Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Thai Airways | Royal Orchid Plus
Reload this Page >

Is business class not an option for multi-city booking on website?

Is business class not an option for multi-city booking on website?

Old Dec 5, 19, 6:31 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,459
Is business class not an option for multi-city booking on website?

I am trying to book the lowest business fare DPS-BKK (stop) BKK-KIX.
When I use the multi city feature, I see no option for business class.
Is this correct? Why in the world would it want to put me in economy when I'm willing to pay business?

I have a travel agent who can do it but I sometimes find the TG website business class fare less expensive.
chuck1 is offline  
Old Dec 5, 19, 8:49 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,718
Originally Posted by chuck1 View Post
I am trying to book the lowest business fare DPS-BKK (stop) BKK-KIX.
When I use the multi city feature, I see no option for business class.
Is this correct? Why in the world would it want to put me in economy when I'm willing to pay business?

I have a travel agent who can do it but I sometimes find the TG website business class fare less expensive.
The THAI multi-city Booking tool is not very useful, especially if wanting a specific fare class (eg J for cheap business class).

Either book through an OTA or book through Thaiís contact centre.
RTWFF likes this.
Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Old Dec 5, 19, 9:24 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,459
Would the TG call center have access to fares that are lower than a traditional agency might have - such as webfares?
chuck1 is offline  
Old Dec 5, 19, 9:47 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,718
Originally Posted by chuck1 View Post
Would the TG call center have access to fares that are lower than a traditional agency might have - such as webfares?
No, but for the same booking subclass the webfares are only slightly cheaper in my experience. Maybe 5%?

But there is no alternative if the multi-city tool wonít give you what you need....

I encounter this when I want an economy Q fare to upgrade using my Gold Upgrade, the multi-city tool will only give the lowest economy fare, which is hopeless. I always need to call the THAI office...
Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Old Dec 5, 19, 10:21 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: TG Gold, MPC Silver, Bonvoy Ambassador
Posts: 550
Originally Posted by chuck1 View Post
I am trying to book the lowest business fare DPS-BKK (stop) BKK-KIX.
When I use the multi city feature, I see no option for business class.
Is this correct? Why in the world would it want to put me in economy when I'm willing to pay business?

I have a travel agent who can do it but I sometimes find the TG website business class fare less expensive.
As you get to the last leg, you look at the bottom left of the page and you'll normally see an option to toggle the class type. This normally only works if all flights have availability in the class that you want - you can check this as you're building your itinerary as it displays the available fare codes for each leg.
newshound is offline  
Old Dec 5, 19, 10:35 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: Lifetime *G (MP), Lifetime PE (Bonvoy)
Posts: 1,455
I'm not sure TG is unique in this. A multi-leg booking on SQ will often not allow a passenger to choose between the various classes (Y,B,N,Q for example of what I mean) within Economy if a more expensive class is chosen for one leg
RTWFF is offline  
Old Dec 10, 19, 6:44 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: BOM/DEL/GAU
Programs: A few airlines, hotel programs and car rentals
Posts: 1,126
I am doing this for an itinerary that I am currently looking at, and YES, there is a way:

After selecting flight options that have BOTH Economy and Business options (they'll even display the fare class), and AFTER you select you final leg: scroll down to the bottom of the web-page and when you see 'Pricing Options', choose First / Business / Economy per your requirement - here's a small screenshot:

AvidFlyer1990 is offline  
Old Dec 10, 19, 4:14 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,718
Originally Posted by AvidFlyer1990 View Post
I am doing this for an itinerary that I am currently looking at, and YES, there is a way:

After selecting flight options that have BOTH Economy and Business options (they'll even display the fare class), and AFTER you select you final leg: scroll down to the bottom of the web-page and when you see 'Pricing Options', choose First / Business / Economy per your requirement - here's a small screenshot:

Just note that this will only give the cheapest fare available - so you cannot specify a fare sub-class
Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Old Dec 10, 19, 9:53 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: BOM/DEL/GAU
Programs: A few airlines, hotel programs and car rentals
Posts: 1,126
Originally Posted by Thai-Kiwi View Post
Just note that this will only give the cheapest fare available - so you cannot specify a fare sub-class
That is correct, but I thought that was what OP wanted in his / her first post?
AvidFlyer1990 is offline  
Old Dec 10, 19, 10:08 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,718
Originally Posted by AvidFlyer1990 View Post
That is correct, but I thought that was what OP wanted in his / her first post?
My point was intended for wider readership who may not know that this Economy/Business selection at the end of the multicity booking process has vey limited functionality if one is seeking to book a specific fare class.
Thai-Kiwi is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: