Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Thai Airways | Royal Orchid Plus
Reload this Page >

Thai Smile - no passport number needed during booking?

Old Sep 1, 18, 9:41 am
Original Poster

I am a UK resident living in the UK and I have just booked a domestic flight from Phuket to BKK on Thai Smile. The booking is confirmed and paid for, but at no stage was I required to enter passport details. This is a first for me (and I have flown other budget airlines like AirAsia and Scoot) - should I be worried?

At what stage does my passport details get checked? At check in? Before boarding? Or is it because in domestic Thai flights a passport number is not needed?
Old Sep 1, 18, 9:44 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: Berlin, Germany; Toronto, Canada; and SW Florida, USA
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Globalist, and assorted others
It's a domestic flight. You don't need a passport for a domestic flight.
RTWFF likes this.
Old Sep 1, 18, 2:25 pm

Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Technically, afaik you need a picture ID available for domestic flights if asked As a foreigner, passport is probably best. Thais have a national ID card.

However, ID for domestic flights rarely asked for.
Old Sep 1, 18, 3:55 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Originally Posted by A380 Flyer View Post
I am a UK resident living in the UK and I have just booked a domestic flight from Phuket to BKK on Thai Smile. The booking is confirmed and paid for, but at no stage was I required to enter passport details. This is a first for me (and I have flown other budget airlines like AirAsia and Scoot) - should I be worried?

At what stage does my passport details get checked? At check in? Before boarding? Or is it because in domestic Thai flights a passport number is not needed?
You do not typically need a passport number to make a booking an any carrier. You need one to check-in.