Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > TAP Air Portugal | Miles&Go
Reload this Page >

Help! TAP Portugal won't recognize my UA *G status

Help! TAP Portugal won't recognize my UA *G status

Old Jan 7, 17, 5:09 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 103
Help! TAP Portugal won't recognize my UA *G status

I just recently (in Nov.) hit Gold with UA. I'm flying on a couple inter-europe flights with TP in the next week, but am getting worried because the TP agents claim they can't let me pre-select my seats because the system says I'm not *G. United says this is an error on TP's end, and TP claims the problem is on UA's end. I wouldn't be too worried about this if I had my actual United Gold card, but they haven't shipped it yet because it is so early in the year.

Any advice or help would be appreciated! Really just want to make sure I get lounge access and free checked bag.
ron187 is offline  
Old Jan 7, 17, 5:12 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Programs: UA 1K *Soon to be a free agent!, Marriott Gold *kiss that goodbye along w 1K status.
Posts: 2,280
Originally Posted by ron187 View Post
I just recently (in Nov.) hit Gold with UA. I'm flying on a couple inter-europe flights with TP in the next week, but am getting worried because the TP agents claim they can't let me pre-select my seats because the system says I'm not *G. United says this is an error on TP's end, and TP claims the problem is on UA's end. I wouldn't be too worried about this if I had my actual United Gold card, but they haven't shipped it yet because it is so early in the year.

Any advice or help would be appreciated! Really just want to make sure I get lounge access and free checked bag.
You can print one from your account online.
chavala is offline  
Old Jan 7, 17, 5:12 pm
  #3  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 41,378
Do you have the UA App on your phone? It has an electronic version of your card showing *G.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jan 7, 17, 5:18 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 103
I have that printed, but was afraid the check-in folks at TP / grouchy lounge dragons might not accept that. I should be good, though?
ron187 is offline  
Old Jan 7, 17, 8:21 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: SAN
Programs: 1K, *G, 1MM
Posts: 1,909
I found TAP to be a wonderful airline and everyone very.pleasant. TAP is the only *A member that gave me an upgrade (CPU), and I had not requested an upgrade. As I went to board they swapped out my boarding pass for business class and I was traveling on a "W" fare. They thanked me for my *A loyalty and for flying TAP.

Fingers crossed the printout works, because, based on my experience, *G passenger means something to them.
Aussienarelle is offline  
Old Jan 8, 17, 7:55 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,871
Originally Posted by Aussienarelle View Post
I found TAP to be a wonderful airline and everyone very.pleasant. TAP is the only *A member that gave me an upgrade (CPU), and I had not requested an upgrade. As I went to board they swapped out my boarding pass for business class and I was traveling on a "W" fare. They thanked me for my *A loyalty and for flying TAP.

Fingers crossed the printout works, because, based on my experience, *G passenger means something to them.
+1

TAP agents have been very friendly and will help you out. I also had the same upgrade experience at the gate.
rrgg is offline  
Old Jan 8, 17, 2:32 pm
  #7  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 37,081
Call TP and ask them to delete any and all references to you united ffp number and save the PNR. Then wait a day or two and call in to add your UA number again. That should do the trick.
oliver2002 is online now  
Old Jan 9, 17, 3:59 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,667
Originally Posted by ron187 View Post
I just recently (in Nov.) hit Gold with UA. I'm flying on a couple inter-europe flights with TP in the next week, but am getting worried because the TP agents claim they can't let me pre-select my seats because the system says I'm not *G. United says this is an error on TP's end, and TP claims the problem is on UA's end. I wouldn't be too worried about this if I had my actual United Gold card, but they haven't shipped it yet because it is so early in the year.

Any advice or help would be appreciated! Really just want to make sure I get lounge access and free checked bag.
Two things might be happening:
1. In some cases you as a *G can't pre-select seats until check-in unless you decide to pay.
2. Your *G status is not in the system. Did you recently become *G?

Instead of calling, contact then through FB with your info and what you want to do. They're usually very responsive.
Palal is offline  
Old Jan 14, 17, 11:47 pm
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,623
Often when there's been an increase in status, removing and then re-entering the FF number works, although it might help to log out and then log in again.
MSPeconomist is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread