Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Support&Services > Technical Support and Feedback
Reload this Page >

Arrrghh... Can't get FT forums to load via home internet connection

Arrrghh... Can't get FT forums to load via home internet connection

Reply

Old Oct 27, 10, 11:34 pm
  #31  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hanoi/San Francisco
Posts: 1,774
I'm having problems again starting this afternoon.
imm2b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 10, 1:51 pm
  #32  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hanoi/San Francisco
Posts: 1,774
Looks like it's working again!
imm2b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 10, 12:14 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hanoi/San Francisco
Posts: 1,774
It's not working for about 10 days now
imm2b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 10, 12:31 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 959
imm2b-- PM me your home IP address.
IB-Dick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 10, 2:46 am
  #35  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,285
hello i am in HKG and trying to use FT, after each post or trying to switch to a different thread, i get cant access i have to reset connection and do that with every page Same problem on Explorer. I use Firefox.

PS all other web pages work fine its just FT.

here is what it says.
The connection was reset













The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.








* The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
why fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 10, 10:26 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hanoi/San Francisco
Posts: 1,774
Originally Posted by IB-Dick View Post
imm2b-- PM me your home IP address.
PM sent. Thanks!
imm2b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 10, 1:06 pm
  #37  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 136
I have some strange issues - I can not access FT through firefox, but chrome works ok. It doesn't depend on the IP (checked several times during travel). Is it possible to solve? Thanks
antonen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 10, 5:00 pm
  #38  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,285
back in Hong Kong and its the same problem FT get connection reset.
why fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 11, 7:50 am
  #39  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CPT
Programs: BA BD SA
Posts: 4,370
Sorry to resurrect an old thread but as I am the OP and I am experiencing the return of exactly the same problem thi seemed the most appropriate place.

Neither IE not Firefox can access FT via my home ADSL line but no problems once I'm logged onto my work VPN. Pleeeease can somebody fix it like they did last time?

Thanks.
Cheetah_SA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 11, 1:34 pm
  #40  
Moderator Travel News, West, The Suggestion Box, Smoking Lounge & DiningBuzz
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Programs: AS MVP Gold, Honors Diamond
Posts: 33,678
This may be totally off-base, but a couple of times I have experienced the same thing and discovered that my router had dropped the information about my PPoE login (username and password).

Putting those back in fixed the problem.
cblaisd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 11, 1:08 am
  #41  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CPT
Programs: BA BD SA
Posts: 4,370
Originally Posted by cblaisd View Post
This may be totally off-base, but a couple of times I have experienced the same thing and discovered that my router had dropped the information about my PPoE login (username and password).

Putting those back in fixed the problem.
Oh dear... I am so tech challenged I have no idea what you just said.

Trying to understand: why would this affect only FT? All other sites load fine. And I access the work VPN via the same router so doesn't that mean it can't be the router losing the login information? (Sorry if what I just typed is gibberish!)
Cheetah_SA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 11, 7:42 am
  #42  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CPT
Programs: BA BD SA
Posts: 4,370
I'm still unable to access FT via my home ADSL. But it still works if I access the work VPN from my home ADSL and then load the FT pages.

Any help or suggestions out there?
Cheetah_SA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 11, 12:38 am
  #43  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Programs: SPG Plat LTP, HH Silver,
Posts: 551
Have had the same problem for about a month or so too. Firefox and IE8 (both Windows 7) as well as Safari (Mac OS X) cannot connect from my home internet to FT. Have no such problems from my office PC which oddly enough I think is using the same ISP as my home connection.

According to the troubleshoot on IE, there's something about "SBLSP over (MSAFD Tcpip (TCP/IPV6) is not configured properly on this computer". I can only presume it's the same issue on the Firefox since both browsers are on the same PC, and probably a related issue with the Safari on a MacBook Air.
dannybhoy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 11, 2:09 pm
  #44  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CPT
Programs: BA BD SA
Posts: 4,370
Once again I'm glad I'm not alone... which is not to say I'm revelling in your misfortune, dannybhoy!

One more data point: when I have been logged onto the work VPN I sometimes get one bite at the FT cherry after I log out: my first query directly through my home ISP will get a response. But every subsequent one just times out.

ETA: That request (the first one after I log out of the work VPN) loads the requested page but never completes. The message "Waiting for comet.ibsrv.net..." appears in the status bar and the page "hangs". All subsequent requests just time out.

Is comet.ibsrv.net the problem??

Last edited by Cheetah_SA; Aug 24, 11 at 2:17 pm
Cheetah_SA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 11, 6:21 am
  #45  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 612
I'm using chrome and I see the browser is waiting for comet.ibsrv.net.

I have blocked cookies from ibsrv.net and now the page loads instantly.
lfc84 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread