bills of the latest issue, as some currency changers can be picky when it comes to condition.
People really should state if they are referring to Super Rich green or orange because rates and office hours are likely to be different

As for the bolded, mine, I've been exchanging for many years and have never had a bill turned away. They need to be in good condition but Thailand is not Myanmar.
Old Nov 20, 2017, 7:21 am

Programs: DL:MM, Marriott:LTT
Originally Posted by ft101
I suspect fees only (assuming you didn't fall for a DCC trap) as the exchange rate is normally set by Visa/Mastercard depending on the card you're using.
I actually learned on that trip that the exchange rate on the hotel ATM was different and was set by the company that had the machine in the lobby. It was not a bank, rather, it was some third party that was giving a cut to the hotel. They took both a high fee and used a lower exchange rate. If it makes any difference, the hotel was the Prague Marriott and the bank was in a small mall next door. It was twelve years ago and it still irks me today.

Now I only use bank ATMs. At the Bangkok Marriott, that means walking out of the hotel, turning left on Sukhumvit and walking a half block.
Old Nov 20, 2017, 11:39 am

Programs: most of them