TAP 1274 LIS-VIE: Boeing 747 operated?

Old Sep 10, 17, 5:11 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HKG/ SIN
Posts: 200
Question TAP 1274 LIS-VIE: Boeing 747 operated?

Am flying TP 1274 LIS to VIE in J today (Sep 11). An A330 was scheduled to fly this route but just got swapped to a B 747. I am very perplexed as TAP doesnít own any 747 anymore. Tried googling but couldnít find anything. I suspect it might be a wet lease from Wamos Air but this is just a guess.

The seatmap (sorry donít know how to embed a gif) is 12 seats in total (I guess upstairs) in a very strange configuration:
1-1
1-1
1-2-1
1-2-1

Has anyone any idea what this mysterious 747 is?
GwailoSIN is offline  
Old Sep 10, 17, 5:30 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: YYZ
Programs: A3&O6 Gold,IC AMB & HH Diamond
Posts: 13,340
Originally Posted by GwailoSIN View Post
Am flying TP 1274 LIS to VIE in J today (Sep 11). An A330 was scheduled to fly this route but just got swapped to a B 747. I am very perplexed as TAP doesnít own any 747 anymore. Tried googling but couldnít find anything. I suspect it might be a wet lease from Wamos Air but this is just a guess.

The seatmap (sorry donít know how to embed a gif) is 12 seats in total (I guess upstairs) in a very strange configuration:
1-1
1-1
1-2-1
1-2-1

Has anyone any idea what this mysterious 747 is?
Prob a glitch

https://www.flytap.com/en-ca/on-boar...over-the-fleet

Unless you get this baby:

Name:  TAP_Air_Portugal_Boeing_747-200_Aragao.jpg
Views: 1593
Size:  310.8 KB

Last edited by djjaguar64; Sep 10, 17 at 5:41 pm
djjaguar64 is offline  
Old Sep 11, 17, 3:22 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,659
Yup. 744 operated by Wamos. Enjoy real J seats!

The seat map is a glitch. It should be 2-2 all the way.

EC-KSM is the most likely bird

Last edited by Palal; Sep 11, 17 at 3:27 am
Palal is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 4:09 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,944
Originally Posted by Palal View Post
The seat map is a glitch. It should be 2-2 all the way.
They have clearly blocked some seats for use as crew rest seats on such a long and gruelling voyage.

roadwarrier likes this.
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 10:42 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HKG/ SIN
Posts: 200
Update: yes, it was indeed a real 747 from Wamos Air, ex Malaysia Airlines (can confirm this as there was still some signs inside in Malay).

Plane code: EC-MRM

https://m.planespotters.net/airframe...AS-AerSale-Inc

Also, the seating plan I mentioned was correct, I guess this was the former First Class as seats were huge. My wife and I could dine opposite each other as the ottoman was big and the table was massive (easily double of Cathay business class of other airlines). In fact the cabin looked quite empty.

Service was great but boarding was chaos, bus went to plane, waited 15 minutes then drove back to terminal, waited again 15 minutes then drove back. Captain blamed this on TAP's problems with catering logistics. Definitely TAP was very unorganized and communication of this delay was poor.

Flight finally took off with 1 hour delay but arrived only ~45 minutes late. Catering and service was good.

Last edited by GwailoSIN; Sep 12, 17 at 10:50 am
GwailoSIN is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 10:44 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HKG/ SIN
Posts: 200
Here some photos, sorry for the bad quality.
GwailoSIN is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 10:48 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HKG/ SIN
Posts: 200
try again
Attached Images     
GwailoSIN is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 10:54 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,659
Ah - hence the weird layout.

What was upstairs? Economy like on AF?
Palal is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 10:58 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HKG/ SIN
Posts: 200
Hm not sure, I assumed we were upstairs but be wrong. Sorry if this is a stupid question: in order to get upstairs on a 747, must one always use the internal staircase or can upstairs be accessed directly from outside? Sorry my 747 experience is very limited.

Behind J (former F) was economy class.
GwailoSIN is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 2:42 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,659
Originally Posted by GwailoSIN View Post
Hm not sure, I assumed we were upstairs but be wrong. Sorry if this is a stupid question: in order to get upstairs on a 747, must one always use the internal staircase or can upstairs be accessed directly from outside? Sorry my 747 experience is very limited.

Behind J (former F) was economy class.
You normally walk up internal stairs.the pictures that you posted show the nose section which is downstairs

Just landed at LIS. the plane is still here
Palal is offline  
Old Sep 13, 17, 4:46 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,992
Originally Posted by GwailoSIN View Post
Hm not sure, I assumed we were upstairs but be wrong. Sorry if this is a stupid question: in order to get upstairs on a 747, must one always use the internal staircase or can upstairs be accessed directly from outside? Sorry my 747 experience is very limited.

Behind J (former F) was economy class.
The upper deck doors on a 747 are emergency doors only. In order to go to the upper deck you need to climb the spiral stairway.
mmff is offline  
Old Sep 13, 17, 5:31 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tokyo
Programs: JAL Diamond, SAS Eurobonus Gold, Marriott Titanium (LTP), Hilton Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 9,553
Originally Posted by mmff View Post
The upper deck doors on a 747 are emergency doors only. In order to go to the upper deck you need to climb the spiral stairway.
The spiral staircase was only on the 747-100 and 747-200. This bird would have the staircase starting right by door 2 and going in a straight line to the back of the upper deck.
CPH-Flyer is offline  
Old Sep 13, 17, 6:08 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,992
Originally Posted by CPH-Flyer View Post
The spiral staircase was only on the 747-100 and 747-200. This bird would have the staircase starting right by door 2 and going in a straight line to the back of the upper deck.
True. Still magical in its own way:

mmff is offline  
Old Sep 13, 17, 6:09 am
  #14  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 37,067
What is going on between LIS and VIE? TP has rostered A330 service twice this week...


Code:
TNLISVIE/ATP                                                                    
** AMADEUS TIMETABLE - TN ** VIE VIENNA.AT                     13SEP17 20SEP17  
 1   TP1272  157  LIS 1 VIE    0800    1220   0 15SEP17 18SEP17 320  3:20       
 2   TP1272  3    LIS 1 VIE    0800    1220   0 19JUL17 20SEP17 321  3:20       
 3   TP1272  6    LIS 1 VIE    0800    1220   0 16SEP17 16SEP17 332  3:20       
 4   TP1272  2    LIS 1 VIE    0800    1225   0 12SEP17 24OCT17 321  3:25       
 5   TP1272  4    LIS 1 VIE    0805    1220   0 14SEP17 14SEP17 320  3:15       
 6   TP1274  1567 LIS 1 VIE    1300    1720   0 15SEP17 18SEP17 332  3:20       
 7   TP1274  3    LIS 1 VIE    1300    1720   0 13SEP17 13SEP17 321  3:20       
 8   TP1274  4    LIS 1 VIE    1300    1720   0 14SEP17 14SEP17 333  3:20       
 9   TP1274  23   LIS 1 VIE    1300    1720   0 19SEP17 20SEP17 320  3:20
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Sep 13, 17, 6:43 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,944
Originally Posted by mmff View Post
The upper deck doors on a 747 are emergency doors only. In order to go to the upper deck you need to climb the spiral stairway.
You must have been rotating in awe while ascending the straight steps!!!
irishguy28 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread