Wiki Posts
Search

BKK-Krabi-Phuket-Chiang Mai-BKK question

Search this Thread

Old Oct 18, 2009, 1:03 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K, HH Diamond
BKK-Krabi-Phuket-Chiang Mai-BKK question

Hi, I am new to Thai airways but will be flying them next Feb/March for a Thailand vacation and have a few questions:

What can I expect on domestic routes like BKK-Krabi in coach? (I am looking for service, tips, hint or any helpful comments) Are there certain planes I should try and book on and certain ones I should avoid?

Should I also consider using Bangkok Air and Air Asia or just stick with Thai Airways?

Thanks!
Old Oct 18, 2009, 8:19 pm

Programs: Aeroplan Elite SPG Gold
The domestic flights are pretty short, BKK-CNX is only an hour. You can't select a seat when you book, only within 24 hours of the flight. The cheapest fares don't accrue miles with all *Alliance carriers. There is no alcohol served on domestic flights and no alcohol in the domestic lounges.

Nothing special about which plane unless you really have a preference. You can see the aircraft when you book online but they sub sometimes so it is no guarantee.

You get a snack or sometimes a hot meal although not sure if they serve the hot meal in Y as well.

I use AirAsia as well as Thai they are both fine, I have never taken Bangkok Air.

If I am getting a good price I will fly AirAsia, otherwise I fly Thai.
Old Oct 18, 2009, 9:13 pm

Programs: TG ROP Gold, Lifetime OZ Diamond Plus, BA Gold
Originally Posted by yyzjim
The cheapest fares don't accrue miles with all *Alliance carriers.
The normally cheapest fares are V/W and they do earn miles, at least with TG and BD, both of which I've credited flights to very recently. Note this only applies to domestic V/W, not international V/W. There was some super special cheap fare earlier this year which was only valid for travel during the week and very limited availability which did not earn miles, but that fare is generally not available AFAIK.