Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Support&Services > Technical Support and Feedback
Reload this Page >

Layout "shooting" off edge of monitor

Layout "shooting" off edge of monitor

Old Oct 15, 09, 9:07 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: san francisco.
Programs: Marriott Plat, OW Ruby
Posts: 1,473
Layout "shooting" off edge of monitor

Hello

As soon as I get into individual posts on any forum , the layout starts to extend beyond the frame of my computer screen.
Anyone else seeing this?
I'm using Firefox on a Mac,
Thanks for any replies
tattikat2 is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 9:15 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay area
Posts: 26
Yes, it's been happening to me for the past week or so...only on FlyerTalk! Frustrating.
Linnea is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 9:22 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: san francisco.
Programs: Marriott Plat, OW Ruby
Posts: 1,473
Glad its not just me but there has to be a way to fix it.
tattikat2 is offline  
Old Oct 15, 09, 9:31 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Platinum Elite; UA MM
Posts: 322
Same problem here. It wasn't present yesterday.
HereAndThere is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 12:00 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SJC, SFO, YYC
Programs: AA-EXP, AA-0.41MM, UA-Gold, Ex UA-1K (2006 thru 2015), PMUA-0.95MM, COUA-1.5MM-lite, AF-Silver
Posts: 13,437
It's the advertisements.

Sorry FT/IB. While I believe in ad supported models, you picked the wrong week (when UA introduced Unobtainable Domestic Upgrades), to introduce this bug. So I installed the firefox plug in ....... Plus (firefox makes is easy to install ... just go to Tools -> Add Ons -> Get Add oNs and I found it first on the list).
mre5765 is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 12:53 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakland, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Expl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,439
Me too

Yeah, same problem here in recent days. Hello? FT IT? Anyone doing anything about this? Your site is becoming pretty useless.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 1:32 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11,025
Definitely the ads causing most of this. Most of the ads on my pages look like this:

script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" src="http://view.atdmt.com/D2T/jview/178040521/direct;wi.300;hi.250/01/1861285415?click=http://googleads.g.doubleclick.net/aclk%3Fsa%3Dl%26ai%3DB1RwXJxPYSsCUO6qoqAPEp_HiAsfU y58B4ZapwBCXuPWlAwAQARgBINOg5gk4AFCAx-HEBGDJ9viGyKOgGbIBEXd3dy5mbHllcnRhbGsuY29tugEKMzAw eDI1MF9qc8gBCdoBXWh0dHA6Ly93d3cuZmx5ZXJ0YWxrLmNvbS 9mb3J1bS90ZWNobmljYWwtaXNzdWVzLzEwMDY0MjAtbGF5b3V0 LXNob290aW5nLW9mZi1lZGdlLW1vbml0b3IuaHRtbJgCzhO4Ah jAAgHIAun_xQyoAwHoA8sB6AO_AegD7QL1AwABAIQ%26num%3D 1%26sig%3DAGiWqtxmgaIcnBb8WfEdGhoqdf9p3-rrKQ%26client%3Dca-ib_travel_sede_1%26adurl%3D">
rjque is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 2:41 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 959
I will look into this first thing in the morning. I'm not around a computer right now. Sorry.

Can anyone give me a screen shot?
IB-Dick is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 3:32 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UAUA fanboy, JWN Fashion Rewards, HOT, CAR
Posts: 1,739
here ya go



Mac OS X 10.6.1
Safari 4.0.3 (6531.9)

Last edited by Wireless; Oct 16, 09 at 4:03 am
Wireless is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 11:09 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: san francisco.
Programs: Marriott Plat, OW Ruby
Posts: 1,473
Hello.

Well I just installed ....... Plus and for me, unfortunately, the problem still exists

Now I'm no computer expert so I could have missed something. However the little "....... Plus" icon is up in my tool bar , so I think its installed.
Any other ideas?

Bye,
tattikat2 is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 1:58 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 959
Originally Posted by Wireless View Post
here ya go



Mac OS X 10.6.1
Safari 4.0.3 (6531.9)
Wow. Thanks. I'll have the ad team take a look asap.
IB-Dick is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 2:00 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakland, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Expl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,439
Still a big problem...
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 3:18 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 11,025
Originally Posted by Thunderroad View Post
Still a big problem...
Indeed.
rjque is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 3:31 pm
  #14  
Used to be 'g_leyser'
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Land of Lightfoot
Programs: AS MVP Gold 75K, AA PlatPro, HH Dia, Bonvoy Gold, IHG Gold, Reno Air MEGA Platinum
Posts: 9,701
Originally Posted by mre5765 View Post
It's the advertisements.

Sorry FT/IB. While I believe in ad supported models, you picked the wrong week (when UA introduced Unobtainable Domestic Upgrades), to introduce this bug. So I installed the firefox plug in ....... Plus (firefox makes is easy to install ... just go to Tools -> Add Ons -> Get Add oNs and I found it first on the list).
I just installed it, and it didn't solve the problem

This is REALLY annoying.
aisleorwindow is offline  
Old Oct 16, 09, 6:28 pm
  #15  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Programs: SPG Plat, HH Gold, United MP Premier, Alaska Air, BA, Qantas, ANZ
Posts: 11,038
Is there a way to stop FT pages from growing until they don't fit on my screen?

I posted about this a couple of days ago on another thread, read about it, but found no solution. It really takes the fun out of things.
adventurous is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread