No more A380 HKG-BKK

Old Sep 27, 15, 1:55 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SFO
Programs: OZ Diamond/*G, IHG Spire Amb, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,049
No more A380 HKG-BKK

Was trying to book travel for next year and noticed that TG600/601 has gone back to a 747.
1353513636 is offline  
Old Sep 27, 15, 2:07 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BKK
Programs: TG ROP Platinum, M&M Senator, IHG Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 5,328
Originally Posted by 1353513636 View Post
Was trying to book travel for next year and noticed that TG600/601 has gone back to a 747.
there were some changes for this flight number already in the past.
it shows indeed 747 from April, but this might not be final. Did TG not want to retire the 747?
BinSabai is offline  
Old Nov 26, 15, 10:17 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6
I booked on Feb 8th from HKG -BKK - CGK return. My outbound journey on TG601 is showing A380 though. Perhaps it's later that they may fly the 747 again and not A 380....
DivaTraveller is offline  
Old Nov 28, 15, 3:03 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Programs: AA Exp
Posts: 661
Originally Posted by 1353513636 View Post
Was trying to book travel for next year and noticed that TG600/601 has gone back to a 747.
Pfew..... Your post scared me..... But my February flight still shows an A380....
gnargel is offline  
Old Nov 30, 15, 8:24 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the air
Programs: Tinder
Posts: 2,589
Originally Posted by BinSabai View Post
there were some changes for this flight number already in the past.
it shows indeed 747 from April, but this might not be final. Did TG not want to retire the 747?
TG now intends to keep the B747 to use on its Australian routes. TG wants to promote itself as a hub on the "Kangaroo route". I kid you not.
Transpacificflyer is offline  
Old Nov 30, 15, 11:27 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Programs: Flying: VA; Buying: AA, AS, AV, BA, UA!
Posts: 2,301
Originally Posted by Transpacificflyer View Post
TG now intends to keep the B747 to use on its Australian routes.
'Routes' plural...or just SYD?
wheresmybagba is offline  
Old Dec 6, 15, 9:30 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MRY - CNX - TXL
Programs: UA 1K / *G / Marriott PE / Expedia Gold+ / Hertz PC
Posts: 7,060
By TG601 late Feb still shows A380.

Would be interesting if that was the case for Oz. SYD I get, I bet Melbourne could handle some F. I just flew PER on the 787 which seemed appropriate but I don't see Brisbane needing an F cabin.
JVPhoto is offline  
Old Dec 6, 15, 4:55 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SFO
Programs: OZ Diamond/*G, IHG Spire Amb, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,049
Last I checked post April 2016 HKG-BKK is all B747 or smaller. I think TG should keep F on certain routes, like LH is doing, it is quite a nice product; I think the airline would be doing better if they didn't have a bunch of clowns running it.
1353513636 is offline  
Old Dec 7, 15, 4:56 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BKK
Programs: TG ROP Platinum, M&M Senator, IHG Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 5,328
Originally Posted by 1353513636 View Post
Last I checked post April 2016 HKG-BKK is all B747 or smaller. I think TG should keep F on certain routes, like LH is doing, it is quite a nice product; I think the airline would be doing better if they didn't have a bunch of clowns running it.
F is also available on the 747 for BKK HKG for years already; if suites. not a big difference to A380
BinSabai is offline  
Old Dec 7, 15, 9:02 am
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS 75K; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,077
Originally Posted by BinSabai View Post
F is also available on the 747 for BKK HKG for years already; if suites. not a big difference to A380
Yes, exactly. And the 380 has been on and off that route for years as well. No big change here.
Kacee is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: