Possible to pick F seats when sold as J?

Old Nov 13, 18, 11:24 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: YUL
Programs: Occasional RTW club
Posts: 6,162
Possible to pick F seats when sold as J?

I'm flying BOM-BKK on the 744 that has rows 1-3 sold as J. I believe 3EF are free (showing as "P" but light colour on EF, so I'm guessing they're not taken). I'm *G via UA 1K. Is there any way to pick those seats ahead of time while they're available? Or blocked for TG's elites?
Pseudo Nim is offline  
Old Nov 13, 18, 11:39 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,280
Yes, you can select these seats. Use the TG PNR and just make selection online on THAIís website.
Thai-Kiwi is online now  
Old Nov 13, 18, 11:42 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: YUL
Programs: Occasional RTW club
Posts: 6,162
Originally Posted by Thai-Kiwi View Post
Yes, you can select these seats. Use the TG PNR and just make selection online on THAIís website.
Thanks. Using what method? Calling, or online? I called the call centre in Japan and she almost had a heart attack when I asked for that cabin - she VERY sternly told me I am not to choose seats in that cabin. Lol. Also on the TG website under Passenger info > Services > Seats, they do not come up as selectable.
Pseudo Nim is offline  
Old Nov 13, 18, 11:59 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BKK
Programs: TG ROP Platinum, M&M Senator, IHG Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 5,328
try online or call. you have to be early as otherwise they are taken or automatically given to TG Platinum, TG Gold or TIP

but you have to be prepared that you have to vacate your seats for TG's pilots...
Thai-Kiwi likes this.
BinSabai is offline  
Old Nov 14, 18, 1:08 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,280
Is your UA*G ff# in the booking?

THAI may have blocked the F cabin, given recent 'issues' departing Zurich as BinSabai alludes to. If the seats are not accessible using TG's PNR then try calling - set expectations low.
Thai-Kiwi is online now  
Old Nov 14, 18, 3:26 am
  #6  
Original Poster
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: YUL
Programs: Occasional RTW club
Posts: 6,162
Originally Posted by Thai-Kiwi View Post
Is your UA*G ff# in the booking?

THAI may have blocked the F cabin, given recent 'issues' departing Zurich as BinSabai alludes to. If the seats are not accessible using TG's PNR then try calling - set expectations low.
Yes it is. I will give the BKK call centre a go, maybe they're less rule-bound than Japan.

@BinSabai hahaha... and yeah that's entirely possible as well
Pseudo Nim is offline  
Old Nov 14, 18, 3:39 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BKK
Programs: TG ROP Platinum, M&M Senator, IHG Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 5,328
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post
Yes it is. I will give the BKK call centre a go, maybe they're less rule-bound than Japan.
let us know the answer of the call center and let us know after the flight, whether the F cabin still accessible or closed
BinSabai is offline  
Old Nov 14, 18, 4:15 am
  #8  
kkl
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 784
Interested to know as well. Not keen for the slopping 747 J on the CTS route
BinSabai likes this.
kkl is offline  
Old Nov 14, 18, 11:30 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tokyo
Programs: Marriott Plat, HH G,Hyatt E,*A Gold, OW Emerald.
Posts: 2,531
If you are an elite (Gold and above) and they have released the F cabin for occupancy, then call in and ask.
otherwise, it is not possible.
Tokyoite is offline  
Old Nov 15, 18, 1:39 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BKK
Programs: TG ROP Platinum, M&M Senator, IHG Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 5,328
Originally Posted by Tokyoite View Post
If you are an elite (Gold and above) and they have released the F cabin for occupancy, then call in and ask.
otherwise, it is not possible.
but of course might not always have space for all *G as there are so many nowadays
in particular if there are a lot of TG's own Platinum and Gold and TIPS...
BinSabai is offline  
Old Nov 15, 18, 8:59 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: YUL
Programs: Occasional RTW club
Posts: 6,162
Originally Posted by Tokyoite View Post
If you are an elite (Gold and above) and they have released the F cabin for occupancy, then call in and ask.
otherwise, it is not possible.
Do you mean TG Gold or Star Gold? I'm United 1K, so *G but no TG status....
Pseudo Nim is offline  
Old Nov 15, 18, 9:53 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,280
TG Golds should have priority over other *Golds. In any case, if F cabin is made available, then call the Bangkok office.
BinSabai likes this.
Thai-Kiwi is online now  
Old Nov 15, 18, 10:05 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,280
I was curious and made a dummy booking BKK-BOM-BKK. I entered my correct information including ROP Gold details.

At the seat selection stage for both sectors, the F cabin is shown as completely blocked, however ExpertFlyer shows it open (with a 'P' for premium) unlike the rest of the J cabins. There are 2 pax with allocated seats.

My conclusion is that J pax seeking seats in the F cabin are being processed manually.
BinSabai likes this.

Last edited by Thai-Kiwi; Nov 15, 18 at 10:15 pm
Thai-Kiwi is online now  
Old Nov 16, 18, 12:07 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BKK
Programs: TG ROP Platinum, M&M Senator, IHG Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 5,328
Originally Posted by Thai-Kiwi View Post
My conclusion is that J pax seeking seats in the F cabin are being processed manually.
some change was to be expected after the Zurich debacle, where the Station Manager had to take in a typical ridiculous TG action of saving face part of the blame from the arrogant selfish Kwai of a Pilot

at least they do not close the F cabin entirely
BinSabai is offline  
Old Nov 16, 18, 12:53 am
  #15  
Original Poster
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: YUL
Programs: Occasional RTW club
Posts: 6,162
Originally Posted by Thai-Kiwi View Post
I was curious and made a dummy booking BKK-BOM-BKK. I entered my correct information including ROP Gold details.

At the seat selection stage for both sectors, the F cabin is shown as completely blocked, however ExpertFlyer shows it open (with a 'P' for premium) unlike the rest of the J cabins. There are 2 pax with allocated seats.

My conclusion is that J pax seeking seats in the F cabin are being processed manually.
Exactly my situation.

Except I'm being told that because it's a 205 (NH) stock ticket, they can't assign seats at all.
Pseudo Nim is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread