BKK - BNE - AKL. Need to clear Aus customs?

Old Jan 4, 12, 3:08 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Lichfield, UK
Programs: BMI DC Gold, BA Gold, LH SEN, Priority Club Platinum, Nectar purple
Posts: 949
BKK - BNE - AKL. Need to clear Aus customs?

I'm flying Bangkok to Auckland via Brisbane. the first leg is on TG and the second leg on NZ. The flight is not a codeshare so I'm wondering if I will need to clear customs in Brisbane, or will they ticket me all the way through?
Doug_1970 is offline  
Old Jan 4, 12, 5:40 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SYD & 35K ft.
Programs: UA Gold, *A Gold - Qantas Club/Silver - Virgin Atlantic Silver
Posts: 1,911
Originally Posted by Doug_1970 View Post
I'm flying Bangkok to Auckland via Brisbane. the first leg is on TG and the second leg on NZ. The flight is not a codeshare so I'm wondering if I will need to clear customs in Brisbane, or will they ticket me all the way through?
You will be good to clear in AKL as you will only transit in BNE... Smaller INT'L airport and hassle free. Enjoy your trip!

Cheers,

AG.
Airgroovin is offline  
Old Jan 4, 12, 8:56 am
  #3  
TPJ
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Programs: TK*G (E+), AA OWE (EXP), IHG Plat
Posts: 6,422
You will only have to go through security in BNE and these security guys are normally so bored (not too many international transit passengers flying via BNE), they give most passengers pat down
TPJ is offline  
Old Jan 4, 12, 10:59 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Lichfield, UK
Programs: BMI DC Gold, BA Gold, LH SEN, Priority Club Platinum, Nectar purple
Posts: 949
Thanks both.

I've never been to, or transited through Australia, and I know that coming from the UK I need a visa to enter, but wsn't sure if I had to enter to transit or not.
Doug_1970 is offline  
Old Jan 20, 12, 6:37 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Lichfield, UK
Programs: BMI DC Gold, BA Gold, LH SEN, Priority Club Platinum, Nectar purple
Posts: 949
Sorry to revive this thread.

I had a colleague just flew BKK - KUL - PEK, first leg on Thai and second leg on Air China. When he checked in at BKK he was told that he would have to collect his luggage in KUL and recheck onto the Air China flight as the connecting flight was not a code share.

This wasn't a problem for him, but I'm concerned that this is going to give me a problem transiting Brisbane on the way to Auckland, as my NZ flight isn't a codeshare either.

From the Australian government website:

Note: Travellers changing airlines in Australia are advised to verify with their airlines whether they will need to personally re-check their luggage as part of the transiting process. If so, a visa will be required to retrieve and re-check their luggage before departure.

Judging by this, if Thai can't check my luggage and ticket me all the way through to Auckland, then I will need to get a transit visa. Will I be able to do this at the Australian embassy in Bangkok ?
Doug_1970 is offline  
Old Jan 20, 12, 10:19 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JFK/EWR/LGA
Programs: A shadow of my former self
Posts: 924
Codeshare has nothing to do with interlining baggage. TG could definitely have checked his bag all the way through, unless he was transiting between airports or had a very long layover. You'll be fine.

David
IndyDavid is offline  
Old Jan 20, 12, 10:36 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SYD & 35K ft.
Programs: UA Gold, *A Gold - Qantas Club/Silver - Virgin Atlantic Silver
Posts: 1,911
Originally Posted by IndyDavid View Post
Codeshare has nothing to do with interlining baggage. TG could definitely have checked his bag all the way through, unless he was transiting between airports or had a very long layover. You'll be fine.

David
IndyDavid is correct - BNE is transit for you. Enjoy a safe trip!

Cheers,

AG.
Airgroovin is offline  
Old Oct 16, 12, 3:44 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Dfw - bne - akl

Same question. I think I know the answer, but reassurances would be greatly appreciated since I will be traveling as a single dad with three little ones. We have a couple of hours between an early morning arrival into BNE from Dallas/Fort Worth in the US, with a final destination of Auckland. Will we be considered "transit" in BNE and be allowed to proceed directly to our international connection to Auckland, without having to clear customs? Both flights are on Qantas, if that matters. Thanks all!
Lance Manion is offline  
Old Oct 16, 12, 5:06 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BKK.DPS
Programs: P THAI,Diamond HYATT
Posts: 3,290
Relax lance, you will be OK, Qantas will organise it all for you, enjoy your flight
BKKROP is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread