Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Texas
Reload this Page >

IAH Airport General Questions [master thread]

IAH Airport General Questions [master thread]

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jul 10, 18, 2:14 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: FlyingHoustonian
Wiki Link
IAH / Houston, George Bush Intercontinental Airport

United FT forum thread on IAH

Hotels for overnight near IAH

Lounge thread on IAH and HOU:
https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/airp...s-iah-hou.html




Signed in members with 90 days / 90 posts can edit this Wikipost; wiki contents may be printed by using the (lower right wiki corner)



Print Wikipost

Old Jun 6, 22, 9:30 pm
  #46  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: SAT
Programs: AA Platinum Pro; UA Gold MM; DL Gold; IHG Diamond Ambassador; Hilton Gold; Marriott Gold
Posts: 24,037
Originally Posted by AAMCI View Post
This trip, I will be originating at IAH, checking in for a KLM flight at Terminal D. I have TSA Precheck and Clear, but I see that Clear is not available in Terminal D. How are the security lines at Terminal D around 8PM on Sundays? Is there a way to walk to Terminal C or E (both of which have Clear) for expedited security if there is a long line in Terminal D?
PreCheck at Terminal D is my preferred way to get to the D or E gates these days. It should be very quick at 8 p.m. on a Sunday. No reason to got to C, and as noted previously, E security is temporarily closed.
SAT Lawyer is offline  
Old Jun 6, 22, 9:30 pm
  #47  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW
Programs: AAdvantage GLD 1.74MM
Posts: 230
Originally Posted by YadiMolina View Post
Traffic is really bad at times at IAH due to construction. People were getting out of cars and walking.

https://www.chron.com/life/travel/ar...EtqH59ZVK-YyUE

I landed on a Sunday night a few weeks ago, and it was really bad, basically grid lock around Terminal C.
I am returning a rental car and taking the shuttle bus to the terminal. Are the rental car shuttle busses also getting stuck in the multiple hour traffic jams? My flight is at 10:30pm (on a Sunday)) and checkin counter opens at 7:30pm. Any recommendations on what time to return rental car to minimize the chance of missing the flight?

Thanks!
AAMCI is offline  
Old Jun 6, 22, 9:35 pm
  #48  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: PTY
Programs: UA Plat, CM nada
Posts: 513
Originally Posted by AAMCI View Post
Are the rental car shuttle busses also getting stuck in the multiple hour traffic jams?
YES!!! The parking shuttles drive in the same lanes as private vehicles.
YadiMolina is offline  
Old Jun 6, 22, 9:42 pm
  #49  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: SAT
Programs: AA Platinum Pro; UA Gold MM; DL Gold; IHG Diamond Ambassador; Hilton Gold; Marriott Gold
Posts: 24,037
Originally Posted by AAMCI View Post
I am returning a rental car and taking the shuttle bus to the terminal. Are the rental car shuttle busses also getting stuck in the multiple hour traffic jams? My flight is at 10:30pm (on a Sunday)) and checkin counter opens at 7:30pm. Any recommendations on what time to return rental car to minimize the chance of missing the flight?!
Again, 8 p.m. on a Sunday is pretty quiet even with construction making traffic patterns a mess. And D again is the winner here for quick[er] ingress by shuttle than the other terminals.

Personally, if I was able to check in online and had only carry-on luggage, I would plan on arriving the rental car center around 8:40 p.m. With luggage to check, but with access to the KL business class check-in counter, I’d shoot for a rental car drop by 8:30 p.m.
SAT Lawyer is offline  
Old Jun 6, 22, 9:46 pm
  #50  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: SAT
Programs: AA Platinum Pro; UA Gold MM; DL Gold; IHG Diamond Ambassador; Hilton Gold; Marriott Gold
Posts: 24,037
Originally Posted by YadiMolina View Post
YES!!! The parking shuttles drive in the same lanes as private vehicles.
For D, they can veer right and avoid the much more congested C access lanes to the left. Ive been able to get into D expeditiously on all my IAH departures over the past two months.
SAT Lawyer is offline  
Old Jun 8, 22, 10:16 pm
  #51  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: PTY
Programs: UA Plat, CM nada
Posts: 513
Some changes were made, supposedly. This was the top story on the local news tonight. Added a lane at Terminal E pickup, have officers directing traffic.

https://www.click2houston.com/news/l...-traffic-flow/
YadiMolina is offline  
Old Jul 8, 22, 5:01 am
  #52  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Hi all!
We are flying LHR-IAH-LIM next Thursday on UA and we have a connection time of 1h45mins in IAH. We land in LIM at 23:00. We have a separate booking at 9:15am the next day so really would like not to minimize chances to not make the LIM flight!

I have read a few past discussions and I cannot understand 100% if the one stop immigration will be available if we check-in bags in LHR. I have read here that for International-to-International connection the bags will be checked through - but I also found some contrasting information on what is happening post-Covid
We are away for three weeks and I am afraid we won't be able to squeeze everything in a hand baggage... Can someone help or give any tips?

Also, I guess it won't help - but are star alliance gold - and we are not US citizen (EU)

Thank you!
GiPi is offline  
Old Jul 8, 22, 7:35 am
  #53  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: PTY
Programs: UA Plat, CM nada
Posts: 513
Originally Posted by GiPi View Post
We are flying LHR-IAH-LIM next Thursday on UA and we have a connection time of 1h45mins in IAH.
The UA board has a similar and possibly fresher thread. I think the I-I bags is functional. I'd ask the UA thread about immigration lines at IAH at the time you land, plus the construction at Terminal E and impacts on the security checkpoint for international arrivals. I suppose you'll make it, but I don' t think you'll have any time to spare.
YadiMolina is offline  
Old Aug 8, 22, 6:15 am
  #54  
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: UK
Posts: 36
does anyone know the minimum connection time required for a flight from the UK to MCO via IAH please. They have allowed 1 hour 15 on the way out, would need to clear immigration and collect bags and presumably through security again?

On the way home only 50 minutes but presumably just security to clear.
ACES70 is offline  
Old Aug 8, 22, 7:57 pm
  #55  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: PTY
Programs: UA Plat, CM nada
Posts: 513
Originally Posted by ACES70 View Post
does anyone know the minimum connection time required for a flight from the UK to MCO via IAH please. They have allowed 1 hour 15 on the way out, would need to clear immigration and collect bags and presumably through security again?

On the way home only 50 minutes but presumably just security to clear.
On your way home, you won't even have security, just walk gate-to-gate. On the inbound, you will need to do immigration and customs. It seems a little tight to me, but the airlines must have a better handle on the current times to get through immigration. Note that at IAH, customs is just walking past some agents manning the exit, no forms to show, no xrays to pass through, no lines, just a stead stream of passengers walking out. Then make a right to recheck your bags and go upstairs to security.
YadiMolina is offline  
Old Aug 12, 22, 9:11 am
  #56  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, Travel Safety/Security & Texas, FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUS / GRK
Programs: AA, HHonors, Hertz
Posts: 12,877
Originally Posted by ACES70 View Post
does anyone know the minimum connection time required for a flight from the UK to MCO via IAH please. They have allowed 1 hour 15 on the way out, would need to clear immigration and collect bags and presumably through security again?

On the way home only 50 minutes but presumably just security to clear.
Is this on UA? This might be better suited for the UA forum, and I'd be happy to move your question over there.

Otherwise, that would be a tight connection from BA to UA (or otherwise). Heck even a UA to UA 1:15 would be tight at IAH.
aztimm is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread