Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Texas
Reload this Page >

Houston / IAH Admiral's club or other

Houston / IAH Admiral's club or other

Old Sep 29, 15, 2:00 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, Park City, UT
Programs: AA EXP, Delta Gold, United Silver, Marriott Plat Prem.,Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Discoverist, IHG Plat
Posts: 421
Houston / IAH Admiral's club or other

So is there an Admiral's club in Houston, George Bush? Searched and found one thread that ended last year, wasn't one then, anything changed?

I have an Admiral's club membership by having the AAdvantage Exec card by Citi. If there's not a club is there another lounge that allows AA passengers, domestic economy passengers?

Priority Pass is another option at times, I think Alaska clubs allow that or Admiral's members.

Wish there was a Centurion, that would always be my first choice.
Jonesdds is offline  
Old Sep 29, 15, 2:20 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco & Squaw Valley
Programs: Giants Ballpark Pass. Lifetime Ambassador Club. WN A+/CP, AS MVP, UA Gold, Marriott Platinum.
Posts: 3,001
Priority Pass works with both the AF and KL lounges at IAH; both are quite lovely.
worldwidedreamer is offline  
Old Sep 29, 15, 2:34 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beantown! (BOS)
Programs: AA PtPro (1 MM); Hilton Diamond; Hertz President Cr; DL SkyMiles; UA MileagePlus
Posts: 2,349
You can always look up AA.com for the locations of Admirals Clubs.

AF/KL lounge at IAH is located at Terminal D where AA is at Terminal A. You can go between Terminal A and Terminal D using SkyWay train in secure side of the terminal. However, unless you have a lot of time before the flight I do not think going between Terminal A and Terminal D is worth the trip.

IAH used to be my home airport for two years. I did not go all the way to Terminal D or Terminal E area unless I had more than an hour to kill before my AA flight out of Terminal A. Once I was flying IAH-ORD-LHR as EXP in business class. I got to IAH little early because I had time, went to Terminal D attempted entry to BA lounge and I was politely denied.
AlwaysAisle is offline  
Old Sep 29, 15, 2:43 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 20,393
It's (fortunately) been a year since I've had to travel through AA's part of IAH, but it was a colossal dump then, and no AC.

I'd try to time my airport arrival down to the minute so I wouldn't have to spend any more time than necessary in that awful airport. (Or if work takes you to Houston, I found Hobby to be a much nicer experience, even if it meant an ERJ and a stop at DFW.)
UNITED959 is offline  
Old Sep 29, 15, 4:57 pm
  #5  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 61,508
Per aa.com and the LOUNGE DASHBOARD sticky, there is no Admirals Club in IAH / Bush Intercontinental Airport.

We will move this to the Texas forum as it's about lounges at IAH, not AA.

/Moderator
JDiver is offline  
Old Sep 29, 15, 6:31 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Catania, Sicily/South Jersey (PHL)/Houston, Texas/airborne in-between
Programs: United Global Svcs, AA ExecPlat, WN RR, AZ Freccia Alata+, Hilton gold, SPG/Marriot Gold, Hertz Prez
Posts: 3,182
It does not help you now but...there are rumours that one will be re-opened in terminal A at some point. Terminal A has been refurbished and there is a biz lounge in A south but I am not sure of the membership rules. UA, of course, has one in every terminal but D.

The post security skytrain will run you from A to D, as others have noted. You must walk from the train to A south past the window walls, piano, and floor chess and checkers.
FlyingHoustonian is offline  
Old Sep 29, 15, 9:40 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, Park City, UT
Programs: AA EXP, Delta Gold, United Silver, Marriott Plat Prem.,Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Discoverist, IHG Plat
Posts: 421
Originally Posted by AlwaysAisle View Post
You can always look up AA.com for the locations of Admirals Clubs.

AF/KL lounge at IAH is located at Terminal D where AA is at Terminal A. You can go between Terminal A and Terminal D using SkyWay train in secure side of the terminal. However, unless you have a lot of time before the flight I do not think going between Terminal A and Terminal D is worth the trip.

IAH used to be my home airport for two years. I did not go all the way to Terminal D or Terminal E area unless I had more than an hour to kill before my AA flight out of Terminal A. Once I was flying IAH-ORD-LHR as EXP in business class. I got to IAH little early because I had time, went to Terminal D attempted entry to BA lounge and I was politely denied.
Thanks for the information. I wonder what the AF/KL lounge hours are for priority pass members? Been down this route before in Phoenix, apparently Priority Pass only until 3:30 then British Airways only. I will be arriving pretty early most likely as the meetings I have end around 1 pm and flight at 6 so may be worthwhile. Will have 3 staff with me so I'll have to see that the entry rules are as well, I assume they won't let 3 additional....I wondered if I was just missing something on AA's site on Admiral's club locations.

I assume my abundance of UA free passes that I'll never use will do no good without a boarding pass showing a UA flight.....
Jonesdds is offline  
Old Oct 8, 15, 8:18 pm
  #8  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM, Hilton Diamond, Starriott Platinum, Hyatt FreeBottleofWaterist
Posts: 8,032
Originally Posted by Jonesdds View Post
Thanks for the information. I wonder what the AF/KL lounge hours are for priority pass members? Been down this route before in Phoenix, apparently Priority Pass only until 3:30 then British Airways only. I will be arriving pretty early most likely as the meetings I have end around 1 pm and flight at 6 so may be worthwhile. Will have 3 staff with me so I'll have to see that the entry rules are as well, I assume they won't let 3 additional....I wondered if I was just missing something on AA's site on Admiral's club locations.

I assume my abundance of UA free passes that I'll never use will do no good without a boarding pass showing a UA flight.....
The KLM lounge is open all day and doesn't have any specific hours they won't allow PP card holders in, though some IAH flyertalkers have reported being turned away at peak hours. YMMV.

As for the UA passes, I used 2 last year while travelling on AA flights. If you read the T&Cs, you don't technically have to be on a UA flight.
krazykanuck is online now  
Old Oct 29, 15, 1:15 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: HEL
Programs: Got a K-Plussa black! S-card remains green :D
Posts: 4,331
Originally Posted by AlwaysAisle View Post

AF/KL lounge at IAH is located at Terminal D where AA is at Terminal A. You can go between Terminal A and Terminal D using SkyWay train in secure side of the terminal. However, unless you have a lot of time before the flight I do not think going between Terminal A and Terminal D is worth the trip.

IAH used to be my home airport for two years. I did not go all the way to Terminal D or Terminal E area unless I had more than an hour to kill before my AA flight out of Terminal A. Once I was flying IAH-ORD-LHR as EXP in business class. I got to IAH little early because I had time, went to Terminal D attempted entry to BA lounge and I was politely denied.
I found the SkyWay very easy and fast. I would say it takes you maximum 10 minutes to get from AF/KLM lounge to A gates so it is doable. I was also surprised that you can take that train between international airside and domestic, I am just not used to that in Europe where it is not allowed (passport control ex-EU). And the AF/KLM lounge was not actually bad IMO.
I also asked the BA lounge dragon if they allow OneWorld visitors and she said no, only BA flights, but then corrected that only AA First class international pax are allowed to enter ( does AA have international flights from there really?).
FFlash is online now  
Old Mar 9, 16, 5:46 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Programs: UA 1k, AA EXPLT, NZ GE, VA PLT Hyatt Diam, SPG GLD, HH Diam
Posts: 2,754
Anyone heard rumors of when the Adm Club at IAH will be opening?
SFO_FT is offline  
Old Mar 11, 16, 3:01 pm
  #11  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,262
Originally Posted by FFlash View Post
I was also surprised that you can take that train between international airside and domestic, I am just not used to that in Europe where it is not allowed (passport control ex-EU).
It is like that for most of US. They will check passport (or appropriate document + visa if needed) before you are allowed on a plane.

Most all of UA's international departures leave from Term B, C and E - only a handful leave from D.
EmailKid is offline  
Old Mar 12, 16, 12:24 am
  #12  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM, Hilton Diamond, Starriott Platinum, Hyatt FreeBottleofWaterist
Posts: 8,032
Originally Posted by SFO_FT View Post
Anyone heard rumors of when the Adm Club at IAH will be opening?
I don't think AA has announced the open date, beyond sometime in 2016.

https://www.aa.com/i18n/airportAndLo...ng-lounges.jsp

Originally Posted by EmailKid View Post
It is like that for most of US. They will check passport (or appropriate document + visa if needed) before you are allowed on a plane.

Most all of UA's international departures leave from Term B, C and E - only a handful leave from D.
I'd edit to say that most leave from C/E. D is virtually all non-US airlines. B might have UAX flight to Canada (because for god unknown reason UA thinks a regional jet is a great plane to fly 1300 miles....) but that's it in my experience.

Last edited by krazykanuck; Mar 12, 16 at 12:29 am
krazykanuck is online now  
Old Mar 14, 16, 3:25 pm
  #13  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,262
Originally Posted by krazykanuck View Post
I'd edit to say that most leave from C/E. D is virtually all non-US airlines. B might have UAX flight to Canada (because for god unknown reason UA thinks a regional jet is a great plane to fly 1300 miles....) but that's it in my experience.
Don't forget all the pueblos in Mexico

Lots of RJs on those routes, and while I believe they use mostly B, I've seen them load in D as well. Don't know about arrivals. Obviously not in B or C.
EmailKid is offline  
Old Sep 6, 16, 2:58 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dallas
Programs: AA LTPLT UA1P Hilton Dia Marriott Plat
Posts: 1,173
Update on open?
mach92 is offline  
Old Sep 10, 16, 11:38 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Catania, Sicily/South Jersey (PHL)/Houston, Texas/airborne in-between
Programs: United Global Svcs, AA ExecPlat, WN RR, AZ Freccia Alata+, Hilton gold, SPG/Marriot Gold, Hertz Prez
Posts: 3,182
Originally Posted by mach92 View Post
Update on open?
"late 2016" is what AA is saying so I'd presume before Christmas.
I have not been over in terminal A south in some time; has anyone been there lately to see if something is under construction?
FlyingHoustonian is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread